We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We got a reasonable deal for this hotel - $139 including breakfast and valet parking and a late checkout. Centrally based, and a quick walk to the hop on sightseeing bus (though be warned the receptionist gave us the wrong info on the times!). Room was clean, quiet (we had a corner room, so no noise from corridor, lift etc, and not facing busy Queens Street). Breakfast was good and check out easy - car arrived in 5 minutes.

All in all, it served our purposes well as we were only there one night and ate out. However, the cooking facilites were not great (only a microwave) and if you did intend to use the car whilst in Auckland it could be a bit of a hassle to have to wait for your car to be delivered every time you wanted to use it as they say it can take up to 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PompomUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 995 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed for two nights at The Scenic and found it to be a great place that does exactly what it says on the tin!

We had a one bedroom studio apartment which was of a really good size and well thought out. The building is an old art-deco style building and they've really sympathetically restored it - we loved all the art-deco style furniture and design.

The price was really good and we got breakfast and free valet-parking which was good considering we'd paid $30 per day at the Sky Grand!

The gorgeous NZ cucumber/mint/manuka honey toiletries definately deserve a mention too - they are the nicest we've ever had at a hotel and would love to find out where to purchase more!

Would definately recommend the Scenic for good honest acommodation at a great price in a central location.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkyKiwi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Quaint building opposite town hall and very central. We had breakfast and valet parking in our booking. Both were great. I must make a point about the bathroom amentities which were of a high organic standard. I have stayed in alot of hotels and never received a makeup wipe(a nice touch) which was soooo nice. I keep meaning to ring to find were I can purchase these from. Overall I think they have done a great job and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZVICKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

A no-nonsense bolt hole at the upper end of Queen Street, with well equipped, self catering style rooms, a bath and shower combined and, glory be, a safe for your money. Very friendly and helpful staff. The big downside is the very busy main road that goes past the front of the hotel, so if you don't like traffic noise ask for a room at the back on an upper floor. You might well still need your earplugs here but, although the view is not lovely, the traffic noise is lessened. Good value for money all-round and easy to get to Auckland's main downtown sights.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2010

Having read previous reviews I wondered what sort of hotel this was going to be! BUT this is a very good hotel on the main street in Auckland well placed for the Sky Tower and Downtown. The rooms are very good, well equipped with microwave, fridge, sink, cutlery, plates etc. Ours was particularly quiet and on the 8th floor. The hotel has a good restaurant if you do not want to feed yourself. The bedding, towels, etc are all of high quality. The staff are friendly and co-operative and will help you all they can. I think that the previous reviews were made under the name of the Hotel Airedale but I think it is now only known as the Scenic Hotel. We spent three nights here and were well satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fussyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Stayed here in a studio room at the beginning of December 2009 (although we have stayed here previously in a larger studio). We got a cheap deal of wotif which included breakfast, valet parking and a late checkout at 1pm.

Our room was exactly as expected, small kitchenette with table and chairs (2), living area with two chairs and TV and a queen bed. Bathroom nice and compact (the shower was outstanding - great pressure). We ordered dinner in (pizza from SAL's - best pizza I have ever had) and there was enough room to sit and eat.

Breakfast was okay - I was assured prior to arriving that this would be a full buffet (hot and cold) but turns out was cold buffet with cooked big breakfast - bacon, eggs, hash browns etc. Was good and tasty and neither of us walked away hungry.

I enjoy staying at this hotel, its nice and central, the rooms are good - clean and tidy. If you have to pay for valet parking its only $12.50 which is half the price of other hotels in the area. The staff are always polite and welcoming.

If you can get a deal of a last minute site, I would recommend this hotel for people who just need somewhere to sleep - if you are in the area for shopping, nightlife or a concert etc.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinballwyzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We just wanted a clean and cheaper hotel to stay in while staying in the city. We hadn't really heard much about this hotel but we were pleasantly surprised for what we paid for. Valet parking and breakfast were included in the package so the room itself was a very reasonable price. The locality is close but not too close to all the noise in the city at the lower end of Queen Street.. Staff were pleasant but not too in your face. Rooms were small (we were in a studio though) but had everything you needed presented in a very clean and tiday manner. Should definitely be considered if you're looking for a clean and reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank get_woozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,221 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $108 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing