We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good without being great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice room. Very clean & tidy hotel & room. The decor is a bit dated. The Rendezvous club was good to go for a drink before dinner. It says canapes, but these were limited. During our stay we felt like the staff were going through the motions. Certainly not rude, but could have smiled a little more & showed that they actually wanted to be there. Was looking forward to dinner at Katsura. Typically friendly Japanese staff there, but my meal would have been much better had it been hotter. Great Sake!

Room Tip: North facing rooms have the better views
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTCDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear JTCDB,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the clean and tidy room and found the Club Lounge an enjoyable place to enjoy a pre-dinner drink.

I would also like to thank you for providing your feedback on both Katsura and The Club Lounge canapés, it is only through valuable feedback such as this that we are able to keep improving our product and guest service.

We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,309)
There are newer reviews for Grand Millennium Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,955 - 2,961 of 4,309 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2014

Great Hotel perhaps best we experienced in all New Zealand. Close to town centre. Good size rooms. Great staff who welcomed us and looked after all our needs. Very friendly. What we most liked about the breakfast was that you really could order from the menu as opposed to the buffet and if you only wanted a few things the price was commensurate. In my opinion none of the hotels downtown are in a very good location (downtown above the viaduct seemed a bit dirty and seedy to me) but at least this place was adjacent to the police station and not a massage parlor.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank popsicleCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear popsicleCalgary,

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review of Rendezvous, we were thrilled to read that we were perhaps the best Hotel you experienced during your time in New Zealand. I will ensure that I pass this and the rest of review onto our wider team who as we were will be delighted to read your comments.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Excellent hotel for our 3 day stay in Auckland. Close to many attractions with tour bus pickup. Our room was upscale with all amenities. Second time for staying here.Rooms are very clean and dining was close.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second flloor and very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Nancy C,

It is a pleasure to hear from you and thank you for making the long journey down to New Zealand, we really do trust you enjoyed your experience in our country.

Thank you for your kind words with regards to our Team and the service that they offered during your two stays with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and New Zealand very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent position only 10 mins walk to the town centre.We were welcomed to the hotel by Mike at the reception desk and all staff were smiling and performing their duties.The breakfast was very good self service English or Continental as much as you could eat.The service by all the staff was excellent especially the young lady at the bar on the first floor her name was Sarah she couldn't do enough to make stay very enjoyable and memorable.
I will certainly stay at this hotel again if i come back to Aukland

Room Tip: Choose a room on about the 8 floor and upwards to get the best views and a room on the south side wi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear nigel y,

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay including the location and breakfast. Mikee, Sarah and the rest of the team staff are truly appreciative of your kind words recognizing their wonderful customer service.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments review and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have now stayed at the Rendezvous 3 times both for business and holiday. It is good value. The rooms are nice and modernised. The service is in the lobby is mostly very good and friendly and helpful. The location is OK, not the best but not bad either. 5-10 minutes and you are on Queen Street. The pool is indoors and a nice option. The building is showing age and would benefit from a refit soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasperJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear KasperJ,

It is a pleasure to hear from one of our regular guests here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. Thank you for your continued loyalty and for taking the time to complete your review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoy our modernised rooms, the friendly service and you find location acceptable.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we do hope you will have the chance to return very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location, superb restaurant.

Used this hotel twice on our tour of New Zealand 4 nights at the start and 5 nights at the end. The experience each time was great nothing to much trouble for the staff and the room was lovely. Had dinner once and breakfast a couple of times, great selection at breakfast and first class service at dinner. Really close to shops and within walking distance to viaduct area and ferries.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazneary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear shazneary,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled and very proud to read your comments especially with regard to our customer service and quality of Food & Beverage.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

On last day of our New Zealand tour, checked in at this hotel. Big lobby, they upgraded our room to club room. Wow! Big room, very large bathroom with seprate bath tub and shower cubicle. The room had all the amenities. The buffet breakfast was very good, in fact best we had in New Zealand. the location is very central, close to Shopping district. The staff was all smiling and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel. The bed quality of great , so the quality of sleep was great and choice of pillow was excellent for guys like me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Nareshm,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regard to our fantastic service offered by the team.

We were thrilled to have your recommendation and we do hope you will have the chance to return very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,126 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $135 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing