We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated fittings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Very disappointed in this quality hotel. Seriously should be a comfort hotel. Very dated, ie 60's cabinetry in kitchen and bathroom. grossed out by human hairs in bathroom. Previous visitors soap left in bath. Very old sheets that did not look clean and are more than ready to be rags. Nice updated decor thou. But place is well past it's use by date, for a quality hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neats62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Neats62

Thank you for your feedback and we are very disappointed to see that your experience in one of our rooms was less than satisfactory. Our Housekeeper has followed up on your comments with our cleaning staff, and removed from our laundry any linen which isn't up to our usual standard.
If convenient to you, I would appreciate it if you could send an e-mail through to me on gm@theparnell.co.nz to let me know which room you stayed in, and I will check the state of the kitchen and bathroom as we are looking at upgrading these areas on the next phase of our renovation. Once again my apologies for your less than satisfactory experience.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (710)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 710 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Excellent place to stay for late night arrival-night porter Dudley very helpful. Excellent value, room good.
Returned later for 2 further nights in suite, well planned and equipped, spacious. Kitchenette good for very early breakfasts.
Good parking and storage.
Slept well, quiet location.good view over city
Restaurant perfectly satisfactory .
Ok location for city bus.
Air heating system noisy.wifi bit pricey and slow

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Paul T

Thank you for your review, and I have passed on your comments to Dudley. I will have our maintenance manager check out our air heating systems and locate and remedy anyones that may be noisy. We have just gone live today on our new wifi installation, and you will find on your next visit our wifi coverage and speed is much improved, and we are now able to provide better value for this service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedder with our newborn. Rooms were nice with views, clean and a bit more modern than I expected. Location was good just down from Parnell shops Staff were all very friendly and very helpful. I was very impressed. Very good value as well

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smokeyd1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear smokeyd1962

Thank you for your recent review, and we are pleased that our Hotel exceeded your expectations. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My mother and I stay here every year or two for a shopping trip! The Newmarket shops and Parnell boutiques are a short walk away and there's handy buses for when we get overloaded with bags! The hotel is comfortable and clean, the staff are excellent and we always enjoy our stay. We previously always had a room with a double and single, but this year upgraded to two doubles. The room was huge and had a wee kitchenette. We were very comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear KathWellington,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and we are pleased that you found our location convenient for your trip to Auckland, and that your overall stay and service from our staff was to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you and your mother back to Quality Hotel Parnell in the near future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Our stay there was very pleasant, we booked a premium double bedroom with an amazing view of the harbour and auckland city. The staff were very friendly and helpful and cared for every little detail. Breakfast at Gladstone restaurant was delicious with great variety. They are also very caring about family's with infants as they were with us. I tried to book our stay at Auckland Takapuna Oaks but they had appalling customer service so I changed my mind and luckily found discounted rates here and I am glad I made that decision. It is great value for money, and if I am to go to auckland again, I would probably stay there.

Room Tip: choose one with view of the harbour, it really is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Katrina A,

Thank you for your recent review, and we are pleased that your stay with us was to your satisfaction. It is especially pleasing to note that you found our staff to be friendly, helpful and caring. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to all staff concerned, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Quality Hotel Parnell on your next visit to Auckland.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom suite with our two children. This was fantastic value for money, and gave us lots of extra space to cater for our family. We would definatly stay here again as it is so well priced, close to town, clean, comfortable and provides free parking. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: One Bedroom Suites perfect for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PJTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear PJTravellers

Thank you for review and subsequent recommendation, and for choosing our Hotel to stay at whilst visiting Auckland. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and that our accomodation suited your requirements. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Wife and I stayed here at the start and end of our NZ holiday. It is a straight run from the airport by car and takes about 40 minutes. The property has two buildings, a smaller one on the top side has 2 or 3 stories with no lift. The larger one on the lower side has about 5 levels but has a lift. Our first stay was in the smaller building, the room being quite large and well appointed but with no view. We enjoyed a quiet and restful night there. We ate at the restaurant and the food was OK. On our return a month later we opted for a room in the larger wing as we didn't feel like lugging suitcases up stairs. Once again it was a lovely large room only with a beautiful view of harbour and CBD. The night's sleep was quiet and king bed very comfortable. We were a bit peeved to be charged $5 for 30 minutes of wi fi connection. Oveall we would stay there again and would recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with the city views - we paid the same price both times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grazey16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne D, General Manager at Quality Hotel Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear grazey16,

Thank you for review, and for choosing our Hotel to stay at whilst on holiday here in New Zealand. We are pleased that you found your stay comfortable and value for money, and also for subsequently recommending our Hotel. Your comment on our Internet charges are noted and we will be reviewing our wi fi charges once our new system is in place in the not too distant future. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our Hotel again in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Wayne Darbyshire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
983 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#35 of 66 in Auckland Central
714 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
790 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,676 reviews
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $93 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing