We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
1 review
“Great stay, accommodating staff”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was a good stay the only hassle is filling out a review like this one that requires two hundred characters minimum. Not many reviews get the check boxes I filled out so in future my first comment of 'easy no hassle stay' should actually be enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike Lester W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to comment, most appreciated, kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    466
    172
    50
    32
See reviews for
109
430
96
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have stayed at the Scenic hotel several times and are always pleased in our selection. We consider the hotel to be great value for money. The shoppers delight which we have purchased several times is particularly great value. The welcome is always warm and the beds are always comfortable. The location of the hotel is second to none especially if you are planning
such activities as a night at the opera, the civic, catching the bus to an AB test, or any other Auckland activity. The Scenic is our first choice when visiting Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichVirg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and shared your comments, many thanks, kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel rooms and beds are comfortable and the staff are helpful and friendly. Rooms on the Queen Street side can be a bit noisy, but I guess that's what you expect in the middle of the city. I stay here every time I'm on business in Auckland.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to review, Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice hotel for the price and especially considering the location. Staff were also very helpful and pleasant. Was tidy and clean, and overall pleasant to stay in.

Also support the Kakapo Recovery which is a great cause, and any hotel with kakapos in the reception is a great tick in my book. Missed out on enjoying the 'Sirocco Sundae' due to time, will definitely try it next time though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review, we love helping kakapo recovery it's our favourite thing.
Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The Scenic Hotel met my needs while staying in Auckland on business. The room was tidy and clean. Suggestion that the shower could do with an upgrade, water trickled out. Didn't enjoy the breakfast or dinner, but the service was friendly and timely.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breen1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for reviewing, sorry about your shower, they are always hot and powerful so we are not sure what happened in your case, sorry though. Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best place I have stayed and very central, walk to the bottom of town and catch the bus back, used to be free not sure now

We booked this in advance for Friday 27 June to go to the Beatles and spend a weekend in town, unbeknown to me I was booked for chemotherapy on the Thursday, which made me very unwell Saturday. An approach to reception on Saturday cancelled the balance of our stay thank you very much.We will defiantly be coming back for another weekend when I get well.

Alan and Pam Waiuku

Room Tip: We liked superior room over looking down queen street, choice I guess, plenty of room and did not fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for staying and such a glowing review, most appreciated. Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Room for two on the 28th June 2014. On the 7th floor.
Hotel is a refurbished office building. The refurbishment is good enough and was clean and tidy.
Cost about $150 and breakfast chucked in.
Staff at reception were very helpful and nice to deal with - well done.
Room was cosy (small), and well laid out. Very clean and tidy. Double bed a bit small, but a larger one would not have fit. Lucky we are not too tall.
Hotel is very central in the Auckland CBD. Civic Theatre, the Aotea Centre and the Town Hall are all just across the road. Nice.
Parking is valet parking, so get all your gear out of your car first!
Breakfast was good, and again, staff there were very nice.
Overall, a nice stay and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onlinegeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for staying and your encouraging review. Kind regards Ken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,236 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Property: Scenic Hotel Auckland
Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing