We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful of hidden parking fee”
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #5 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had three nights at this Hilton last week. Great hotel, however, when we checked out the ported advised us that we could drive our hire car (which we were picking up on our last morning) into the carpark and put our bags in the car and then drive back out of the designated car parking in front of the hotel. I went and got the hire car and drove it into the parking area. I dragged all our luggage out (myself) and put it in the car and the porter said he could 'validate my parking' so we could drive straight out. I had the car in the carpark for approx. 15 minutes (tops, probably more like 10 minutes). My credit card was slugged $35 for 'valet car parking' the next day. NO VALET involved, no assistance with the bags and I was assured that I could drive my car up to the door to load bags in with no charge. Very disappointed. N Slatcher, Townsville Australia.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Noel S

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel!

I do sincerely apologize for the confusion when you were charged a Valet Parking Fee on check-out. It was an error on our part, for which I am very sorry, and we have taken the liberty to refund this amount to you. Please feel free to contact me directly via email roger.brantsma@hilton.com should you require any further clarification.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,447 - 1,453 of 2,337 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was the last hotel we stayed at in New Zealand before we flew home and boy was I glad I had booked this hotel. We were checked into the hotel by a wonderful lady, Jess. My flight out was the next night at 1:00am so Jess gave us an extended check-out. She also gave us an upgraded room with amazing views looking out to the harbour. As I am a Gold Member, I got free breakfast at their restaurant Fish. The breakfast was one of the best meals I had on my trip. We sat out on the patio and ate to our heart's content. After checking out, Jess offered to hold our luggage and upon our return she also gave us the keys to the Gym so we can take a shower before our long flight home. The location of this hotel was also great. It was close to all the bars and restaurants. The hotel itself is very stylish, clean and modern looking. Drinks at the Bellini bar were great too. Overall, great hotel. Highly recommended. Special thanks to Jess for being so nice to us and taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBum27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear TravelBum27

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor; it most certainly was our pleasure to welcome you as HHonors Gold members.

The team and I are delighted you have such fond memories of your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Everything about our experience here was just fabulous. We were able to leave our luggage a day early, to go spend some time on Waihike Island. Upon check in, our room was not quite ready, and they let us use the wifi and go up to the pool to relax. Our room was extraordinary, to say the least. Our Balcony wrapped around the side of the hotel, and could fit 50-60 people easily. It has beautiful lawn chairs for lying out, and had amazing views of the city. We had complimentary wine bottle and drink passes for the bar in our room. It was one of the most beautiful rooms I ever stayed in. The sliding glass doors opened up on 2 of the sides of the room, with beautiful curtains. We kept both completely open, so it felt like we were in an abyss overlooking the city.

The bathrooms were large, with a separate tub and shower, with more than enough shampoos/lotions. Our bed was extremely comfortable, and were treated to chocolates before bedtime. The pool was very unique and overlooked part of the harbor. In terms of location, it really cannot be beat. You are a 5 minute walk from the main shops, from all of the resturuants on the water (the Viaduct), the ferries and museums.

An absolute luxury to stay here and enjoy the elegance that it brings to the city. I was extremely impressed and pleased with my stay.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KimberlyBix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear KimberlyBix

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Auckland and thank you for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. The hotel certainly does boast an enviable waterfront location, whilst being in very close proximity to the hub of Auckland’s entertainment precinct.

It was a pleasure having you with us to enjoy such a memorable experience at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The Hilton Auckland perches out on a peak of stunning real estate in the heart of Auckland, with balconies and views of the beautiful surrounds. The pool is best for funny photos (it's one of those plexi-walled things), but not for the best view (plexi gets dirty).

[Insert rant here about paying for wifi on top of other fees (it lacks class)]. If you're on public transportation, it's a bit of a schlepp to get from the street down to the hotel with a bunch of luggage. Taxis will take you right there and they have a long driveway, but there are several other buildings prior to the hotel, so be prepared to schlepp just a little bit if you are carrying a lot of stuff.

Quiet, lovely, enjoy the balcony!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phreddiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Phreddiva

Thank you posting your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel’s welcoming location just a short stroll from the central city on Auckland’s Waitemata Harbour. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future should you return to the ‘City of Sails’!

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

After a long flight from the UK and arriving at 8.30 am it was great to find a hotel who did an early check in leaving us the full day to start our explorations. We only had a day in Auckland before starting our tour around New Zealand and the Hilton was ideally located. It's 5 minutes to the ferry terminal where you can get trips to a variety of destinations. A 15 minute walk takes you through downtown Auckland and up to the Sky Tower. 5 minutes and you gave a choice of restaurants and cafe bars on the wharf. The room was comfortable, especially the bed which was sumptuous, with great views across the harbour. Breakfast offered a wide choice of fruits, cereals,pastries, cooked breakfast and cold meats/cheeses and you can sit outside and watch the sun rise. Only criticism is the quality of Internet, hard to connect to and very, very slow, that needs looking at (and should be free in your room for the prices you pay - it's only free in reception). Good choice of hotel though and started the holiday well.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Alfie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Alfie B

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review on TripAdvisor. It most certainly was our pleasure to welcome you to the hotel and we are glad that you found our waterfront location to be so convenient.

We look forward to having you return to stay with us in the future.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Very conveniently located for us to catch the ferry to Waiheke. Was also surprised at how quiet it was given it is so close to downtown Auckland and also the many restaurants close by. I come to Auckland for business a lot, but hardly ever stay the night, so do know parking can be a hassle. However paying for valet parking at the Hilton is the way to go. Lovely to wake up and open the curtains to see the harbour, the cruise ships and ferries from the private balcony. The room was smallish for NZ standards, but well laid out.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Coolfozzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Coolfozzie

Thank you for posting your generous review on TripAdvisor. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel’s vibrant surroundings and got to explore some of the city’s highlights.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to enjoy the Hilton experience, should future travels bring you back to Auckland.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A very nice place to stay in Auckland New Zealand. It is on the water on 2 sides, be sure to get a room with a view of the Ferry Terminal and cruze ship dock. The 7th floor is really good. We stayed 3 times on our month trip to New Zealand,enjoyed the proximity to the downtown, waterfront and Ferry terminal. The staff was great. The bar and resturant were very good. Rooms also were nice with a big balcony overlooking the water with views across the channel.

Room Tip: 7th floor om=n the side with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roger-Brantsma, General Manager at Hilton Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Dear Brent K

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and I am glad that your family enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and stunning waterfront location. The team and I hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back on future visits to the ‘City of Sails’.

Wishing you a very Happy & Successful 2014.

Kind regards, Roger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,544 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,226 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,796 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $261 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing