We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Room was clean with great city view. Toilet had bath tub but slightly small walkin space. The hotel staff are very friendly and help us with our request. The location is some distance away from the city. Overall, we love the peaceful stay in here!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClairePeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear ClairePeh

Thank you for your recent visit to our Hotel, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the great views from our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Auckland on your next visit to New Zealand.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 715 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had to make an unplanned stay here after I was taken ill and so we used it purely as a "recovery room" until I was able to travel again. Our room was comfortable and clean and with a balcony that gave a splendid view of the Auckland Downtown area. Although probably a couple of miles outside the city centre I would rate it a good place to use as a base at a reasonable price. There's ample parking and a restaurant too. Staff/management were friendly and efficient and sympathetic to our situation.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Graham L

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we are pleased that everything was to your satisfaction. We hope that you recovered sufficiently enough to enjoy the rest of your trip around our country and other destinations that you were heading to.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were in a room on the 'motel' side. It impressed us initially - I believe it's been recently renovated and it looks very nice, modern and clean. Our suite had a lounge room with a dining table and kitchenette (really needed a small couch or sofa bed instead of the out of place single bed in there!). The microwave didn't work unfortunately which we did inform reception of. There was a bathroom with dome shower and a separate bedroom with a 'king' size bed that was actually two very soft single beds joined together. This, and the heat from lack of air con unfortunately made for 3 very uncomfortable nights trying to get some sleep. There is a heater/fan but the fan is very noisy and doesn't cool the room at all so we made do with keeping windows open.

The room was serviced very well each day which we appreciated and reception staff were very friendly. The location is fantastic - simple and cheap to get the bus, or even close enough to walk into town, or Newmarket plus there are lots of yummy places to eat at on Parnell Road.

It is great value for money, but I would be hesitant to stay again as we slept so poorly. Air con would be a great investment!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Josie0007

Thank you for your review and constructive comments. We are disappointed to note that your sleep quality was uncomfortable. We utilise king zip beds in the room type you stayed in on our south side, and we will ensure that these beds are checked to determine their current condition. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning in our Hotel rooms, however we will look into purchasing better quality fans to ensure that guest's such as yourselves enjoy a comfortable stay with us.

I hope that you may give us the opportunity of a return visit, and I recommend that you book one of our north facing rooms with fantastic views over the city and harbour.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked this hotel at the end of November for a one night stay, Dec. 10, 2013. We were initially disappointed when we arrived because we were given a room in a building without an elevator. The ad for this hotel never mentioned there is a non-elevated building. We were quite upset because my wife had a recent hip replacement and it is difficult for her to navigate stairs. in addition, we were on the top floor, and the room was quite warm. When I complained to the desk staff, they had a porter carry up our bags, and they gave us a fan to cool the room.
After our initial disappointment, things got better. The hotel is in a beautiful residential area, only a 10 minute bus ride to downtown Auckland.The room was a large 2 bedroom suite, with a large bathroom with tub and shower. We also had a kitchen with a stove, fridge and cutlery. Although we didn't use it, we had a balcony with sliding glass doors.
The staff was lovely. They gave us a map and directions, and always greeted us with a smile They stored our bags the following morning, and held them until 6 P.M.
The neighborhood houses many funky cafes and restaurants within walking distance (try the Rhythm Cafe for breakfast or lunch.)
The hotel is also very quiet at night....you will sleep well.
We really enjoyed our stay here after the initial annoyance. I do highly recommend the Quality Hotel Parnell.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb stairs, specify you want a room in the elevated building, away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wexable4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear wexable4u

Thank you for your recent stay with us, and subsequent review. We are pleased that your initial disappointment on arrival at our Hotel was turned around to your satisfaction, to ensure that the rest of your stay with us was enjoyable. I have noted your comment on our south wing non-elevated building and we will check our advertising collateral to see where this could have been overlooked, and rectify where possible.

We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We (2 adults with 10 & 7 year old kids) stayed 3 nights here in a Superior Room (I think it was called that). This had two queen size beds with a separate living room and was a good size. The kitchen was well equipped, modern and clean. The location is great as easy to drive into central Auckland plus regular buses if you don't want to. Staff friendly and the restaurant in the hotel was very nice and reasonable. The room had views of the Sky Tower and the kids enjoyed going to sleep with the curtains open and looking at the tower!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyofnapiernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear tonyofnapiernz

Thank you for returning to stay with us, and we are pleased that you and your family were satisfied with our accommodation and restaurant offerings. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Auckland, New Zealand sometime in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Though the room was very clean, the advertisement said there was air conditioning and what it had was a heater/fan. What it doesn't really advertise is that it is a hotel AND a motel. I was put in the motel area which is probably why it didn't have air conditioning, though again, it was advertised as having air conditioning. I was on the third floor and it was quite warm during my visit so sleeping was quite uncomfortable. Make sure you're on the hotel side and you should be fine.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Evangelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear Evangelia M

Thank you for your recent stay with us and subsequent review. I was disappointed to see that not everything was to your satisfaction. If our reception staff were made aware of this during your stay, they would have taken steps to rectify your discomfort by providing a fan or possibly moving rooms.We do not have air conditioning in our guest rooms and to the best of my knowledge, we do not advertise this. I would appreciate it if you could let me know what advertisement or web-site you located this in and I will endeavour to have this changed as soon as possible, as it is never our intention to mislead any current or prospective customers.

My e-mail address is gm@theparnell.co.nz and I'll be pleased to correspond with you at your earliest convenience.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This isn't a flashy hotel but its in a great location and is perfect for families. Staff are very helpful, the 2 bed apartment we stayed in was very roomy and had everything we needed. Cleaning was of a high standard. We ate at the restaurant once, nice but personally I think you can get better in parnell rd. the restaurants on this road are awesome. A definite must is the chocolate cafe, its open till 10pm and fab for desserts or a drink.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddieChch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Dear freddieChch

Thank you for choosing our Hotel to stay at during your recent trip to Auckland, and it is pleasing to see that everything was to your satisfaction and fulfilled your requirements. I'll ensure that your comment on our standard of cleanliness is passed on to our housekeeping staff.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to the Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
986 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,681 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
796 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $93 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing