We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large Grand City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Large Grand City Centre Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Large Modern style hotel in City centre of Auckland. Rooms large with exceptional sized bathroom with seperate shower and bath. Even telephone besides toilet!
Lobby very large area with dinning room across from reception. Bar on mezzanine lever with Japenese restaurant located next to.
Free internet use for 15/30 minute sessions in the Business centre located on lobbel leve.
Breakfasts very good with wide selection available. Freshly cooked fried eggs on toast done to your liking if asked for.
Had dinner in restaurant first night. Was OK but vegatable's undercooked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_baron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear the_baron1

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will mention to our Executive Chef with regard to the vegetables being slightly undercooked, this is a very personal thing so if they are not to your liking they would have gladly cooked further.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel and New Zealand very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,700
    1,764
    493
    153
    70
See reviews for
709
1,685
267
966
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Rendezvous for eight days, and it had its good and bad points. Our overall impression is that it’s a nice hotel in a good central location, but could use some attention to detail in respect to management and service.

Service seemed to be lacking in many instances, from the moment we arrived in the lobby with no doorman or porter to help guests with baggage, and an indifferent and inaccurate concierge who botched our airport shuttle schedule causing us to take a more expensive taxi and generally acted as if we were inconveniencing him when requesting things. Check-in and check-out was more difficult than seemed necessary, and our laundry items had to be searched for after we finally tired of waiting for them to be delivered and had to call for it. Room cleaning didn’t extend to fully re-stocking the minibar or bathroom amenities. The exception was the woman working in the Club Room at breakfast, who was pleasant and quite attentive.

The hotel is located across the street from the Aotorua Center, which makes it an optimum location if you’re attending a conference or other event there. It’s also near the main tour bus terminal and the wharf area so that walking around to these areas is possible within minutes.

Staying in the Club Level allowed you some nice perks, such as drinks and canapés in the evening and a nice breakfast in the mornings. The Club Room was nicely laid out and had a pleasant view of the Sky Tower. It wasn’t staffed the whole time, so if you weren’t sure of what was available, often there wasn’t anyone to assist there.

The hotel is nice and has an air of a luxury hotel, the rooms are spacious and the bathroom is roomy with a great tub and shower. The minibar was adequately stocked and the room had a large selection of complimentary teas and coffee. The bed was comfortable enough, but was much harder than I care for and harder than you typically find at a hotel of this quality. Pillows were ok, being standard foam and not my preference of feather ones.

The restaurant had a good breakfast buffet and dinner meals were good as well. Service by the waitstaff was good, except that there seemed to be about one or two people less than what was needed. Even when only marginally busy, we had to wait to be seated or wait for staff to attend to us. The staff who were there were pleasant and (relatively) attentive. I think the issue was not having enough people there.

The wireless service was better than in most hotels in respect to speed. Each device needed separate connections, although there were three hours complimentary each day, after which you were required to have a connection code. The front desk staff readily provided codes, and Club Level guests received 24-hour codes free of charge. It was just kind of a hassle to keep getting codes, but overall it was pretty good.

Based on the overall mediocre service, I would probably stay at the Hilton near the waterfront next time unless there was a compelling reason to be at the Grand Rendezvous. Some attention by management as to how the hotel is being run could easily solve these issues though and make it a more pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badmofo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Badmofo63,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel, it is obvious from this that we have let ourselves down as far as the experience you have had and for this I would like to offer you my sincerest apologies on behalf of the team here.
I presented your experience this morning at our morning management meeting and I would like to assure you that each person in the room was disappointed to hear your comments and left the meeting with no illusions as to where the shortcomings are occurring and what is required to ensure all guests experience great service.
The team will be working hard on the points you have listed and we would like to thank you once again for your comments.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

As it was with all our hotels in New Zealand this one is just okay. There's nothing WOW about any hotel really but since we're only in the hotel long enough to catch some sleep and take a shower I don't really put too much emphasis on a hotel stay. It was comfortable enough and was centrally located which was good enough for me. Do I think its over-priced? Of course but so is everything else in New Zealand. That's how this country survives. So I suggest you decide what it is you want to do in Auckland then choose a hotel that's within close proximity.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Andrea V,

Thank you for taking the time to review Rendezvous Grand Hotel and for visiting New Zealand, we do trust that you enjoyed the rest of your time in our country.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Rendezvous last Friday the rooms were great huge bathroom and bath there were a few minor niggles the dinner staff Manager didnt no how to smile and the waitresses had very little english for instance we asked for bread for 3 and got 3 huge plates of bread, also at breakfast the selection was brilliant but could have been a bit hotter and it was incredibly difficult to get someone to serve coffee and when they did you got half a small cup why on earth dont they have a machine.

The situation is fabulous if you are going to the Civic or Aotea Centre,or most places and the lobby bar and outside deck are a great place to have a wine.

The reception staff were excellent really friendly and helpful

Room Tip: The rooms all seem to be good we have been a couple of times
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyjoy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Lyn C

Thank you for your valuable time in posting your review of the hotel on TripAdvisor, the comments you have made with regard to the Restaurant Service especially around the manager and waitress, we are also working on coffee service as this has been mentioned by other guests also, so this is an issue.
We were pleased to read that you did enjoy the huge bathroom, brilliant selection at breakfast, the fabulous location and your positive comments on the reception team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed in a Club room for 5 nights this month. Check in at 1am the service was great, room was great, clean, spacious and the ladies who cleaned the room were very good.

"THE CLUB - VERY BAD EXPERIENCE"

:NO CHOICE for hot breakfast if you don't like egg ,bacon and bread in a round dish then you miss out. NO BISCUITS or SMALL Cakes during the day to have with coffee. The small hot sides dishes at night were also bad and the staff had to keep calling the kitchen to bring up more plates this happened every night over the 5 nights. Three times I had to ask or ring someone to service the coffee maching as it had run out of milk. Not a good look if you are trying to promote your club rooms and service.

The worst Club Service for choice. We have stayed in a few Club rooms over the world. The only good thing about the club was the view, and that the staff were lovely. The main restaurant down stairs for breakfast was very good and put the club to shame.

One thing I noticed was that your management staff drank in the club at night and seemed to be looked after VERY WELL shame about your paying guests.

We booked with AGODA and the price was good thank goodness.

Would we stayed again probably NOT. The club would have to change a lot.

Room Tip: The new club rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annandleefremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Annandleefremantle,

Thank you for review and recent stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, your feedback will be beneficial in assisting us to improve our guest experience and certainly that of the Club Lounge. The Club Lounge entitles guests to choose from the continental selection and order anything from the a la carte menu. I have personally spoken with our attendant and ensured that this is relayed clearly to all guests. Alternatively as you have done from your comments you can dine in the main restaurant and breakfast without further charge. In the evening the attendants order the Hot Food as required so that it reaches you in the best possible condition, it is obvious from yours and other comments that it needs to be instant so we will find a solution to this. I am also disappointed to read that management whom may have been entertaining received better service than you, it is mine and I believe that of the wider team, that all guests should come before ourselves. This is unacceptable and will be addressed, normally they would step in and assist to ensure guests are happy, they are my eyes and ears, clearly they hav elet us all down on this occassion.

Thank you once again for your comments, and If I can be of further assistance please contact me directly.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

We ( a group of friends ) recently stayed at the the Rendezvous Grand in Auckland. The hotels location was very central , we could walk to Ponsonby only 15 minutes away, The Sky City complex-5 mins away and downtown Auckland is on the doorstep. Our hotel Rooms were of a decent size as was the bathroom , and very clean .Staff were polite and helpful. The complimentary magazines were also appreciated. We had a very reasonable package for this close to the city ,which included breakfast. This was one of the most impressive hotel breakfasts I have seen for awhile -definitely something for everyone !! The lobby area of the hotel is looking a little tired, but the space in the rooms, the breakfast , the location and the price definitely makes this one to recommend .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear lyn h,

Thank you for review and recent stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and in particular found the team polite and helpful. The hotel is as you say very close to SKYCITY, Aotea Entertainment and Theatre complex and Queen Street, Ponsonby is a decent walk but only a 3 minute taxi ride. Thank you also for your comments on the breakfast, Chef and the kitchen team pass on their best regards and thanks.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

My first trip to NZ but even the kiwis I checked-in with thought that the wait at reception was unacceptable. Check-out took even longer ! My breakfast coffee took nearly 15 minutes to reach me: a capitol offence when guests are jet-jagged, surely? Yet, the room was large, recently-refurbished, well-appointed/equipped and immaculate. I upgraded to the executive level (worth every dollar) and enjoyed good views, fine wines and delicious canapes from the (tiny and so sometimes crowded) lounge. Staff were all very friendly but slow and there just weren't enough of them.

Room Tip: Allow plenty of time for check in/out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank done_too_many_miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear done_too_many_miles,

Thank you for review and recent stay at Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland, your feedback is important to us and will assist us in improving our guest experience. You have stayed with us during an extremely busy period with the hotel at 100%, the service you have received however is well below the minimum standards we set and your comments have been taken on-board with particular focus on peak check in/check out periods and breakfast coffee. Thank you for your comments with regard to room, club and value for money around this, I agree with you and our other recent comments with regard to the Club and we are working to further improve this service.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,408 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing