We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family group holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family group holiday”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

A large group of us stayed here for a wedding and were very pleased with the rooms, the service and the situation. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, even helpingus after we had checked out. The rooms were clean and serviced daily. The situation was great, close to town and very close to Parnell village and the French Market. There was also a restaurant attached that looked very reasonably priced and did 24 hr room service.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripMember051220151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    343
    106
    24
    11
See reviews for
196
261
43
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. Room ( at least in the wing we were staying in ) came with a small balcony and view of Auckland harbour and Sky tower. Staff helpful and friendly. Good location - walking distance to Parnell and cafes. If you plan to go into town leave the car at the motel ( to avoid parking hassles ) and and catch the Inner Circle bus No 635 along Parnell road ( $1.80 one way). It goes in a loop around the city and you can take it back to Parnell or venture a bit further down to Broadway ( shops and cafes).
Despite the thin walls, soft pillows and noisy plumbing ( when neighbours use their bathrooms). we were quite comfortable and had fairly decent sleep. Overall, happy with our choice of accomodation.

Did I mention that you have to pay for internet - $5 for half an hour or $10 an hour .

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Turk
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I just think it's a bit expensive for what's on offer...

My daughter and I stayed for one night in March 2012 for Taylor Swift concert and we had a superior room on the 5th floor which overlooked the harbour which was very nice. Nice balcony as well. Good bath and good firm beds. It's very nice but I think $224 is a bit much considering the location does require you to drive or taxi pretty much every where (even Parnell if you are travelling with elderly persons).

Was able to walk down to concert (25 minute walk) and we took taxi back for $10.

Breakfast was included in the rate. Just not sure it's not a bit pricy for $224 for two persons.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I stayed at the Quality Hotel Barrycourt for two nights in March of 2012. The staff was exceptional, the restaurant was very good and Jane at the restaurant couldn't have been nicer. I was given a room with a balcony that overlooked Auckland and treated me to a very pretty sunset. The only issue I had was some very noisy neighbors who woke me at 1:30 am and then again at 3:30 am (it was a Friday night). The walls are a bit thin and if you are an elderly person, the tub is a bit scary. I had no problem getting in or out, but having elderly parents, I knew it would have been exceptionally difficult for them as it is placed off the ground and the step out of the tub is about 16 inches.

The hotel is close enough to downtown that one can walk. It is also very close to the Auckland museum which one should not miss. I absolutely will stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor and try to get a room on the 4th or 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IPSWICH
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Actually this is not true for all rooms since the hotel is, effectively, in two halves: self catering suites and a five floor block. In the former (which has no lift) there is no chance of a view but in the latter which has lifts, the upper floors are guaranteed a view.

The rooms are comfortable and clean now that the refurbishment has been completed. The pillows are thin and the towels adequate but rather small. Rooms with two beds are rather cramped.

A dinner in the restaurant was poor with very tough lamb which had come out of a catering industry pack. The service was laughable. My wife who is visually handicapped was asked why she had not read the menu and the table behind her was criticised for not opening their menus. We cannot recommend eating dinner in the hotel although breakfast is passable.

There is an excellent fish and chip shop just down the road (not open on Sundays) and a cafe serving good food just a few yards further on open for breakfasts. (Eating fish & chips in the Rose Garden on a summer's evening is a real joy.) Further afield (turning right as you leave the hotel) are the cafes and restaurants on Parnell Road. This is where the Link bus stops are located; the buses going down hill are the quick way into the centre of Auckland. The other direction takes you the long way round.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank admiral44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had organised a conference and also housed our participants with about 5 or 6 rooms. We had come all the way from India after a conference in Sydney. We requested a late check-out for about 2 to 3 hours wrt to their check out time of 10 am. The man at the reception haggled with a measure of half an hour giving some a late chec out by half hour and some one hour. It was indeed disappointing that though we had a conference there was absolutely no consideration. All good hotels round the world easily accept late checkout of 2 to 3 hours. And with such a business and consideration that we flew long distance, it is easily granted. Man at reception said they were fully booked. Ironically, check in is 2 pm and they are also rigid in not giving room before this time as was experienced by one participant who checked in on March 23. Our stay was from 22/23 March to 25 March.

The hotel has lost its good will and are behaving as if they are in a sellers market. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone who fly from far away overseas. I have never had such an experience in New Zealand where they haggle for late check out with half hour accuracy.

Further, there was nothing exceptionally good about this hotel that they behave in such a manner. The Trip Advisor Certificate that was displayed at the reception is indeed misleading.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krajan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

During our 6-week trip to the North island, we needed some scheeming skills to avoid carrying a lot of luggage around the country. We decided to ask Barrycourt to keep two of our bags for two weeks during which we would be travelling in northland. The staff was extremelly helpful and kind.
When we came back to Auckland, we checked-in and were delighted with the harbour view from our room. The hotel is designed in such a way that all rooms see the harbour.
Equipment is excellent.
Continental breakfast is one of the best with a huge choice of fresh products including fruit and different breads you may toast or not. If you prefer cooked breakfast, you will have a large choice of preparations.
As far as location is concerned, Barrycourt is situated just five minutes by foot from Parnell Road. You can then take advantage of all the pleasant cafés, restaurants or boutiques on that busy street without having the 24/24h noise.
A tip : at night, don't totally close your room curtains. If you wake up in the middle of the night, you will see the harbour lights and will probably think you are dreaming. It's very nice !
Pricewise this hotel represents very good value. I recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos_R_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
1.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
954 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 105 air-conditioned rooms centrally located on 3.5 acres in the desirable residential area of Parnell. Most hotel rooms and serviced apartments have expansive views of Auckland city and harbour and 67 serviced apartments have full kitchens. The hotel offers free onsite parking, wireless internet, complimentary morning newspaper, 24-hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell Village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector Arena. Quality Hotel Parnell is owned by the Norman F.B. Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Donations are made to support the community and the advancement of Medical Research. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing