We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, very well equipped room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hotel is located on Queen Street, close to shops, restaurants and harbour area. Room very comfortable and well equipped - it stated tea and coffee making facilities, in fact there's a whole kitchenette including fridge, microwave, crockery etc.
Bed was too soft for us - but maybe that's after having spent 2 weeks in a camper van!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

If you are looking for a fabulous location in Auckland right at the heart of the commercial street, this is the place to be!!!!!
Good rooms with a dry kitchen and a very cozy bed!!! Have seen some reviews which are showing the views as disgusting, but I would say that if you can request for a room facing the road then the problems are not there at all.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the road should always be preferred so that the problems of disgusting views gets solve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajaG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We arrived at the hotel about 7 AM after a long overnight flight from San Francisco. The staff was able to accommodate us and put us in a room immediately, for which we were grateful. The room itself was actually two rooms, with the bedroom off the main room. It is a self-catering hotel. The accommodation was clean and spacious, it was convenient to bus service, the Civic Center was just across the street, and the Sky Needle was located near there. It was just a few blocks' walk to the waterfront. We ate breakfast and dinner in the Scenic, and it was quite good. and there is an on-site laundry. The staff was most friendly,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy_collinshamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This hotel is very convenient if you want somewhere city central. The place was clean and staff friendly. However, it is right on the main street of the city. I was on the first floor and there appeared to be no sound proofing on the windows. I could hear all the street noise (people talking/yelling, cars & trucks) which went on the entire night. Bed was also saggy. Powerpoint did not work in bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask if there are quiet rooms (higher up may have been better).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solo_traveller056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Conveniently located right across the street from an airport shuttle bus stop; our flights from North America landed before 0700 but rooms were not ready until 1300. Not much room in the lobby or restaurant to relax & wait; fortunately it's an easy walk to the harbour & other attractions to keep weary travelers distracted.
The room was...adequate. A little worn around the edges. Unspectacular view of an alley but quiet at night. My traveling companion's room on Queen Street was quite noisy on the weekend. The air conditioning did not work and was not really needed during our 4 night stay at the end of November); all the same, it's frustrating when a request for service is not fulfilled. Front desk staff were polite but distant. Our breakfast was included and it was pretty basic.
Nice to have the kitchenette. Wish the wifi was free but that seems to be an issue throughout NZ/AUS. Overall, a fairly decent base from which to explore Auckland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadianlindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to comment we have had the air conditioning checked and fixed, your note is appreciated. Kind regards Ken

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I asked for an early check in when making online booking. Then called on the day and they told me in couldn't be guaranteed. Fair enough but they could have called to explain that to me. The air con in room was not working very well and it was very hot. Filters were blocked with dust and I cleaned them and much better. However the louver was broken and didn't open when air con turned on making it ineffective. Room 809 still needs this repaired if Scenic review this comment.
Positive was a very comfortable bed and clean rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frazerj2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Have stayed here a few times now and really like it - it is in a great location on Queen St, the deco styling gives it a nice atmosphere,the rooms are well appointed and it is a bonus having a kitchen.
The beds are a bit soft for my liking, the main reason I stay elsewhere at times. but reviews show that many folk find them comfortable. Can be a bit noisy on weekends as it is on the main street, but the blackout curtains do a great job of keeping the light out. The restaurant is good, the staff are friendly and I think it is good value especially if special deals are available.

Room Tip: Higher floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyA888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
543 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $108 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing