We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We were looking at booking a Mystery Hotel on Wotif and a Google search made us suspect that the Scenic Hotel was the 4+ star mystery hotel. However luckily for us finding their website made us realise that the "Take a Break" package they were offering directly via their website was much better value than the Wotif deal! This package was $189 and included: the room with late checkout, free (semi-valet) parking, a bottle of wine & a $80 in-house food credit. Taking all these 'extras' into account this meant the room only cost us around $50 for the night - amazing value!

We arrived early (11am) and got an early check in which was really appreciated. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and check in was fast & efficient.

The room was great - nice and spacious with a really good kitchenette and lounge. We had requested a quiet room and were given a room on the 3rd floor overlooking a small side street which was perfect - still some mild traffic noise but nothing that disturbed our sleep.

The bed was divine with crisp white bedding, the most amazing feather topper and lovely fluffy pillows - we didn't want to get out !!!

The shower had amazing water pressure and the complimentary toiletries (soap, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, lotion, shower cap & shoe shine) were the best I've ever been given in a hotel - lovely organic quality - a really nice touch.

We used our $80 credit to have two meals (evening meal & breakfast) in the attached MLC Cafe & Bar and had two good meals. My only criticism is that the wait staff here were a bit slow & not particular enthusiastic about their jobs!

Overall we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - it was a great location for our evening show at the The Civic Theatre and made a wonderful base to explore downtown Auckland. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cyberbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
There are newer reviews for Scenic Hotel Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 965 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

After a very long flight from the UK, we were glad to find that the hotel would hold our bags for us. When we came back in the evening, they had upgraded us (as we were on our honeymoon) to one of the penthouse suites. The suite was nice, although far too big for us to use for just one night. The downside, the penthouse suites don't have air-conditioning (not always essential but coming from a cold UK, it would have been nice) and entry to the suites is via the fire escape stairs from the floor below. Not easy with two huge suitcases!
Breakfast was a buffet affair and was reasonable in quality, although not particularly cheap (although the exchange rate meant that was across the board). The poached eggs were heavy on the vinegar, not to everyone's taste.

Overall, a well placed hotel with friendly staff and what appeared to be reasonable rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuttleTydirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

We'd just sold our campervan, it was raining hard and we turned up with an awful lot of stuff at the door of Hotel. We looked a bit grubby. I only provide this background because it would have been very easy for the hotel staff to have been a little sniffy with us. But here's the thing – they weren't – they were really helpful, assisting us with our bags and helping us get settled in to the lovely little apartment.

The price is excellent and the room was just lovely with a well-equipped kitchen including dishwasher. There's also a laundry within the hotel. We stayed here 5 nights and really enjoyed it. You're a 5 minute walk away from downtown Auckland and there are all the restaurants you'd expect within easy walking distance.

Really,if you prefer to stay in an apartment instead of a hotel room, look no further.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrDaveCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Would recommend for a quiet comfortable and enjoyable stay. Service very good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant superb.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveOxfordOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

In good location for looking round Auckland and rooms very good. However make sure of a room at the back and on an upper floor. The room on our fist visit was on the 2nd floor and at the front. The noise from Queen Street during the night was bad - it's quite close to traffic lights and cars seemed to speed towards them before breaking. It's the only time we saw (or rather heard) bad driving. Our 2nd visit proved better as we were higher up and at the back of the hotel. View not as good, but meant we had a good night's sleep. Staff were very good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Location of the hotel, the best.We loved our room in the hotel. Very clean(esp the bathroom). We stayed in one of their Standard rooms and for that level, the rooms were huge.The service was alright(room service was slow). Although we stayed there only for one night..the hotel's services were clearly,good. The hotel staff were well informed. They helped us out with the small details about the city of Auckland. The breakfast buffet was great (PS - all the Scenic Hotels in NZ have great breakfast buffets).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TriPraSha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Stayed here for 2 seperate nights and service has been excellent. The location of the hotel was perfect, right in the middle of the city and they also offer Valet Parking for NZ$20/night.

Room was a great size including the bathroom and kitchen as well. Bed was comfortable, a bit too soft for are liking, but definately cosy. They also offer a rang of pillows if you find the standard one not matching to your head size/weight.

There is also free WiFi for the internet traveller in the reception/bar/restaurant area which was an added bonus.

The only grips was the noise late at night at the back of the hotel where are rooms were. They might had been a nightclub or some bar as the noise was overwhelming and woke us up several times during the wee hours of the morning. Management should take note of this as it was probably a touch noisier than downtown bussle.

But overall, my wife and I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
722 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#27 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scenic Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $108 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing