We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
perth
2 reviews
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed in the executive suite for five nights, the room was not clean, rubbish from previous guest still there & toilet was not cleaned. Air conditioning was not working & handle missing off window. There is also two extra debits on our credit card from the hotel & does not even match what our bill was which is worrying however this is currently been investigated with hotel. The fire alarm went off one morning & we had to evacuate the hotel at 6.45am, which is quite frightening especially when you have an infant with you & the whole drama was a false alarm. I would never stay stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank disapointed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,685
    1,743
    487
    151
    70
See reviews for
703
1,661
264
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed at the Rendezvous Hotel 1 night before we left New Zealand for Tahiti. The room was spacious, but the shower did not look clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable and the bartenders in the lounge were very nice. I probably wouldn't have stayed here for any longer than 1 day, but then again that could be more of a reflection of Auckland than the hotel itself. After spending 2 1/2 weeks touring New Zealand, coming into the city was a little bit of a shock. Although nothing like San Francisco, Auckland was a little busy for us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CADream1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

Arrived at the hotel at 10:00 PM after 27 hours of travel from US looking forward to our Amex Guaranteed room. At the time of making the reservation, we had informed the hotel, via the phone and email, that we would be a LATE arrival. Upon arrival, we were informed by "reception" that they did not have a room for us but had arranged for a penthouse suite at the Duxton hotel. (I then saw a bellman returning room keys to another front desk representative stating that several expected guests had not arrived--funny how they managed to hang onto rooms for those folks.) Too tired to argue, my husband and I went to the Duxton, only to find that they had no knowledge of any reservation for us and had no rooms available. Another call to the Rendezvous Manager and we were told that we should now go to the Quadrant Hotel. We were also promised that the Rendezvous would reimburse us for the full cost of the hotel due to this inconvenience. It was midnight before we were settled into a room that was not at all too our taste or liking. The next morning we hand delivered a copy of our Hotel invoice to the Rendezvous. They again assured us they would reimburse us for the cost of the hotel. We have yet to see that reimbursement. They are very cavalier about their commitment to guests. DON"T reserve at this hotel if you want to be assured of a room.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katieaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

Not a good Rendevous Hotel. I booked it online thinking that it would be similar in standard to other Rendevous hotels I have previously stayed in other cities. The room is tired and needs upgrading. Had a good view of the city though (room 942). Service upon checkin was slow, had to wait..not enough staff. Same problem with concierge desk..often nobody manning the desk so dealing with luggage was frustrating. No flexibility for late checkout...usually a later checkout is doable in Asia hotels. I heard the Japanese restaurant is good but we didn't have time to try it. Had room service meal, which was ok...club sandwich good (nice chunky fries) but dessert was disappointing (fruit salad with ice cream).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0manticC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2009

My wife and I spent thee nights at the Rendezvous following a 14 day cruise. I booked a balcony suite anticipating we would like a little more room following the smaller accomodations on board the ship. The hotel upgraded us to the Rendezvous suite, which was very large and extremely comfortable. The main bath was large and luxurious with a separate shower and whirlpool tub. We had occasion to use the concierge desk several times for reservations and they were very helpful. Location is good. We walked down to the water (12 to 15 minutes) and cabbed back. The staff were very accomodating and friendly. Room service was both good and fast. The only area for improvement was the continental breakfast, which was quite basic. Overall though, a very enjoyable stay and a great value in terms of U.S. dollars.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim842014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

Been to this hotel many times through work and occasionally for pleasure. This was the first time since the rebranding from Calton to Rendezvous. We found moreorless everything to be relatively poor. We rejected the first room we were given due to its smokeness, and frankly it wasn't clean. The second room was fine, although it had a toilet that vomited throughout (a gushing of water caused by pressure changes in other bathrooms) our stay. Shutting the lid, and closing the bathroom door deadened most of the noise. The staff were busy and overly perfunctionary. The conceirge, however, was notably friendly and helpful. The doorman has long gone (must have saved some money), and generally the place seems a little colder. It's need a bit of a lift - but good to see it was full (mostly of groups of bewildered tourists).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KesG_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2009

We got a great sale rate, but later realized that other hotels, with better location - which is probably the most valuable aspect of a hotel in Auckland - has similar rates. Good staff, expensive add-ons. On two, major and noisy streets. Next time I'll stay more towards the port.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldAdventurer_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing