We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard but good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Millennium Auckland
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
NEW ZEALAND
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Standard but good value hotel”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during the school holidays and got a good price for our room. We had a king deluxe room, which was a standard hotel room. Nicely decorated, bed very comfortable and bathroom very roomy with bath and separate shower. Shower had good water pressure, a feature not often found in hotels! Room very clean and housekeeping did a fantastic job servicing the room daily, like a full spring clean, awesome when living in a hotel room for several days! When we phoned room service, it was quick, friendly and efficient. Hotel is at top end of Queen st, so a good 5 minute walk to shops and cafes. Hotel suprisingly quiet, given location by motorway. On the negative side, great to have a pool, however, it was suppose to be heated! Very cold and unpleasant to swim in. This is an old hotel that has been refurbished, lobby and hallways are old and dated with no ambience. Staff are adequately friendly, however, I like how previous reviewer described them , 'polite but supermarket style service '. I would stay here again if I got a good deal

Room Tip: Request a room that is on a high floor to minimise traffic noise, and also away from lift area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PRICIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Pricie

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel. We were pleased to read your many positive comments with from the value for money through to the location and proximity to Queen Street. We certainly take action on our swimming pool with regard to its temperature; it is a heated pool but as you have described certainly not enough.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,737
    1,800
    497
    154
    72
See reviews for
718
1,724
271
986
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First time staying here, a friend stayed here previously and recommended it. Great value for money we booked a room with breakfast and parking included and 3 hours inroominternet included.
We will be back here next time in Auckland.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have a view, due to its location you are only looking at builings anyhow so not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry255371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kerry255371

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland and great to have you with us for the first time on the recommendation of your friend. We were delighted to read that you found the experience value for money, this is one of our foundation brand promises. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here and will happily stay here again when we return to Auckland. Without fail, the staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was good, not great, but the selection was more than adequate and overall was great value. The location is excellent, just a short walk from a variety of restaurants and shops. Beds were comfy and a good night's sleep was had. Cannot fault!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammycat06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear sammycat06

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. The Team and I are always pleased to read when our guests comment on the friendliness, service and value within the hotel, we were delighted to read your comments with regard to this.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

On the edge of the inner CBD - close enough to walk to some nice eateries - the hotel appears popular with tour groups and business travellers looking for good value. And I think it delivers. The rooms are smart and roomy for the price bracket. I got used to the fact the in house TV/movie/remote control didn't work properly, despite a couple of helpful visits from room service who didn't solve the problem. My situation saw me eat from room service for a couple of nights, and I was pleasantly surprised - the Japanese bento was tasty, and a steak delivered cooked just how I ordered it - a tricky feat.

in the end, I can't give this an excellent because it had the typical polite-but-supermarket style service on the front desk, and a briskness in general that leaves you a little cool. Maybe I just don't like large hotels.

Room Tip: I had a standard king room. It was quite roomy, so the better standards should be good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Rocky_and_Biglegs

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were pleased to read that you found the Hotel location close to the CBD and close to Auckland’s nice Eateries and that overall we delivered a value for money experience.
We will investigate the remotes for the TV’s, this is the first such problem to come to our attention and I thank you for advising us of this. I will also pass on your feedback to both our Room Service and Japanese Kitchens with regard to the satisfaction of your meals.

I also know the Team will join me in passing on our sincerest apologies with regard to a lack of real personalised service, this is a very large Hotel in fact New Zealand’s largest but we really focus on creating a warm welcome for all of our guests, we are sorry that you did not experience this to the level that you enjoy.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland in the very near future.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days last week in a Club Room. Loved this hotel!! Staff were very attentive and the service was exceptional. The food was to die for and the location is perfect. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zack33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Zac33

Thank you for choosing Rendezvous Grand Hotel and for this excellent review following your recent stay. Our Team will be very proud to read your comments regarding the service and the quality of our Food across the Hotel, this is why we work in hospitality, Thank you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Staff were wonderful, warm and welcoming. Location is excellent. Value is excellent. The hotel feels a little old (and configuration odd) but the refurbishments are well done. However, all of this is undone by the awful traffic noise (at least from my 6th floor room).

Room Tip: I'm not sure if there are any quiet sides/rooms but do ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Doug O,

Thank you for your review, we were pleased to read that you found our Team warm and welcoming and that the location was excellent. Our property is now 21 years old and this year we completed a multi-million dollar upgrade of the rooms, restaurants and public areas, feedback following this has been excellent. The Hotel is located in a normally quiet area of the City, we are not near a motorway or main roads, although we do have a Police Station across the Road. Noise is not often a major issue due to the CBD location, as all of the windows open in the room I can only imagine that the window was open or that the seal was not 100%. You do raise an excellent point as we can provide rooms at the rear of the property that are very quiet, we would very much like to have you return and please just ask for a South Facing Room on your next visit.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahipara, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Booked a wot if deal for full breakfast, parking, and studio for $160. When we arrived we were upgraded. The upgrade was wow! Modern, spacious, 2large flat screens, lounge area, beautiful bathroom with both shower and bath. We travel a lot we stayed at the Stamford plaza last week but this was far superior. I like modern interiors and this ticked all my boxes.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandSafarisTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousAuckland, General Manager at Grand Millennium Auckland, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sara K,

Thank you for your review of Rendezvous Grand Hotel Auckland. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, we have 7 Executive Suites such as the one that you stayed in, and they are very popular offering a very contemporary, open feel. Our Deluxe Rooms of which you booked are still very modern in feel and offer great space. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rendezvous Grand Hotel very soon.

Best regards Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,269 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,753 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Auckland

Property: Grand Millennium Auckland
Address: 71 Mayoral Drive | Cnr Vincent Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Rendezvous Hotel Auckland)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Auckland
#9 Family Hotel in Auckland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Zealand's largest hotel located in the heart of cosmopolitan and provides impeccable service and coupled with superb facilities, such as an indoor pool, saunas, gymnasium and award-winning restaurants and bars. The hotel features 452 elegantly appointed oversized guest rooms and suites that will ensure comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Millennium Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Rendezvous Hotel
Grand Millennium Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing