We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Auckland
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$134
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$137
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Heritage Auckland(Auckland Central)
$190
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$129
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$188
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,545)
Filter reviews
2,545 results
Traveler rating
1,386
756
253
103
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,386
756
253
103
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscruise shipfish restaurantbellini barbow suitediamond memberharbor view roomnew zealandferry terminalmaritime museumwaiheke islandcorner roomrestaurants and barsfantastic locationbuffet breakfastlong flightvalet parkingsky tower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,270 - 2,275 of 2,545 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We were careful to reserve a suite with an adjoining room next door for our two night stay. Unfortunately, when we arrived the staff informed us that they had given away our reserved adjoining room the night before.

The concierge sent us to an "Italian" restaurant that served no Italian food. It was called Cin Cin and turned out to be pretty good although we had been expecting pasta on the menu and therefore were disappointed due to the Hilton's false information.

The hotel restaurants are completely understaffed. We had awful service at White. We had to ask three times for tap water. The next day we ate at Bellini for breakfast instead and had better service because there was only one other party eating there. The waitress said that even when Bellini gets busy, she is the only staff there for breakfast and it can get to be too much.

The best thing about the hotel is the architecture because there are great views and lots of light. It is true that sometimes cruise ships park outside the windows though, and block the view and invade your privacy. The housekeeping service seemed friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, the management does not seem to know how to otherwise run a decent hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank glewis042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWI1010, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

I was disappointed to see that we were a number of issues with regards to your recent stay at the hotel.

We do endevour to accommodate all 'special requests' with regards to room allocations, I'm happy to say for the most we do get this right but it can happen due to last minute changes during high demand periods it is not always possible.

I regret that your epxerience in White for breakfast did not meet your expectation on this occasion and that there was delays with the service to your table.

Thak you for your feedback in this regard.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

After previously visiting Auckland in February 2008, I was very excited about showing my husband the fantastic buzzy vibe of the Waterfront, which is a group of restaurants etc down by the water in Auckland. I booked the Hilton because it was the first night of our holiday and because of its location.
Unfortunately it seems all Auckland-ers exit the city in Dec-Jan, so the waterfront was dead as a doornail! Barely a soul to be seen which was so disappionting.
The hotel service was welcoming and friendly - no complaint there. The room however was fairly small but did boast a large bath. No spa or sauna and the pool is outdoors which is not particularly inviting on a rainy Auckland day. It does provide easy car access and is relatively close to a large shopping centre and hire car places
Overall it was ok .. but lacked no "omph" factor, esp for the price

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JWI1010, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2009

Yes late December early January is the main summer holiday season in New Zealand with many of the offices closing down for a few weeks for the holiday season. The departure of the 'locals' is generally replaced with the arrival of the international tourists, the 1st quarter of the year being our most busiest.
Although it is holiday season all retail outlets, attractions, restaurants and bars are fully operational.

There is a fully service spa facility located in the building adjacent to the Hilton on Princes Wharf. The hotel's concierge desk can make bookings for guests as well as we the guest having the option to 'charge back' any service fees for their treatment to thier room account.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

I booked 3 nights at the Hilton Auckland using my husband's HHonors points. We were not disappointed. The location was great with easy access to ferries and restaurants. The room had a nice-sized bathroom and came with complimentary breakfast for the 2 of us (plus they did not charge for the kids' breakfast) and a balcony with fantastic views of the harbour. The staff was always friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends, family, and business associates, and am looking forward to making a return trip in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank staceyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2009

Truly outstanding Hilton Hotel in a wonderful location. Really hospitable warm staff, excellent room, way exceeded expectations, food in White restaurant was extremely good and well priced too, overall stay exceeded expectations - highly recommendable to anyone, so close to the activity of the harbour too.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Joemalone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2009

Choosing a hotel in Auckland proved slightly tricky as so many reviews warn of noise from harbour-front bars and outdoor restaurants: warnings well made in many cases. But the Hilton Auckland proved the perfect location - on a quiet wharf with no noisy bars, and fantastic views back on the city. The rooms are immaculate, and both times we stayed there we were upgraded to a stunning corner room. The staff were universally fantastic at every level, were without exception friendly and offering help, and it really felt like a very happy hotel in terms of staf morale. One of the concierges was particularly helpful and diligent in chasing the airport when a bag was lost by the airline. The hotel also emailed us to warn that a cruise ship was docking on our second visit and some views might be obscured. All in all a faultless experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Spinnaker47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews