We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable base in the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #23 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed August 1, 2014

The hotel was absolutely fine and the staff were very helpful - allowing us into our room early in the morning after a long flight from the USA. One tip though - save yourself an extortionate taxi fare from the airport. The 24/7 airport coach stops right outside the front door and costs only $16.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for the delightful review, it's very useful having the airport bus drop off and pick up right outside and with 'bus only lanes' it takes a similar travel time to a taxi, probably less at peak times.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 970 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great location. Good size rooms. Helpful service. Airport bus stops right outside. The hotel was relatively quiet particularly given its location. There is a great bar right across the road and food places everywhere around the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel right in the city! Walk to everything and the rooms are a good size with a separate lounge area to relax and a kitchenette too. Will definitely stay again - excellent value for money. Only one warning - the cafe is painfully slow! Go for a walk and find a cafe to enjoy instead.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegolfnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for commenting and sorry you had slow service in the café.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for two nights, just to have the weekend in Auckland. We wanted to stay in town so we could walk around the city. Hotel staff were very friendly, location was perfect - middle of Queen Street which was easy walking to shops, restaurants and Sky Tower. Although the hotel was on a busy street, the room was very quiet which was great. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lizardqueen78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Loved this hotel! Very clean, tidy and modern. All staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Wish we could have stayed longer! Perfect central location. Room was spacious and had everything you need. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Awhina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our services, thank you for taking the trouble to comment.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I can still remember when this housed an insurance company. The thing that really surprised me about this hotel is that I was right on Queen Street, but was never aware of the noise.The other major thing that I enjoyed was the space - my room was divided into three areas - kitchen/dining, lounge and bedroom (27 square metres, I was told - I had to ask!). Staff was good to deal with, the reception area had some nice features although the room itself was quite plainly decorated.

The hotel is in a great location for events in the Aotea Centre.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for your generous comments, glad you enjoyed your visit.
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

It was a wonderful stay. I had a superior room which had a magnificent view right down Queen St to the sea. I would say that the rooms at the front of the hotel are definitely worth trying to get as the views and sunlight are great. Staff was friendly and efficient at all times. The position of the hotel is great too. I would definitely stay there again. I do think however that visitors could have more internet access included in their room fee.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Thank you for such nice comments, we are going to free Wi-Fi from 1 September so we hope you will return!
Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 65 in Auckland Central
941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $110 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing