We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

great at everything, thanks. Beds were SUPERB....I want one. This was a mystery hotel and we were so pleased to find out it was the Hilton. location A+ although there was a gale blowing during our stay which made the ocean look rather wild. thanks Hilton, I'll be bach...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank HamiltonFloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear HamiltonFloss

Thank you for opting to post your ‘fab’ review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, it was our pleasure to welcome you to our haven, situated on Auckland’s Waitemata harbour.

We look forward to extending the Hilton experience to you once again on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,458 - 1,464 of 2,368 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has comfy beds, spacious rooms, decent room service food, friendly and helpful staff, gorgeous views, private balcony. Everything was great! When I needed to use the business center, a concierge personally escorted me there so I would be sure to fine it and he helped me get set up quickly with the printer and computer. There were alwaysvtacis on hand for convenience. I would stay here again, budget permitting.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Houstonian12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Houstonian12

Thank you for posting your generous review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you had a memorable experience, indulging in the Hilton experience.

We look forward to having you stay with us again, should future travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great views, great location, friendly service... The hotel was fully booked, and the staff seemed always available, and always happy to assist... We enjoyed our stay, and the views over the Auckland harbour are magical - especially from our huge balcony!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank International559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear International559

Thank you for opting to post your review of Hilton Auckland on TripAdvisor. As per my previous correspondence acknowledging the online hotel survey you completed, the team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the spectacular harbour views included with the room!

We look forward to welcoming you back on future stays.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

This hotel is at the end of Prince’s Wharf – next to the Cruise Ship Terminal. Our room was at a corner with a balcony that overlooked the water. The balcony was sort of strange, since the next room also had access to our balcony creating a lack of privacy. The only other negatives were that there was only one chair in the room (the desk chair) and the lighting was poor. The bathroom was large with lots of counter space and both a tub and stall shower. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. Service was very friendly and excellent.

Free wifi was available in the Lobby.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoneTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear GoneTravelin

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing Hilton Auckland as your preferred accommodations. I am glad you enjoyed our boutique hotel’s unique waterfront location and that the team took extra special care of you.

We look forward to seeing you back on future travels should you return to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

To begin with, the hotel is perhaps in one of the most astonishing locations in any major city, jutting out into Auckland harbour. There are some amazing water views, the north part of Auckland across the harbour, and the city centre (CBD) just behind. The entire area is for the hip, and those who think they are hip. Restaurants, bars, bistros, cafes abound all around; even a Mexican deli just down the wharf. Add to this all the upscale eateries at Victoria Harbour right next door and you have possibly one of the best locations for a Hilton anywhere.

So where's the downside? The location is so titillating that it becomes a truly major disappointment if you have the misfortune of getting a room on the west side, which looks smack dab right onto an apartment/condo complex just a few metres away. It gives a whole new meaning to "reach out and touch someone". To his great dismay, Shah was originally given one such room. On more than one occasion he noticed people from across gazing at his insanely cute but amazing hairy toosh. His options were to keep the curtains closed, making the room very claustrophobic, or get an upgrade (which the hotel graciously accommodated).

The rooms on the other side of the hotel look out to the harbour and do have very nice views, until, bang, a mother of a cruise ship pulls in right next to the hotel. Now you are looking smack dab into the rooms of the ship (again, reach out ...). So now the view is gone for the whole day, and plead as you much with the captain of the ship, he ain't moving her anywhere till it's time to sail off.

Truthfully, there isn't much the hotel management can do in either case, though they should not charge such high rates for the rooms that look out onto the condo (or at least, there should be truth in advertising and this fact should be made abundantly clear on its website so that there are no surprises after arrival). An awesome location now becomes a liability because the psychological impact of this can be hard on some, leading to marital quarrel, loss of appetite, or excessive drinking.

Shah was perfectly happy to give this property a full five stars, notwithstanding the above. However, there are two things that really annoy Shah. One is the constant itching from a tick infestation. Another is when a hotel starts renting out public areas for private functions. This happened on two occasions during his stay when the bar was cordoned off for a wedding. These are areas that guests pay for through their rooms and under no circumstances should access be restricted. The hotel should find other ways of generating revenue, and their pithy apology still leaves wanting guests having to suck it in.

Shah Rukh says: Stay here for the location, but beware that you may not have a view. If that is important, there are several other options nearby, but you do need to stay in this area if you are visiting Auckland.

Shah Rukh's tip: There are a couple of good options for coming in from the airport, such as the Super Shuttle ($35) or the airport bus ($16), which stops by the ferry building, about two blocks away.

Complimentary extra tip: The harbour ferries pull up close to the hotel. You can get tickets from the Ferry Building for some really nice day trips. Try Waiheke island. Shah recommends renting a car there and visiting the various wineries and a couple of olive plantations, where you can pick up some amazing oil. The local buses on the island are slow and infrequent, though tour buses are also available (if that tickles your fancy).

Complimentary double extra tip (very rare): Note to Americans - if you drive, keep left, otherwise you will have a very close encounter with a Kiwi (unless you happen to pass another American making the same mistake).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shah_Rukh_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear Shah_Rukh_2007

Thank you for posting your detailed and enlightening review on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to accommodate you with an upgrade to a harbour view room. Having noted your comment regarding the cruise ships, the hotel endeavours to inform all of our guests at the time of booking when there will be cruise ships in port. Regretfully, this is sometimes not possible dependent on the booking channel and guest details available at the time of reservation.

The hotel certainly does offer a great location within very close proximity to many tourist attractions and you certainly made an excellent choice to visit beautiful Waiheke Island, with its renown olive plantations and vineyards.

We do hope to welcome you back on future occasions should you return to the ‘City of Sails’.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Second time at this hotel. Good points are great location by the water, friendly front desk staff and great housekeeping. My minor peeves are that as a HH diamond member I have never been given a room upgrade, I travel a tremendous amount and other Hilton's are much more accommodating in this regard. Also as a single woman I did not enjoy the Bellini bar for which I had a couple of vouchers for a free drink. Felt quite ignored by wait staff and eventually went to the bar to order my glass of wine. I know I sound a little picky but I do get better service in other Hilton hotels.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank academic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear academic1

Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. It was our pleasure to welcome you back to Hilton Auckland as HHonors Diamond traveller and I am glad you enjoyed the waterfront location of the property. I do sincerely apologize that the team in Bellini did not on this occasion spread the light and warmth of true Hilton hospitality. Your comments have most certaionly been reviewed.

I do hope you will visit us again and should you require any further assistance in the future please feel free to contact me directly on email roger.brantsma@hilton.com.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

i think i get lot of luxury whjen i go stay at hilton hotel but not get any much at all, I not think so much good about this hotel and I not plan to be coming back soon, maybe not ever i come to this city on business every half year next time i not stay here

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank jeffjinsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Dear jeffjinsea

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent business travel to Auckland. I am disappointed to read that you did not entirely feel at home within our property. Please feel free to contact me directly on email roger.brantsma@hilton.com should you wish to share any further comments regarding your experience at the hotel or our team member customer service.

I hope we may have another opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,915 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $250 - $643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing