We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
“great staff”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The staff was great, Daniel, Jana and Kevin made a good hotel experience a great hotel experience, thank you!!
They accommodated us to a king bed once it became available, the king room was excellent with a living area and desk. My only complaint would be the soft mattresses and that the bed pads should extend to cover the entire mattress but those are minor in comparison to the overall service and accommodation which was excellent.

Room Tip: King room with desk and living area perfect for business travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginger e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear ginger e,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled and very proud to read your comments especially taking the time to name Daniel, Jana and Kevin.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,710
    1,774
    495
    153
    70
See reviews for
712
1,693
268
973
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Tough review as I am quite a Rendezvous hotel advocate. I have stayed at other rendezvous establishments and this is below the norm which I have had the pleasure of experiencing. The rooms are OK. We had a double double room and only,had two bath towels provided even though booking for three guests. You need to know you are across the road from a major police station which frequently has vehicles leaving with sirens ablazing at odd hours. The check in was average in comparison, without being informed of a $100 security being charged to the credit card!
The positives: great location if you are attending the civics centre or the symphonic centre. The main CBDD shopping street is also very close. The negatives is the proximity to the police hub, the noise generated from unruly guests upon their return in the atrium and the average service from the staff. The beds are like sleeping on a waterbed. One person moves and the other moves in sync.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kazza880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Kazza880,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of the property. We were disappointed to read that you found the hotel to fall short of your expectations.

We do pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional guest experience, it is clear that we have not delivered with regards to your experience and for that I would like to extend to you our sincerest apologies.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for one night in a standard room. I was very impressed with the size of the room - it felt very spacious and even with the curtains open it was very private. Finally we have a hotel that has a good comfortable proper chair at the workstation area - well done! I was very impressed with the bathroom - again very spacious and even had a bath - haven't seen that in a while. Must admit that this hotel exceeded my expectations and just offers that little bit more. I look forward to my next business trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DINKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear DINKZ,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regards to our well-appointed rooms.

We were thrilled to have your recommendation and learn that we exceeded your expectations.
We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We loved this hotel - from the minute we arrived Steven on reception made us feel very welcome - he gave us lots of info - we had a club room which included breakfasts, pre-dinner drinks, high speed internet and free car parking - the room was on the 11th floor with a fantastic view of the city. The consierge were great, booked a restaurant for us and arranged tickets for the theatre too. The hotel is an easy walk to all the shops and restaurants. The gym is small buy adequate and the swimming pool lovely. We would definately stay here again when we are in Auckland.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the city - book a club room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donfambhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear donfambhx,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled to read your comments especially with regard to our friendly and helpful team members.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The staff, the staff, the staff MAKE this place!!! I cannot say that enough..This is not a four star hotel by any means, but the staff makes it feel that way. Very friendly, professional, and knowledgable. The lobby is nothing to brag about but the rooms are nice and clean! Quite honestly, the rooms don't match the lobby! Room service is great and food is good. In my opinion, food at the Hibachi place inside was good but NOT worth the money! If you can, take my advice, SAVE your money, and go venture out. Its within walking distance to downtown area. You can see the SkyTower from the hotel. Lots of shopping nearby and about a 15-20min walk to the harbour area for ferries. Plan accordingly before you get there to make the most of your time! Buses are nearby as well. Venture out. This is a perfect hotel but get lost because Auckland is absolutely beautiful!! Enjoy:)

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the city. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelB215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear TravelB215,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, our team will be delighted as I was to read your comments following your recent stay. The Team have worked very hard to ensure a welcoming environment and your feedback has let us know that at least on your experience we have been successful in our objective.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We were able to check in very early, which was awesome because we had just flown 13 hours on a plane. The room was clean and spacious. The staff treated us well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pineappledancing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Pineappledancing,

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and our service.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We booked a girl's week away via Virgin Holiday's and had an accommodation/flight package. Before arriving we had called the hotel to pre-book some tours and get some recommendations on Day Spa's and they were happy to help us out.

Location wise - we found we saw so much more of the city as there was so much available to us in close walking distance. Armed with a local map we had no problems getting around.

Our room was clean, reasonably spacious and had everything we needed.

Meal wise we gave the buffet breakfast a go on our first morning and were a bit disappointed. However we were happy to check out some of the local cafes doing breakfast - including Best Ugly Bagels - in fact check it out for lunch as well. We had dinner a couple of times in the resturant and were quite satisfied with a local wines and food menu.

We would be happy to use the Rendezvous as our base next time we return to Auckland.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shesalwaysright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Shesalwaysright,

Thank you very much for your positive endorsement of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to read your comments with regards to your experience with us.

Once again thank you for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon and we would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing