We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Situated on the cruise ship dock, with a room looking back onto the downtown area, sits this fine hotel. A warm welcome, friendly valets and a very helpful concierge who got us reservations
at local restaurants and several other pieces of good advice. Easy walk to downtown and all the restaurants in the waterfront area.

The room and bathroom were large and there was an unusually big space to spread out toiletries and make up. Best of all, we got a room at the end of the hall which had a wrap around balcony that was as big as the room. Yes, when a cruise ship pulled in, it completely blocks the view, but when the dock is empty, the view of the ferry building and downtown sky line is well worth it.

There is no Executive Lounge for Honors members. We received a voucher for one glass of
wine each per night. Not a mixed drink, just wine. A bit chintzy. Breakfast was served on an open air patio with great views of the bay. Huge buffet, very good quality.

Highly recommend this hotel. Not cheap, but well worth it.

Room Tip: See if you can get a corner room on the end nearest downtown. The wrap around balcony is as large a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VenturaTraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear VenturaTraveler13, We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us here at Hilton Auckland. Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Your feedback on the location, room and breakfast is much appreciated. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you and we hope to welcome you back, when you return to Auckland in the future. Kind regards, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    654
    221
    87
    37
See reviews for
248
1,072
152
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We booked a harbour view room at over NZD$500 a night. Being a special occasion we thought this worthwhile.
However the staff were unhelpful on arrival. The room was small and had faults like the wind whistled in all night until a cruise ship arrived to block the wind. 2 Hours after checking in we were disturbed by the delivery of complementary water, should have been there before we arrived.
Could not read in bed without all the room lights on, disturbing partner.
For a Hilton you would expect better quality

Room Tip: Find out if a cruise ship is due in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Beverly S, Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. I am aware that our General Manager, Roger Brantsma has been in contact with your directly regarding your feedback. Kind regards, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed for four nights at the Hilton Auckland and loved every minute of it. Attentive staff anticipating your every need, glorious bed and fabulous choice at breakfast. The lady who cleaned my room folded all my clothes and made me feel at home. Great view to the harbour from my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Candy K, Thank you for posting your review of Hilton Auckland on Tripadvisor, We are glad that you enjoyed a wonderful experience with us. We truly appreciate your generous compliments on the hotel and look forward to further delighting you with the Hilton hospitality experience when you next return to Auckland. Kind regards, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

After much consideration, we decided to stay at the Hilton after a cruise due to their convenient location. Because they are on the pier, with a cruise ship arrival, there is a mob of people checking into and out of this hotel. I think they are assuming that their location overcomes all other issues such as customer service. While the location is ideal off of the ship, the service was appalling. The hotel stored our luggage and provided internet access in the lobby while we waited for our room. It was after 3pm before a room was available. Unfortunately, it took 3 tries, with long waits in line at the desk each time, to get an internet code from the front desk that worked. The concierge was haughty and unhelpful. When asked for ideas for touring Auckland, he handed me a brochure for the Grey line tours and the hop on hop off bus. Luckily there is an information center about a block from the hotel and they set us up with a delightful Toru Express tour. Later we needed help making dinner reservations, but no one answered the phone at the concierge desk or the main desk. We then went down to the lobby and waited until someone came back to the concierge desk.
The room was adequate, but nothing special. The cruise ships block the views from many of the harborside rooms, so you are looking into staterooms on the ships, not the water. The hotel doesn't have an executive or concierge lounge.
Taxis were readily available next to the ship and all along the wharf area. After one night, we moved to the Sky Grand. Rooms at the Sky Grand were comparable at one third the price and the location was very convenient. The Hilton was definitely not worth the steep price given the long wait for a room, small room, haughty attitude and the lack of service.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lextraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Kentucky, Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. Contrary to what you have experienced, we truly value our guests and I request with respect that you provide additional feedback to me directly at email ryan.mikkelson@hilton.com. The team and I sincerely regret that we did not deliver a better experience for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
208 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Although the location of this hotel is great for cruise ship passengers, the overall value and service are poor. The hotel price is over $450 NZ and the hotel was actually fully booked due to cruise ship arrivals and departures. The hotel staff was rude and seemed to think that because they were fully booked, guests should just accept being treated poorly. When we asked the concierge for tour ideas he tossed a couple of brochures at us and moved on to the next person. I had to go to the desk 3 times before I finally received an Internet code that had not already expired. The restroom near the restaurant was dirty and messy due to all the traffic.
Do yourself a favor and take a cab to a far more reasonable hotel that actually wants your business. It is clear that the Hilton does not care about their guests and is not staffed to handle their business needs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cjkines1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Ohio, Thank you for your feedback and I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us. Contrary to what you have experienced, we truly value our guests and I request with respect that you provide additional feedback to me directly email: ryan.mikkelson@hilton.com. The team and I sincerely regret that we did not deliver a better experience for you. I look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards, Ryan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Auckland on January 3rd to begin a cruise on January 4th. I chose the Auckland Hilton due to its proximity to the cruise terminal. It is literally "steps away". I knew the price was higher than surrounding hotels, but the convenience was worth it after a long travel day. The room was small but well appointed and the bathroom was very nice. Our room overlooked the small lap pool, but frankly I wasn't too concerned with the view. After a long flight, I was more concerned with the comfort level of the bed. Thankfully, it did not disappoint. After a good night's sleep, we greatly enjoyed the breakfast buffet (included in our hotel stay). The staff at breakfast were very helpful and the food was quite tasty. We had a half day tour booked the morning of the 4th and asked if we could leave our bags in the room for a late check out. The desk staff were happy to note our room file agreed to the arrangement. We left four our tour and did not get back on time. Our bags were still in our room, (although housekeeping was trying to get the rooms turned over for the guests disembarking the ship we were about to board), we apologized for our late return, grabbed our bags, and walked down the outside corridor to the entrance to the cruise terminal. There was no additional charge for the late departure, the staff were pleasant and accommodating and the location could not have been better. I would recommend this hotel to cruise passengers because of the proximity to the cruise check in area. It is also within a couple of blocks of the Central Business District and shopping. There were ATM's nearby, plenty of dining options and a convenience store at the end of the quay. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sednezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Sednezer,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found our beds to be comfortable. Wonderful to hear that Breakfast was tasty and the hotel was in a convenient location.

Thanks for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Kind Regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
229 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

It's hard to review a room like this, because for those of us that aren't oil or mining tycoons, the pricetag is a once in a lifetime thing, and anything that isn't perfect seems like a letdown.

We were on the 2nd floor, the bottom-most Bow Suite room, however the benefit is that the 'balcony' is huge because it's the basically the roof of the bar on the ground floor. The balcony area must be 3 or 4 times the area of the room & bathroom! Although unless you're inviting 50 people to visit, I guess there's not that much you can do with it all (grin).

The Bow Suites are really all about been right out practically over the water and getting the amazing view. Luckily the weather was good, and it's summer so it's light until late. If we couldn't have gone outside and enjoyed the view with sun out then it would have been a letdown.

The bed was deceptively comfortable, at first it seemed possibly too soft but it was wonderful to sleep on. Lovely bathroom although only one shampoo and one conditioner (yet 3 soaps). You can even see out to the harbour while standing in the shower (see one of the pics attached).

TV picture was surprisingly blurry. Certainly watchable but nothing like the sharp pictures people are used to thesedays. The TV looks modern enough. It also swivels a lot so you can watch it from anywhere in the room except the business desk. I didn't check if it can be raised up a bit, it seemed a bit low when watching it from bed.

The staff were great and the room service meal was very good, and as a bonus there's no delivery fee and you get a glass of iced water each.

Room Tip: There's not many bow suites, level 2 as mentioned has the large outside area and it was nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Director of Business Development at Hilton Auckland, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear glennomeister,

Thank you for posting your review of the hotel, I appreciate your feedback.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and harbour views in one of our Bow Suites and found our beds to be very comfortable. Thank you for your feedback re the TV clarity. I will have our maintenance team follow up on this.

Thanks for staying at Hilton Auckland and I hope we may see you back on future travels.

Kind Regards
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing