We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I have now stayed at the Rendezvous 3 times both for business and holiday. It is good value. The rooms are nice and modernised. The service is in the lobby is mostly very good and friendly and helpful. The location is OK, not the best but not bad either. 5-10 minutes and you are on Queen Street. The pool is indoors and a nice option. The building is showing age and would benefit from a refit soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KasperJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear KasperJ,

It is a pleasure to hear from one of our regular guests here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. Thank you for your continued loyalty and for taking the time to complete your review.

We were pleased to read that you enjoy our modernised rooms, the friendly service and you find location acceptable.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we do hope you will have the chance to return very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,734
    1,799
    497
    154
    72
See reviews for
718
1,723
271
983
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Clean, comfortable rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location, superb restaurant.

Used this hotel twice on our tour of New Zealand 4 nights at the start and 5 nights at the end. The experience each time was great nothing to much trouble for the staff and the room was lovely. Had dinner once and breakfast a couple of times, great selection at breakfast and first class service at dinner. Really close to shops and within walking distance to viaduct area and ferries.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shazneary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear shazneary,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review.

I will share this with the wider team who as I was will be thrilled and very proud to read your comments especially with regard to our customer service and quality of Food & Beverage.

Once again thank you for your very kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

On last day of our New Zealand tour, checked in at this hotel. Big lobby, they upgraded our room to club room. Wow! Big room, very large bathroom with seprate bath tub and shower cubicle. The room had all the amenities. The buffet breakfast was very good, in fact best we had in New Zealand. the location is very central, close to Shopping district. The staff was all smiling and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel. The bed quality of great , so the quality of sleep was great and choice of pillow was excellent for guys like me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Nareshm,

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regard to our fantastic service offered by the team.

We were thrilled to have your recommendation and we do hope you will have the chance to return very soon.

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, CA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

It was our second wedding anniversary so wanted to head into the city for a divine meal (The Grove) and treat ourselves to an overnight stay - we chose REALLY well. On arrival Mike welcomed us with news that he had upgraded us (best view in the hotel on the 11th floor), complimentary chocolates were waiting for us in the room along with vouchers for a free glass of wine at the bar. Parking was included (just next door). The service was outstanding, the hotel clean and our bed really comfortable. If you are looking for drop dead luxury in a contemporary hotel - this is not the place for you, but for value there was no way you could beat it. Location is great - we walked from the restaurant and wandered in to the shops the next morning. The breakfast was as you would expect for a big hotel. We will be back - thanks Mike.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Girl-Traveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Girl-Traveler7,

Congratulations once again from the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Team on your second wedding anniversary. We were thrilled to read you complimentary review and endorsement of the hotel and service offered by Mikee, I will ensure that I recognise him in our next team briefing.

Thank you once again and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.
Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Reception staff welcomed everyone with a smile and performed their duty professionally. Very convenient location , large room and bathroom, breakfast could be slightly improved:);otherwise to be recommended to everyone as good value for money choice in Auckland !

Room Tip: avoid rooms close to AC unit noises:(
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Przemyslaw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Przemyslaw J,

Thank you for your very complimentary review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read your comments and we were very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand and Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

After gruelling flight the sight of this hotel and it's huge bed was very appealing! The staff were very courteous and professional. The room very large and comfortable and the bathroom had everything you needed and more including spacious shower.
Breakfasts were good. The location was just a short walk to the central area and waterfront.
When we checked out we waited outside for our hire car to arrive and 3 members of staff asked if they could assist in any way.
Would recommend highly!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoenix123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Phoenix123,

It is a pleasure to hear from you and thank you for making the long journey down to New Zealand, we really do trust you enjoyed your experience in our country.

Thank you for your kind words with regards to our Team and the service that they offered during your stay.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Best regards



Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in a suite with our 4yr & 2 yr old. Suite was spacious enough for us and we had no problem sharing bedding. Bathroom is really nice. Usually a suite at the Stamford Plaza is my go to suite when staying in CBD however after my stay at Rendezvous it gives it a good run for its money and will definitely be my backup.

5 min walk to Queen St shops.

PROS
Spacious & elegant Suites
Good location to shops & restaurants
Indoor Pool
Good buffet breakfast
Good value

CONS
In room dining wasn't that good.
Pool is a lap pool and quite small

Room Tip: Get a suite they're worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidSubritzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear doogiehowser_md,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were thrilled to hear your positive feedback and learn that we gave another competitor Hotel which is rated at Five Star a run for its money.

We would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook so you can keep up to date with our special offers and events

Thank you very and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards

Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,268 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing