We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable bed ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary. It was a special deal on 'Grab One' for $139, which included valet parking, breakfast, two free drinks at the Bar and a late checkout. The hotel is situated on Queen St near the Town Hall. Great location....easy to walk everywhere. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was at the back of the hotel, so not a great view, but a clean well laid out room with a seperate bedroom, bathroom and a kitchenette. Would make a great base for a longer stay. No bath but an excellent strong shower and really nice complimentary toiletries.
And now to the bed! OMG it was to die for. Firm but soft and cushiony on top. I had the most amazing sleep and I really did not want to get up and go down to breakfast. I have slept in many hotel beds , but I would return just to cozy up in that bed! The best part is that when I checked the hotel web site, you can buy the beds and goosedown topper pads and pillows from their online shop! I am saving up as I write this!!!! Only downside was that the TV is in the lounge area and you can't see the tv from the bed.
Breakfast was included in this deal and we decided to order room service breakfast. I thought it was really nice of the staff to call our room in the morning to check if we realised that we would have to pay full price if we had the room service breakfast or would we prefer to have the complimentary buffet. We had the buffet! A standard buffet breakfast, great to start our day.
On check out the very obliging staff stored our bags for us while we spent the day shopping and let us keep the car parked until we returned to pick it up.
The only negative comment I could make was that it took the parking guy nearly half and hour to get our car....but he apologised for the delay. All in all a great overnight experience and we look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (983)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 983 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

HI,stayed here during world tri in october 2012 we found it very handy for visiting various parts of the city and most important it was quite close to the harbour area where the tri was heldfound the staff very helpful and indeed on one morning 4.30 am a staff member went out of his way to help me get my doughter a taxi to the airport .i also have to say it was great value for 5 hights we stayed there.

Room Tip: top rooms are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimoc2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Definitely went beyond my expectations for a 3.5 star hotel. Lots of space, very clean, has a kitchen area and microwave, extremely friendly staff (particularly one guy named Abhishek I think), great location (so close to restaurants) and lovely view of the Sky City Tower - all at a very good price!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for one night prior to a meeting across the road. The location was great (I took a reccy around Sky City in the evening) and the room very good value. It had a queen bed, kitchenette and lounge and dining areas, as well as separate bathroom. Much more generous than usual and very nicely appointed. Breakfast muesli was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great location towards the top of Queen Street with airport bus terminal right outside the door. A bit tricker if you come with a car - staff have to park it for you off site. However, staff always friendly and obliging so was not a great problem. I liked the layot of the room with a little sitting area and bed off in an alcove and little kitchen dining area. Room was very quiet apart from the chiming of the town hall clock which I enjoyed. Restaurant on site which did great breakfasts. Some free wireless in the room would have tipped this into a 5 star review (was available in the restaurant.)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We booked this hotel on the Shoppers delight special. It was the perfect location and easy to walk everywhere we wanted to go. Our room was clean and well appointed and quiet given its central location (Tuesday night). Staff were friendly and helpful . The breakfast huge! We will certainly be back again next time we are wanting to catch a Concert or similar. This hotel is great value!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pancknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel offers great value in a good central city location. Rooms are clean, spacious and well appointed with kitchenettes. Staff are extremely helpful and friendly. It is a CBD location so expect the usual sounds of the city. The bed was a little on the soft side for us so there was a bit of "roll together". However that is a personal preference and didn't detract from our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjszea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,191 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $116 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing