We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Arrived at the Hilton Auckland at Princes Wharf following the flight from the States. Fortunately the front desk had a room available so we could rest and shower prior to starting our day.

The hotel is centrally located, though if you opt for the wonderful view of the harbor, recognize that if there is more than one cruise ship in port, it appears that the second ship docks next to the hotel and will block your view. In fact, prior to going to sleep for the evening, the management was so kind to indicate that a ship would be arriving at 6:30 AM and that we should leave our blinds closed. We did not appreciate this advice until we woke and clearly one could see into the staterooms of the ship docked next to the hotel!

Several positives...the staff were wonderful and extremely helpful and attentive, the breakfast buffet was excellent, the breakfast buffet room had a lovely view of the harbor (ship did not block this view), and if you are planning to cruise from Auckland, it is a convenient two to three block walk to the cruise terminal. Same could be said if planning on taking a ferry from Auckland.

Room Tip: An outside room facing the water is preferred since they also come with balconies and view. The insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank psa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear psa

Thank you for posting your informative review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you had a memorable experience at the hotel, relishing in the hotel’s stunning location. FISH restaurant certainly does boast unique waterfront views where one can relax in the ambience of our harbour views.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,474 - 1,480 of 2,435 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our room and view. Great location on the wharf able to walk to shops and ferry. Very friendly attentive staff. The beds are very comfortable. Just don't plan on sleeping in, the tour boats and ferrys are noisy pretty early.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jolene3396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Jolene3396

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and it was our pleasure to welcome you to our waterfront haven on Princes Wharf. We are happy to read your comments and glad that you enjoyed the amazing views and location.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we hopefully will see you again in the City of Sails.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The Hilton was superb, we stayed for three nights and loved it. The staff were amazing and so very nice, as soon as we got out of the shuttle the doorman could not do enough for us, they were very helpful, check in was very smooth and easy as was checking out. The room was beautiful, the bathrooms are super, great sized bath, beautiful toiletries and lovely big fluffy towels. The view from our balcony was primo and we watched all the activities of the wharf as well as the city go on. We got in late so got room service our first night for tea and it was very quick, beautifully presented and so yum. The next morning we had breakfast which there was a great selection. The location is sweet and we walked everywhere we wanted to go. We had read some not great reviews on our way in from the airport and after staying here ourselves cannot believe they were talking about the same place. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: If able definitely book a harbour view room, it is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear andyreece

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hilton Auckland as your preferred accommodations. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel’s unique waterfront location and that you felt right at home during your time with us.

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for 5 nights and had a harbour view room. The room was a decent size and it was nice to have a balcony which you could relax on.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was a problem for them. We had breakfast at the Hilton every morning which was good and had plenty of variety.
The Hilton is in a good location close to the ferries, bus stops and shops. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Muppet71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Muppet71

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. The hotel certainly does boast an enviable location surrounded by the stunning Waitemata Harbour and being very close to the city’s entertainment and restaurant precinct.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next return trip to the City of Sails.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We paid a little extra to guarantee a room for our 8:30 AM arrival - well worth it. The Airport Bus Shuttle stop is at the Ferry Building - only about 5 minutes walk to the Hilton. Spacious room with shared balcony and partial view of Auckland Harbor. What the Hilton lacks in personality is made up for in its great location. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby, and the ferry boats to the various harbor islands depart right next to the Hilton. Very good breakfast buffet with a lovely harbor view.

Room Tip: Room 302 is next to the Service Room, so it can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanda84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear kanda84

Thank you for choosing Hilton Auckland and for posting your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and the stunning waterfront location.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed in the Bow Suite for four nights and had great 270 degree views of the harbour which were unbeatable. Room was clean, modern and bright - but to be honest, a little too bright. No blackout curtains (just electric blinds) which made it impossible to sleep in and the seals on some of the windows were poor which meant the wind whistled in during the night. Make sure you pack an eye mask and ear plugs! For over $900 a night I expected a better night's sleep.

On a brighter note, service was top notch. The bell boys and valets were especially friendly and helpful so a big thanks to them. Breakfast every morning was pretty good with most of the usual fare although some kind of dressing or sauce to accompany the salads and raw vegetables wouldn't go amiss. I liked the variety of smoothies.

I stayed at the Langham for two nights after my stay at the Hilton and would prefer to go back to the Langham next time were I can get a larger suite for a better price - and a guaranteed sleep-in.

Room Tip: No blackout curtains and the Bow Suite rooms in particular get strong wind which can be noisy - brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TokyoKiwi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear TokyoKiwi87

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and it is great to read that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and the stunning views across the Waitemata Harbour from the Bow Suite. I am sorry that you experienced some sound issues in the room during the night.

It was our pleasure to be of service to you and we hope to see you again on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Nice hotel with great views. Service was professional and timely when requests were made though I found it strange that I had to ring for a toothbrush instead of it being available as part of the bathroom amenities. My only problem was the horrible cigarette smell that pervaded my entire room when the people next door were smoking on their balcony even though my balcony doors were shut. If you're a smoker then fine, if not then I probably would not recommend this hotel if you like a fresh smelling room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 154anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear 154anonymous

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hilton Auckland as your preferred accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed your time in the ‘City of Sails’.

Having noted your comments in regards to the inconvenience with smoke interference, I do sincerely apologize.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,969 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,618 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#12 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $237 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing