We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This hotel was the last stop on our tour of New Zealand and had been booked by the travel agent who booked our flight – in other words, it was chosen for me. As it was very reasonably priced I did not really expect much and regarded it as a means to an end – i.e. to stay in Auckland for two nights prior to flying on to Australia.

To my surprise and delight we really loved it. The hotel building used to be the art deco MLC Building, originally built in 1957. We were allocated an apartment style room on the 6th floor overlooking Queen Street opposite Auckland’s Town Hall. The room was of a fair size and contained a kitchenette with sink, microwave, toaster, fridge and crockery etc. There was also a table/desk with three chairs, a 2-seater settee, single armchair, coffee table and a large flat screen TV.

There was a separate bedroom containing a double bed (English size double – the smallest we’d slept in during our tour, but very comfortable), 2 bedside cabinets, a wardrobe and ironing facilities. The shower room was reasonably large. Other reviewers have said it was nosiy having a room overlooking Queen Street, maybe it was because we were on the 6th floor, but we had no problems.

We don’t normally eat in hotels as they are usually expensive, but considering this hotel was on one of the main streets of Auckland we were pleasantly surprised at the prices and ate our breakfast and evening meals there for both days. The food was good quality and the staff were very friendly – especially Kevin.

Wifi is available – I can’t remember how much it was but it was a lot cheaper than a subsequent hotel we visited in Cairns, Australia. Another plus is the location – only about 1 km to the Quay – about 10 minutes walk - and the Airbus stops right outside the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alrumatis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

809 - 815 of 995 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2012

Valet parking, clean reception, nice bar area. I rate this as a good, basic, clean hotel. If you need a bed in central Auckland that's not expensive then this is perfect.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Easy to find on Queens Street.
We Parked right outside the doors and without asking a man came out to help us with our luggage.
The car was then taken for Valet parking.
Our room on the sixth floor was amazing. We had the apartment which was on the triangular point of the hotel, looking straight down Queens street. Super views of the sky tower too.
Across the road was the cinema complex, and lots of restuarants just 5min walk away.
Full kitchenette, sofa, dining table, tv, sky, and the bedroom, bathroom.


All very good quality, you couldn't ask for more at $119 for two adults including cooked breakfast, valet parking and late checkout.
Staff were very friendly! ****

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelblue86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have stayed in two Scenic hotels while in New Zealand, in this one in Auckland and in another one in Queenstown and I can say that I have been very satisfied by both experiences, which make me think that the Scenic group is a high standard hotel chain.

Concerning the Scenic Auckland, I stayed there for one night in late February in a studio at an incredible value of 99NZD. For that price, I had a totally correct product, with a small room separated from the "living room" (in fact a small table, sofa and plasma TV) and the kitchenette by two doors. The studio also features a bathroom with a nice tiled floor. From the side where I was, I had a nice view on the city hall and the skytower. There were some works nearby the hotel but frankly they were not really loud. I have just read about some nightclub(?) noise during the week end, I stayed there on a Sunday night and did not experience this so can't really say about it.

Overall a very good value hotel, a very convenient central location (a few meters away of a stop on Queen street from the airport bus) and also a very friendly staff (the hotel being staffed 24/7).

Room Tip: Ask for a view on the city hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnZ05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We recently stayed here for 4 nights arriving on a Friday. The staff were friendly enough. Our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the building. We could see the Sky tower from our window. The room was a studio with a queen size bed which was very comfortable, having a feather quilt under the bottom sheet. The room itself was very.......compact. The kitchenette had all we needed and the bathroom was a reasonable size, but the overall size of the room was very tight. It was an L shape room with 2 lounge chairs and tv and the bed was crammed in almost against the wall. Overall it was ok but the worst part was the noise from the busy street outside. Being a weekend there was plenty of traffic zooming up and down plus as the night wore on the pedestrians were very vocal as well. Needless to say there wasnt much sleep to be had that first night, so in the morning we bought earplugs as a priority!!
There were plenty of small restaurants up the street within walking distance. Mainly Korean, Japanese and Thai with the odd Indian thrown in as well. The main shopping area was just down the road with other options for a quick meal.

Room Tip: Maybe a room at the back of the building would have been quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazzanrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Room was fine with enough facilities. We had a good breakfast. We ate in the town there were plenty of places down by the harbour. The art gallery was nearby and impressive. The museum was in great setting in the park and had some amazing exhibits.

Room Tip: Can be noisier if on street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Old60timer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here on a saturday night, we were in a room at the front, Over the road is some sort of night club ( we didn't know). At 12am the music started to blast, it was as though we were inside, it was unbelievable, It went on until 4.30am. My husband went to reception, and asked for us to be moved, and was told, they couldn't as it was full (I don't believe that it was). The next morning the manager told us they can't do anything about it as this club has a license. Perhaps informing your guests, could be a start.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
824 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,224 reviews
1.3 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $106 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing