We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic Hotel Auckland - our impressions.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed overnight as we had tickets to a show at the Civic Theatre. Very well situated for the theatre and Aotea Square and ASB Centre. Plenty of food outlets within easy walking distance as is Sky City. We found the staff very helpful. The adjoining M.L.C. Cafe was very pleasant and had a great menu. Our room was well equipped, clean and comfortable and the bed was very comfortable. We would stay at the Scenic again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012.

The location was excellent, central to bars, shops, restaurants and attractions.

The room was spacious but the window was cracked which led to a cold draft by the single bed where our daughter slept. After jet lag we did not need her not sleeping as she was too cold. Otherwise good amenities in the room - sink, fridge and microwave, and straighteners in the bathroom.

Previously we stayed in Citylife Auckland, and we preferred that hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our family of 4 was referred to the Scenic Hotel in Auckland by another hotel, because, when we arrived late on Saturday evening, every hotel it seemed was full for the night (cricket match, concerts, and festivals all happening at once). From the street, it didn't look like much, but we were really pleased with our stay. The front desk clerks are very obliging, the room really clean, the bathroom sparkled, the beds were comfortable. The whole city was partying, so the front desk clerk gave us all ear plugs when we checked in - much appreciated! (My one wish is the same wish I had for almost every hotel or motel we stayed in in NZ - we wished for a teapot in the kitchenette so that we could make a proper cup of tea in the morning!) We would stay here again, for sure.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good place to stay with fiendly helpful staff and agreat restaurant. This time I only stayed one night which was a pity, but I will return. The bed was comforable and cooking facitities were there had I needed them.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BegoniaNewZealamd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Scenic Hotel has a great secret - the beds - Wow what comfortable beds. I had a look under the sheets and have now invested in something very similar for myself and 6 other people now have done the same.
The room was very clean and a reasonable size. Nice bathroom.
The reception staff were very pleasant and efficient.
Quite a lot of noise outside our window - but it was a weekend - double glazing would be good.
About a five minute walk down to the shops. Near the civic centre which is ideal if going to a show.
I would recommend this hotel if you wanted something close to the centre city at a good price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the road - maybe quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZKIWINewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Pluses:
The one-bedroom studio on the 8th floor was nothing flashy but everything was in good repair, clean and worked.

The kitchenette had a microwave (but no other cooking facility) and a good selection of utensils, cutlery and crockery.

The tea selection was generous and included chamomile and mint along with the expected English breakfast and earl gray.

Makeup remover tissue was a welcome addition to the toiletries pack.

Effective air-conditioning with easy to use control.

Cafe on ground floor convenient and Wi-fi (paid for in room) works there.

Good location on Queen Street, opposite town hall.

Minuses:
Noisy at night due to single glazed windows.

Very soft bed.

Weedy, paid, Wi-fi ($10 for 24-hours).

Little evidence of building's art deco heritage in the fitout.

Spartan lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for a conference and would happily come back and stay again. Room was generous size with a very comfortable bed and nice decor. My room was on the fourth floor and I didn't have any issues with road noise or noise otherwise. The staff were great especially Jay who helped me with my initial booking and who found my sunglasses after I knocked them off the bedside table and forgot to pick them up before checking out. Had one meal in the restaurant which was priced well and quite nice. Waiting staff were very friendly and professional as well. All in all I had a great stay and I would consider this very good value for money compared with some of the other hotels that I've stayed in the same price range.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slaaplekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#21 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $108 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing