We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best stay in central Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Millennium Auckland

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The best stay in central Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed at that hotel many times. I really enjoy it. They offer 5-star buffet breakfast, the gym is proper and the swimming pool meets my expectactions. The rooms are nice, tidy. However, the double bed is a bit small - it is not like for two people.

I recommend you this hotel. You can find a really good price if you book in advance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacek_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Jack_nz777,

Thank you for continued loyalty to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, it is especially pleasing to read reviews from regular and loyal guests, we would also like to thank you for your on-going support.
I will pass your comments with regard to breakfast on to the Kitchen Team, they will be delighted to read this, should you wish to ensure you receive a King Bed or should you require a Twin Room, we do have some rooms with Twin Queen Beds, please mention this on your next booking.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.
Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,686
    1,746
    487
    151
    70
See reviews for
704
1,663
264
960
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stay at this hotel on a regular basis. I find it comfortable, clean and modern. Staff are very friendly and always helpful.
There are a number of tasty eating places within the hotel or you can walk out the door and two mins down the road you're in the middle of auckland with hundreds of eating places.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Trish M,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we very much appreciate your time in taking to post this review. We would also like to thank you for your continued loyalty to our property, we realise you have a choice and value your patronage. I will send you a separate note through the message centre, so we can ensure we look after you as a regular guest.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

,,stayed recently for 2 nights on a special rate.2 rooms, rooms where lovely and clean ,staff very friendly. sadly looking out the windows 727 and 926 south facing on all levels the gardens where dead with no attention, when their is plenty of irrigation. Weeds need spraying on lovely outside balcony garden, new flowers regularly watered daily would help. Pool was excellent. Buffet Breakfast was excellent, staff ran their butt off serving coffee and trying to keep up with cleaning dirty tables. big improvement would be self help coffee/tea station ,allowing staff to clean tables for next guests. free internet was very helpful but a bit slow. will definitely stay again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear petruss,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay with us, the team and I were delighted to read your positive comments with regard to the pool deck, our team members, the buffet breakfast and the free internet. We do note your comments with regard to our planter boxes, we were aware of this also and have advised our garden contractor of this issue, it is being rectified. The complimentary internet for 24 hours is low speed suitable for emails and web browsing, should you wish to go high speed this is available for a moderate cost, so if you plan to be on the internet this may be the best option for you.
Thank you once again for your review and we do look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for the second time at the Rendezvous in January 2012. Previously we had stayed in a lower floor room but this time got the Getaway deal which is room, breakfast for two and parking. They upgraded us to a Club Class room on level 13 and we really enjoyed our stay. The room was modern and well appointed with a lovely bathroom and city views. The mini bar was reasonably priced compared to other hotels.The staff were helpful and friendly. The pool is pleasant if a little cool, and the gym is well equipped. Breakfast is OK - not fantastic, but quite adequate - perhaps some more interesting and creative cooked items could be included? As a vegetarian there is quite limited choice of hot food at breakfast. We will definitely return to the Rendezvous.

Room Tip: High floor is preferable unless you want a close view of old warehouses!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geyserg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear geyser,

Thank you for your continued patronage of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that this was your second stay with us. I will certainly pass on your comments to our team with regard to the helpful and friendly service. I also plan to review our breakfast offering with our Chef, you make a valid point with regard to the vegetarian cooked options of hot food, thank you for your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland in the very near future and thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We received a GrabOne voucher as a present for our first wedding anniversary so were looking forward to a romantic getaway. I don't think the receptionist who checked us in got much sleep as she didn't seem very interested in having to deal with yet another half-price guest. Got up to the room and only two lightbulbs worked. A fuse was blown but they fixed the problem quite promptly while we were out for dinner. Only problem was, when we retired for the night, one light wouldn't turn OFF!! What? Another call to reception and someone came to check it out. The solution: unscrew the lightbulb! Renovations were being done on the lifts and the sound was deafening - we weren't too happy that we could hear the drilling in our room too.

On the positive though, we would have scored this hotel two stars, but two things saved it. The food was superb. We had teppanyaki at Katsura, the food was divine and the staff are so friendly and lovely. Our buffet breakfast was yummy too. Also, we filled out the comments card and the manager got back to me the same day to apologise. Good form I thought.

Would I go back? Probably not - only for the Teppanyaki!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear WaPea,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were disappointed to read that you found the receptionist unhelpful and you encountered some lighting issues in the room. On behalf of the team here I would like to offer you our sincerest apologies, we have recently sold over 1600 Grab One vouchers so the team value and understand the importance of these guests. Thank you also for your positive review of Katsura and the breakfast.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We booked into the Rendevous just before Christmas for a six night stay with family and extended family members. Our first room did not have a safe as had been indicated on the website. We asked to move to another room with a safe and our request was acted upon immediately. The rooms were clean and tidy and roomy with a great fridge to store our wine! We booked an extra room for my son and nephew and got a much better deal with booking.com than booking direct with the hotel. The prices were comparable but their room had breakfast included and also free parking! We would have had to pay extra for this. Internet access was free tho which was a great bonus and so many hotels we stayed in on this trip charged extra for wifi. We had organised a family meal on Christmas day in the hotel. It was a buffet style meal with all dishes being delicious, they even had turkey! (no sprouts tho!). The staff were friendly and very helpful and rooms were kept very clean.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear auntygail,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, the team and I were delighted to read that you along with your family enjoyed your stay with us. We are am now pleased to report that all of our rooms now have safes installed; this was the final part of our refurbishment project. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Room was clean, nice and spacious. Large bathrooms and sitting area with ottoman to watch flat screen TV plus desk area with mini bar. Only wish the hotel could have accommodated us with a higher floor room since we were checking in at the beginning of the day. Also they advertised free Internet and it was only 3 hours a day unless you pay extra.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above 4th floor gym and pool with view over the 4th floor interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Brian F,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland following your recent stay in Auckland. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay, I am sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request at the beginning of the day for a High Floor room, our “low speed” internet is free of charge on a 24 hour basis. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,376 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing