We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, central, and Grand!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, central, and Grand!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice hotel, decent rooms, good restaurant.
pros:
- Location
- Rooms
- Breakfast
Cons:
- Confused staff!!! I received a drycleaned female swimsuit in my room with my own name on it! you can imagine how surprised I got when I entered the room! ALSO they had put a greeting card and a bottle of red wine for me in the room which was on be half of some unknown person to me for another unknown person to me!!!! One of the reception guys was also quite rude and unprofessional.
- Expensive restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaveh1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear kaveh1982,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were pleased to read that overall you were happy with your stay. I would like to apologise for inconvenience you write about in your review with regard to the laundry and amenity situation, I am also disappointed and extend my apologies for the reception officer whom you describe as rude, this is certainly out of character for anyone on our front desk.

I am confident that our restaurant pricing is fair and offers very good value for money; quality is long remembered after price is forgotten. We do focus across both Straits Café and Katsura Japanese Restaurant on a quality experience.

Once again thank you for your comments

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,686
    1,746
    487
    151
    70
See reviews for
704
1,663
264
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Nice hotel. Closer to a 3 star hotel because it's shower tile was not in good shape and they did not change our sheets until we asked them too. Beds are comfy but saggy. Restaurants are good although expensive but probably common for Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPSTER1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Wrok,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we disappointed to read your comments with regard to your shower, the saggy but comfortable bed and the price of our restaurants.

The sheet change can be done every day you are in-house on request, however our standard procedure with in-house guests is to change every second day of your stay, you also have the choice to not have the sheets changed until you request as per our environmental plan.

Our restaurant pricing is as you state online with Auckland and similar establishments, we have a focus on quality and should any item not be up to your expectations then we would gladly change or refund.

Once again, on behalf of the team here I thank you for your comments.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Room, service, staff, - all really great.
Only one fault in stay. I slipped on tiles around the pool when I entered the room and pulled something in the back of my thigh. Not earth shattering but sore for a couple of weeks. I saw a man in his sixties also slip..
It would be a good idea to put some rubber matting around the pool to prevent more serious accidents. Seeing a little sign saying "slippery when wet" doesn't help when seen after the slip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Estelle W,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we were thrilled to read your comments with regards to our team and the service offered, they will be equally thrilled when I pass this onto them.

I would also like to extend my sincerest apologies for the pool area tiles, I have had our engineer inspect this and provide a permanent solution, thank you for bringing this our attention.

Once again, on behalf of the team here I thank you for your comments and do look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Recently spent three nights here as a family, the welcome from the concierge, reception and bar staff was outstanding. The housekeeper on floor 6 was very approachable. Gym was perfect for our needs, pool a wee bit cold, but hey weather is getting chillly. Will recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pip_dman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear pip_dman,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we were delighted to read your review of the hotel and I will pass this onto the wider team whom as I was will be equally delighted with your feedback on the welcome and service you received from our team members.

I also note your comments with regard to the pool, with the onset of cooler temperatures we will re-look at the settings, thank you for letting us know.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future and once again thank you for your comments.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel 5 times over the years. It is reasonably well priced for luxurious accomodation. It has a great gymnasium and pool. Pity there is not a spa pool though. It has a sauna in each of the changing rooms which is good. Pity there is no "mixed" sauna. The rooms are great and well appointed for either business or pleasure. The hotel suits everyone from couples to families. It is just far enough away from the noisy city centre to get a good sleep. The bar is quite nice, open area yet intimate. The atrium in the foyer area gives the hotel a nice feel to it. We used the breakfast area which provided a good variety of food. My only complaint is there is not enough towels provided in the bathroom. Parking is good in the carpark attached to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Gary L,

Thank you for your continued loyalty to Rendezvous Grand Hotel, we were delighted to read your review of the hotel and I will pass this onto the wider team whom as I was will be equally delighted.

I will write you an email offline and get your name so we can update your profile so we can place additional towels in the room prior to your arrival.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future and once again thank you for your comments.
Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

First visit to NZ ,spent 3 great nights at Rendezvous G First Class ! All staff we met had positive up attitude , made to feel welcome guests, especially Alinsa ? Brazilian lady in Exc Lounge our room on 12 th was well designed and cleverly laid out , Food and wine excellent,already planning next years stay! Only regret we foolishly booked our last night at the AKL Novotel airport Duh !wrong! wished we stayed one more night with RGH

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Thaidai1952,

Thank you both for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and for choosing the hotel during your recent visit to Auckland. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed our Club Lounge Benefits, our spacious room and layout and the service from our dedicated team especially Aline in the Club Lounge. I will ensure I pass your comments onto Aline directly, she is certainly one of our stars and we care very proud of her.

We do look forward to welcoming you back next year and are delighted to read you are planning this already.

Best regards Paul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The romance package was really worth it, it is as stated on the website, came in with valet parking, check in welcomed by lovely staff, had two course dinner at straits cafe and i really love the food better than we expected, and we were lucky to be upgraded to a superior room, that was the highlight really..we even tried their late night food service the pizza and chips was so delicious, we also had buffet breakfast still at straits cafe and late checkout...will definitely come back :) 5star hotel!!!!! Ten out of ten..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetravellove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Lovetravellove,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Rendezvous Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write your review on this site. We were thrilled to read your comments with regard your experience of our romance package and I will pass your comments on to the wider team here which include the lovely team members, the great food in Straits Café, your late night snack and breakfast the next morning.

We do look forward to welcoming you back very soon and once again thank you very much for your positive comments.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing