We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointed. Will never return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Hotel Parnell
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Tauranga
Level Contributor
147 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very disappointed. Will never return”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed at the Barrycourt only one night on this trip (thank goodness).
The room was one of their 2 brm motel units.
After checking in we tried to find a parking space onsite - no such luck, we had to park offsite about 250metres away.
The room was very dated for supposed 4 star accommodation.
We decided to dine at their restaraunt that night - when we got there we were asked to wait in the lounge until a table became vacant, not usually an issue; we waited just over 10minutes for a table, we were seated and given a menu each and a glass of water, our waiter came and advised us of the specials and left us for 5 minutes to decide what we would like; he then returned, took our orders and then advised us that there would be a wait of at least 45 minutes from ordering as the kitchen was very busy; I believe we could have been told before we were seated.
We dined out and when we returned after midnight we still could not park nearby, having to park over 100metres from our room.
To make things worse our bed had the dreaded roll-together.
We did have breakfast in the restaraunt and that was very nice.
For the cost I was most disappointed.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the motel units
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    335
    104
    23
    9
See reviews for
192
254
39
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Take Shuttle Bus to Hotel as this is the first stop going there and the last stop for pick up on the way to airport and cost effective. The staff are really friendly and obliging.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaylett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The actual stay in the hotel was good, receptionists behind the desk we very friendly and helpful. My problem was with the restaurant staff. We arrived at the restaurant at 5.10pm and I told the waitress that we had a taxi booked for 6.30pm and she said that they were very busy due to the concert down the road. I said all we were after was an entree, so she then seated us. After 20mins I asked another waiter how long it would before our entree would come out and he told me about 2 mins, so after another 10mins I spoke to the lady in charge and she told me another 2 mins. I explained to her again that we had a taxi booked and could they hurry please as the time was 6.20pm. The taxi arrived at 6.30 and we still never received our entree, I spoke to the lady incharge again and told her the taxi was here and she told me that it would wait for me and my entree will be out in a minute. I told her that I couldn't wait and then she basically blamed me for ordering the wrong entree because they were busy and it was the only entree that took the longest. We left the restaurant and went to reception and told them the story and how I was very disappointed in my experience there and how she spoke to me. Later on my return I had an appology letter under my door with a complimentry breakfast for my mum and myself. We went for breakfast and it was great, food was great and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle45566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for our first couple of nights after flying into Auckland from UK.

Staff were very friendly, as was typical for NZ.

Room was large enough and functional, but a bit tired looking.

Some noise from other units.

Ok situation for visiting the town, but need to take bus.

Walking distance to restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Leics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

They said they had room with good views so we asked for one and it was TRUE. This hotel is only a few km out the city centre and well located. The view of the harbour from our room on the 6th floor was great and the lights at night were impressive. The room was very clean and comfortable with all items we needed. The city centre was a 15 minute bus ride ($2) along Parnell Road and the bus stops were a 5 minute walk from the hotel. (Car parking in the city is restricted and expensive.) This was a good find thanks to Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Ask for a good harbour view and try the bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveS3_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Travelled with my Mum to visit my niece and her family. Couldn't have stayed anywhere better. Apart from the fact it was opposite my great niece's school and within walking distance of lovely Parnell and the Domain, it was a really comfortable and friendly place to stay. The reception staff and the cafe staff went out of their way to make our stay a home from home. The rooms are spacious and have everything that you would need. The views from the balcony of both the 2nd floor and the 5th floor rooms that we stayed in were breathtaking and it was peaceful and quiet at night. Can't recommend this hotel highly enough and hope to have the chance to return there sometime soon.

Stayed April 2011
Helpful?
Thank holmesjane11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2011

We stayed at Barrycourt for 3 nights in December in a self contained two bedroom apartment. We were very happy with our stay - the service was wonderful and help and advice was given every time we asked with a smile.
The rooms had amazing views overlooking the CBD, and were comfortable and clean. The kitchen was basic, and as with other furniture, was a bit dated. Ample parking available.
Short walk to shops in Parnell. Lovely area to stay in, and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nh993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.6 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
1.3 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Parnell

Property: Quality Hotel Parnell
Address: 10 - 20 Gladstone Road, Auckland 1052, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#16 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Parnell 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell has recently completed a four year refurbishment programme and is proud of the ongoing commitment to provide quality rooms for our valued guests. The Hotel offers free onsite parking, free wireless internet, free morning newspaper, 24 hour reception, room service and porters, coffee shop/cafe, restaurant and bar. The Hotel does not charge a credit card surcharge. Auckland's Quality Hotel Parnell is within walking distance of the historic Parnell village, Auckland CBD, Auckland Domain and Museum, Newmarket shopping precinct and close to the Auckland Hospital, Auckland University and the Vector arena. We have a contract for exclusive taxi services from the Hotel to the Domestic and or International airports for a fixed cost of NZ$45.00. The Auckland Explorer Bus stops directly outside our Hotel on it's daily circuit. Quality Hotel Parnell Ltd is owned by the Norman F B Barry Foundation, being a charitable trust registered under the Charities Act 2005. Registration No: CC33047. Our continuing goal is to support medical research in New Zealand and also make scholarships available to young New Zealand science graduates, who are in need of financial assistance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Parnell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrycourt Hotel Auckland
Quality Hotel Parnell Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing