We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - great location - superb customer service!”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Wow! This is a great hotel! Very quiet and comfortable with simply amazing views of the harbor. The staff is courteous and extremely friendly and helpful. The staff is focused on meeting customer needs, and this is reflected through the superb service they provide. Great location to central Auckland and within easy walking distance of many neighborhoods, ferries, shopping, and restaurant opportunities. This is an upscale accommodation, and the prices reflect this. As with all Hilton properties, pricing is a la carte, so you pay extra for services you use, but don't pay for any you don't. But this does mean commonly used services, such as parking, Internet access, etc. are in addition to the room rate. We stayed in the Bow Room, which was spacious, included very comfortable bedding, luxurious towels, and a well stocked mini bar. The Fitness Center is well furnished with cardio equipment, weight machines, free weights, and a pool. We could not have asked or desired for better accommodations than what were provided at this property.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,318)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,003 - 2,009 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2010

really nice, modern hotel with all the luxury things needed. beautiful location, amazing restaurant - stunning views. the room was really nice, especially the bed, absolutely wonderful!!, small details such as offering different types of pillows made my sleep perfect. Well done Hilton Auckland - staff really nice and professional, gorgeous, well fitted hotel. would definitely stay again, it was overall an awesome stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jocy_grocy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

We spent 1 night at the Hilton Auckland in November 2010. As a Diamond member, we did not get an upgraded room with a harbor view. We only got a room on the top floor looking into a residential building. However, the room itself was roomy and clean. The bathroom had a tub and shower and was very functional. The bed was comfortable and afforded a great night's sleep.

In room internet is complimentary for Diamond members and it was fast.

Breakfast is also complimentary for Diamond members and we had the buffet and a la carte ordered items available to us. We ordered some a la carte items. The food was average.

As for location, the hotel is in a great location. Once you walk from the end of the pier where Hilton sits, there are a lot of restaurants available to you. Sky City is about a 10-15 minute walk.

We also took a ferry to Waiheke Island for half a day and the pier is next to the Hilton and very convenient.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for the location and the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

The Hilton Auckland is the one hotel in the entire city with an unbeatable location and excellent service and rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Washingtonianwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Stayed here for a couple of nights to break up the trip home from the US. Had a nice room although the "sea view" was more a view of the ferry terminal than the sea. The staff were great. No free wifi which is a bit of a pain.

Used Airbus Express bus (google them) to get to and from the airport - the drop off is very close to the hotel and it's a lot cheaper than a taxi. The bus runs every 15 minutes and there's large luggage racks in the bus so storing suitcases isn't a problem.

Took a day trip to Waiheke Island (45 minutes from the ferry terminal). It's a stunning island with lots of wineries. If you want to hire a car there (and you will unless you book a tour), book ahead as we saw people trying to get a car there who couldn't.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perth_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Very good hotel in heart of Auckland, New Zealand. Good service, nice rooms, cgood restaurant although over priced. beautiful views.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Check in was fast, rooms extremely clean and good looking. Excellent view of the harbour and wharf. Didn't try the food (since our host supplied all the meals). Location close to Queens street.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nawee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,211 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland Central
4,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $223 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing