We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another good stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Hotel Parnell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
tauranga
Level Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is a good option when staying in Auckland
Close to Parnel I mean a 10 minute walk to shops and a vast selection of cafes and restaurants
Has free parking this is a blessing as valet parking down town is anything from $30/40 per night
Is a short cab ride to Britomart and the Arena
Check in was easy as I did on-line direct with the hotel
The room was a good size kingsize bed clean tidy tea and coffee facilities
Great view over the Harbour
And a real treat just 5 mins walk down the road is a fantastic cafe The Rosehip>>>> Yummy
we wiil be back to the hotel on out next trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    323
    101
    20
    9
See reviews for
185
247
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Thankyou tripadvisor for pointing me to this superb stay option at Auckland. This surpassed my expectations in every which way possible.

I was here in october 2012 and possibly had one of the best service experiences possible with this place.

The rooms were fabulous. Location was great and staff beyond friendly.

The two bedroom apartments are excellent for families

Room Tip: Take higher floors with harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasawh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Quality Hotel Parnell for 6 nights in July. We enjoyed a Standard King room on the top floor with balcony.
Our stay was faultless. The room was well-appointed and spacious, with a very comfortable bed and everything you need at hand. Well-priced room service was on hand offering tasty choices with minimal fuss.
We recommend the Quality Hotel Parnell for the following reasons:
CONVENIENCE and SAFETY
The hotel can be easily found in Gladstone Road, Parnell, not far from the Prime Minister's private residence. Set on acres of park land, the hotel is a stone's throw from major bus routes. Open parking options are plentiful. The lifts will take you straight to your room. A very sweet breakfast room, with options a-plenty, is a short walk across the car park via the under-cover walkway. Once inside, you'll have plenty of delicious options to keep you going for the day!
THE VIEW
This hotel sits high up on Parnell, with outstanding views of Auckland City, Waitemata Harbour, Devonport, Rangitoto Island and beyond. If you're like us, you won't be able to keep your eyes off the comings and going on the water seemingly at your feet. It was very special in the evening to enjoy a glass or two of favorite tipple as we watched the lights of Auckland twinkling just outside our bedroom window.
VALUE FOR MONEY
This is a very nice Quality hotel with more than most on offer. The views alone set it apart from the rest. Add the convenience (it's a short bus or taxi ride into the city) and it becomes outstanding value. Why stay in the heart of the city, when you're just a stone's throw away in the inner suburbs, with the relaxed feeling that comes with being away from the hurly-burley.
We have no problem at all recommending the Quality Hotel Parnell to all couples, business travellers and families.

Room Tip: There's extra, and convenient parking out the back. Also, there's washing and drying facilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality Hotel Plymouth International
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed with family in a 2 bedroom apartment. This room is very spacious, clean, with a more than adequate kitchen and had a nice view towards the harbour and city. Good location close to Parnell and only a short drive to the CBD. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QualityManager0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
153 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I loved the location of this hotel as really good to be close to city but in a pleasant vibrant shopping and eating area with leafy trees and rose gardens a short walk away. The hotel is immaculately clean, my room was nicely furnished and had a lovely view over west part of harbour. There was a balcony too. Free parking a great bonus. Only two negatives - bathroom is old style with shower over bath and older fittings. It does badly need refurbishment but it was like everything else spotless. The heat pump was noisy so u couldn't leave on at nite but the room was quite a warm one and the bedding was very nice and thick. Price great as I got a last minute deal. I would definitely stay here again for work or leisure.

Room Tip: Higher up and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really liked the location of this hotel. It was close enough to downtown that you could walk there, but far enough that you avoid downtown traffic while getting there. The neighborhood is beautiful as well. The rooms were lovely and the staff was helpful. I just didn't enjoy their Internet service, which wasn't the most user friendly system I used while on the trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WaitingforRain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Love staying here, quiet. Great views Auckland city and Norwoods rose garden over road. Loads of free parking and new WiFi internet is awesome. Parnell restaurant district short 5 minute walk. All the rooms have loads of space and well appointed kitchens. Just been recently renovated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1JayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#31 of 68 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#14 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#20 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing