We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value - I agree with the other reviewers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
NT
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great value - I agree with the other reviewers”
Reviewed December 26, 2009

Read the reviews and they were 100% correct - spacious clean rooms, great location and the staff couldn't help enough. We also had xmas lunch in the Hotel resturaunt which was exceptional.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feeNt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    343
    106
    24
    11
See reviews for
196
261
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Arriving in Auckland at 1 a.m with a tired, grumpy child was made infinitely better by our arrival at Barrycourt Hotel in Parnell. Cheerful smiling staff (even at that hour!) and then
the most panoramic, spectacular view of Auckland Harbour and city lights from our room on the 4th floor impressed even Miss 9!
Parnell Road, a mere 10 minute stroll up the road is a hive of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. Be sure to go to the La Cigale market on a Saturday morning - a bit off the beaten track but any local will direct you. Outrageously gorgeous food, live music etc. Why go to France??!! Serious shoppers would probably aim for Newmarket which is about a 20 minute walk - or just hop on a bus - and a MUST is getting on a ferry in Downtown Auckland (5 minute cab ride) to Waiheki Island (a 35 minute boat ride) - stunning scenery, great vineyards etc. We had the best lunch at Te Whau but very expensive.
Barrycourt was so central to everything and yet in the middle of one of Auckland's leafy, innercity suburbs - away from the CBD (which is relatively unpleasant and to be avoided). Parnell has some quaint weather board cottages as well as some amazing homes - I gather even their Prime Minister lives within cooeee of Barrycourt! Lovely walks nearby - not to mention an excellent public pool outdoor pool (with slides) in waterside location (a winner with Miss 9!)
Staff all had what appears to be the typical kiwi friendliness and nothing was too much bother. Our only regret is that we only had a long weekend. You could really do with a week in that location!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie63Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We met up with our son and his University of California friends at the Barrycourt. We had read the reviews of Barrycourt on Trip Advisor and chose it for our reunion. We booked one room for us and the kids were next door in a two bedroom suite w/kitchen. We both had views of the harbor but they also had a balcony-why do the kids always get the best view? It was great to sit out on the balcony-fantastic view of the harbor and city!

The rooms were clean, the staff was welcoming and the location in Parnell is great. It's a two block walk to the Parnell Rose gardens-a must if you are their in spring/summer as the roses are beautiful. Great little cafe called the Rose hips cafe that you can go to for breakfast and lunch. The cafe at Barrycourt is fine for early breakfast and lunch as well.
Parnell is a lovely neighborhood. The Anglican cathedral is nearby and we went for services there. Make sure you stop in and see both the new and old cathedrals-lovely.
The shopping in Parnell village is great-kind of pricey but very nice shops and proprietors. We did alot of Christmas shopping at The Elephant House in Parnell-new Zealand made products-great selection and price range. We also enjoyed eating (twice) at Non Solo Pizza-you can sit on their patio and the food is fantastic!
Barrycourt did not have a pool-not a problem as their is a neighborhood pool within walking distance. It is down toward the water-a large complex with a fifty meter pool for avid lap swimmers, a childrens pool and hot tub. Great place for a family to recreate/relax.
The hop on hop off bus stops near the Barrycourt and this is a great way to get an overview of Auckland and then choose your next outing.
All in all we really liked the location, staff at Barrycourt-and better yet it is so affordable that we had extra $$$ for Christmas shopping. If going to Auckland and you want an affordable, well located hotel that is tolerant of college students-book the Barrycourt.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CatCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Stayed twice at this hotel. First time was for three nights when we first arrived in New Zealand and the second time was for one night on our way back from the Bay of Islands. Service was excellent. My wife was unwell so when we had picked up our hire car at 9.00am I rang the hotel to see if we could check in early. The receptionist said this was fine and there was no extra charge. We stayed in the hotel side (not the motel) as reviews I had read gave me the impression that the motel rooms were old and tired. The first room we had was a Studio Suite on the third floor. The room was very large and well laid out with a good kitchen area. Most of the furnishings seemed new and of quality materials. Auckland tends to be expensive so I was very impressed with the price we paid. The second room we stayed in was a Standard King room which did not have kitchen facilities but did have tea and coffee. The room was only for a one night stop over so was a lot smaller than the suite but again was clean and comfortable. The price we paid was obviously a lot less than for the suite. What really impressed me was that when I got up the next morning I saw a towel draped over the back window of our hire car. I immediatly thought that someone had broken the window to steal from the car. But no, I had left the back window open when we had arrived late the previous night. The handyman had noticed this when he arrived for work the next day and as it was raining heavily had put the towel over the back window to stop the car seats from getting soaked. I made a point of finding him and thanking him. I also told reception how pleased I was and left a tip for him.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuftyRipon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2009

We stayed at the Barrycourt for 2 nights . Our room which was on the 4th floor, had been recently refurbished, It was clean and well appointed with a wonderful view towards the harbour.
The Barrycourt is well located about 4 kms from the CBD and is walking distance from the Parnell Road Village shops and restaurants.
We found the staff to be friendly, well trained and very helpful.
Parking was excellent

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinness45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2009

Travelling with 4 teenagers, Barrycourt certainly accommodated. 2 Queen Beds, 3 Singles, and even a pull out couch. The unit was spacious, extremely clean and supplied us with all our requirements. We were greeted by friendly staff which is so important after a long drive. Barrycourt is very central to Auckland and surrounding suburbs. We would highly recommend Barrycourt to anyone travelling to Auckland.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

After reading the reviews here, we booked here. It was just as expected - simple, well located, clean and reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudolfSplatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing