We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I recently decided to pay my sister in Auckland a surprise visit and as such booked this hotel for my first night there. I chose it based on its location as it was near enough to her office on high street, five min walk approx.
On arriving I was greeted by very friendly staff and check in was very prompt and efficient which is what you need after a few long flights.
My room had two large double beds and was spotlessly clean. It also had a lovely big bathroom with large powerful shower.
I cant really comment on the facilities of the hotel as I didn't get a chance to use them but based on staff , room size and location I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annkaren1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear annkaren1,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we are delighted to receive your feedback and recommendation.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and would invite you to follow us on Twitter or friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials and events.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,749
    1,806
    499
    155
    72
See reviews for
723
1,732
273
991
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Loved the hotel, people and location. The city is marvelous as is the hotel. Close to stop off for Hop and Ride and close to walk to multiple wonderful restaurants and places to see. Easy access to board cruise ship.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Nancy D,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and especially with regards to our guest service and location.

Once again thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to New Zealand in the near future.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I was with my hubby at the Rendezvous, who was there for a business trip of three days. The hotel room was nice and tidy but it was also a plain, expressionless room. I don't like that kind of rooms.
Of 6 clean towels that we had in the bathroom, 3 of them had stains :( very disappointing! And I have also noticed a stain on my pillow. Probably they should change their laundry service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KikaPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear KikaPS,

Thank you for your review and on behalf of the Team here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland I would like to extend my apologies to you for the experience you outline in your review with regards to the Bath Towels and Pillow’s.
I will pass your comments onto our Executive Housekeeper and Laundry provider as clearly this has fallen short of our minimum expectations.

Should you be travelling to Auckland in the near future I would respectfully request that you make contact with me and I will ensure that you experience the true Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We were planning to stay at this hotel for just 2 nights but due to some emergency came in late on our check out date, the hotel staff was more than accommodating and even let us keep the same room for 2 more nights. We were more than glad for not having to shift our luggage to another room

The location is very convenient with major attractions and restaurants at a walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear Divya S,

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to complete your review. We were delighted to read your comments with regard to our reception team and glad we could assist you.

Once again thank you and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for four days. Check in was fast and front desk staff was all smiling and very polite. We had the buffet breakfast and while it was fairly average what was worth noting are the service we got from the wait staff. Everybody was attentive making sure we are happy with our meal and whether we wanted more coffee or tea. I can also say that all the staff of the hotel are very friendly. Housekeeping staff we meet on our way will always greet us with a smile and a greeting. On our last day, one of the front desk staff offered us newspaper while we were waiting for our ride to airport. Hotel is outdated but bed is comfortable and our room is very clean. Hotel is also near queen street which is auckland's Main shopping strip. Hotel is also a 10 to 15 minute walk to viaduct harbour and britomart train station and the sky tower. You can also see the sky tower from the balcony of the hitel's bar in the second level. We had a good view of the fireworks from the tower during the Chinese New Year. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank momSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear momSydney

Thank you for your recent review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us particularly with regard to our level of service. I will pass on your comments to our wider team.

We are thrilled to have your recommendation and we do trust you enjoyed your visit to Auckland and hope you will have the chance to return soon.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A hotel of this standing should not have single-glazed windows, and put you into a room on their very busy street. And, if you object, they should do something about it. As you can guess, that was not their response, sorry to say.
The physical facility itself: generally first class, except the above-mentioned windows, and the A/C. Oddly, the latter had no temp control. ? When I called to the front desk to ask about this, they assured me that it was near the bathroom, which was untrue. What was near the bathroom was a switch, presumably adjusting the air flow, which itself would control the temperature - a unique, even shockingly inferior method. I thot it telling that no one came, or even offered to come, to show me this 'control' - as it did not really exist.
The spa: a beautiful pool, and a reasonable array of equipment, except - no recumbent stationary bicycle.
The worst part, I suppose, was the general attitude: no indication, from the management at least, that the customer really counted for much (it was a different story with most of the staff, including the concierge desk). Some fundamental changes need to be made in this - basically very fine - hotel.

Room Tip: Interior room, facing the courtyard, NOT, in any circumstances - unless you are, unlike me, a very s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear MHSanFrancisco,

Thank you for sharing your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were extremely disappointed to read of your experience. We pride ourselves on delivering an outstanding level of service and it is clear that on this occasion we have failed to deliver and for this I would like to extend, on behalf of the Team our sincerest apologies.

It is a shame that I could not meet with your and discuss your concerns, we genuinely do care about our guests.

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

One of the nicest stays I had during my trip down under. The rooms are spacious & comfortable. The internet connection is good. The staff is helpful & always willing to help with a smile. Breakfast was excellent. The hotel is centrally located & you can easily walk around the central areas of interest. Would love to be back here in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SumitChhajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear SumitChhajer,

It is a pleasure to hear from you here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and on behalf of the team I thank you for your review and endorsement of the hotel.

We do trust you enjoyed the remainder of your time in New Zealand and look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland and New Zealand in the very near future

Best regards


Paul Gallop
General Manager
Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,080 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing