We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mix & Match”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #19 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

A typical Kiwi mix and match of Motel,Hotel and conference centre that seems to be working. Good restaurant that serves all 3 types of customer plus Cafe. Ground floor customers can have tricky
Walk to room avoiding cars and bumps in a downhill walk to their room. Rooms are spacious
and well equipped. The staff I encountered seemed a bit too professional and stiff and did not
Have a adequate knowledge of local Tpt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thekiwikid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 725 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014

We enjoy this hotel
we booked 2 rooms for a family gathering and birthday
the rooms are spacious clean with modern facilities
we had great views over the city
the booking and check in was proffesional friendly and so welcoming
we will be back
a plus there is plenty of free parking

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here for the Bruce Springsteen concert for 4x nights and it was very handy to town and had a great view of the town/harbour.We found the staff friendly the room was the premium balcony room and was clean,roomy and just what we expected.
The hotel was booked out but was quiet and just enough car parks.Thanks Quality Hotel Parnell staff for the excellent stay we will be back shortly guaranteed :-)

Room Tip: Try and get a balcony view of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Sayed for three nights over a weekend and was pleasantly surprised. The room was very spacious and impeccably clean, as was the bathroom. There was a lovely wide balcony and fantastic view as well.
Check-in was without any issues and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was good - but it's not within easy walking distance of the main street of Parnell, but that's not the fault of the hotel. My only complaint was that there is no cooling in the rooms - no fan or air-conditioning.
The bed was equipped with a bedspread, blanket, sheet and electric blanket which would be great for winter, but there was no relief from the warm Auckland nights in Summer.
Overall an excellent stay and I would stay here again if I was to come to Auckland again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVC29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear AVC29

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and subsequent review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your complementary comments on our rooms and staff service.
If you would like to contact us directly when making your next reservation, letting us know of your requirements, we will ensure that an additional fan is placed in your room.

Thank you for choosing Quality hotel Parnell, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I booked the rooms before I realized how little mobility my 78 year old mom and her friends are... but it also never occurred to me that a third floor room would have no lift. Or the hotel parking lot could have too few spaces for guests, or that the wifi connection could be so frustrating, or that the rooms would be so warm in summer.

The price is competitive and Parnell is a great location. The detractions were just too many for me to recommend to anyone but the solo business traveller on a budget.

Room Tip: Pay attention to the small print when booking on-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Julie S

Thank you for your recent review about our property and the difficulties faced in regard to our studio rooms being accessible by stairs.We realise this can be an issue for some guests so make mention of this on the booking website for our upper floor south wing rooms to assist guests in making the best choice when reserving accommodation. We would have been more than happy to move your Mother to a room with lift access, however, due to the hotel being fully booked we were unfortunately unable to do this for you on this occasion.

Our complimentary car parking over the property has 80 marked spaces with additional parking available on the grassed areas and where guests are unable to find a space we will assist where we can to find a place.

The weather has indeed been particularly hot this summer. We do not have air conditioning units in the guest rooms but there are permanent fans in the rooms and where additional fans are required we have free standing fans available and will always provide this when requested.
Our apologies that you had difficulties with the wifi connection, and we have contacted our ISP to investigate our coverage in that particular area.

We hope you are able to return to us at some future date.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Back again at what used to be the Barrycourt.
And again very happy with the hotel.
Decent rooms with good ventilation and good beds.
A quite acceptable breakfast and an alright dinner.
And very friendly service.
The wifi is free if you take the trouble to join the customer club.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear Freiburg i. Br.

Thank you for your recent review, and we appreciate your continued patronage. It is pleasing to see that we consistently meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I came here upon a recommendation from some family in Auckland, and I must say it was one of the best recommendations I was given ! The room was nice and spacious, with a fantastic view. I was surprised by how clean it was. The bathrooms were a bit old but I was in a unrenovated room according to the staff, who might I add were both helpful and polite. The breakfast was delicious, but I can't judge the lunch or dinner. Very close to central Auckland, a walk or a short taxi ride will be enough, and the beds were surprisingly comfortable. All in all a very nice hotel, which I do recommend to anyone who intends on going to Auckland.

Room Tip: Try to ask for one of the renovated rooms, or go to a third party website such as Booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Dear William B

Thank you for your recent stay with us and your subsequent recommendation of our Hotel to other travellers. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback and I will ensure that your comment on the standard of room cleanliness is passed onto our housekeeping staff. Our refurbishment programme is on-going, and at some stage in the future we will upgrade the bathrooms as and where required in each of our guest rooms.

I hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Auckland, New Zealand and Quality Hotel Parnell sometime in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
833 reviews
1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,695 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#18 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $93 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing