We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Auckland
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed in a deluxe harbour view room and the view across the ferry terminal and out to harbour beautiful. Large balcony modern well appointed rooom with huge comfortable king bed. Large great bathroom with gorgeous Evelyn and Crabtree products. Great location and good staff. Only negative we didnt get turn down service as we were told you need to ask for this at check-in This is silly ...doesnt this service automatically come with a 5star hotel? Anyway they were very quick to apologise and compensate for this. Buffet breakfast very ordinary..wouldnt take breakfast again Its a pity as the restaurant is beautiful and views fantastic Also staff in restaurant excellent and so friendly. Try and get a room at water end of hotel so much better in terms of view. Great bar a little pricey though.

Room Tip: use hotels website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    636
    216
    85
    36
See reviews for
236
1,049
148
455
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

The Hilton is at the end of a former shipping wharf that has been converted into a mixed use of hotel, offices and apartments. With water view rooms you will get a view of the nearby container wharf as well as the harbour, however in my mind this is still better than an inner-city hotel with views of the building opposite.

A previous review mentioned that the buffet breakfast was fairly ordinary. Yes it's not a massive and diverse range of everything you could imagine, but it had a good variety to select from, supplies were regularly replenished and an egg chef at the ready. I think you can also gauge a breakfast by the quality of the orange juice and theirs had pulp and tasted very nice.

We also experienced very courteous staff throughout the hotel on our 4 day stay. We also used the gym which had a great variety of exercise machines, plenty of free weights and 2 showers.

We got a free upgrade to a harbour view room which was roomy, had a very comfortable king bed and large bathroom with seperate shower and bath.

Room Tip: Recommend a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
259 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed at the Hilton in Auckland for 4 days in May

First, the location. Its right on the harbor. Many guests have written about seeing ships right outside the room but nothing can prepare you for how close the ships actually are. Luckily, I was warned via a letter left on my bed the night before and I spent most of the day outside. You can reach out and almost touch the ship and if you happen to spend the day at the hotel, you need to keep your curtains drawn. On another note, its location is very close to a few restaurants and bars. There is also a convenience store just a bit round the block

The checkin process was swift and smooth

The rooms are very very basic. In Asia, this would probably be a 3 or 3.5 star hotel. The bed is comfortable and the work desk is functional. The bathroom is very basic and comes right out of a 3 star assembly line. The water pressure however is magnificent and strong enough to knock you out of the stall. Toileteries are simple and basic. The high speed Internet is not really that fast

I didn't get much of a chance to try out the room service or the restaurants but did get the chance to go down for breakfast. The service in the dining room was very efficient and very friendly

All in all, a comfortable hotel for a short stay

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adesitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

The best spot in Auckland - quiet rooms - lovely harbour views, clean, close to the city restaurants. Very comfortable rooms - we have only ever stayed harbour side but there are city side rooms as well. The bow suite right at the front is a real experience - HUGE I mean huge balcony - stretched out over the front of the very long room with the most amazing rooms of Auckland harbour. We have stayed around 6 times and can never fault the service at reception or the White Restaurant. If there is ever a probelm - it is sorted very quickly. My only comment is that parts of that restaurant needs renovating - ie floors and chairs - but the breakfast buffet is great. The meals at night a little pricey for what you actually get and probably wouldnt dine again there for a while. But service is great.

Room Tip: Harbour side to see the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemizfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

This Hilton has got it all; great views, nice rooms, top location, great architecture, nice layout. All the staff (room, restaurant, reception, concierge) you deal with are helpful and top class. Food quality is excellent. Rita the waitress was running for us to the kitchen when we mentioned to be in a hurry, reception helped find me the right tools to fix my camera. On business, this hotel gives you a bit of holiday feel with the view on the sea, but then the city view quickly reminds you why you're there in the first place.
Some cons: internet network is put together a bit clumsy and prices tend to be really high sometimes. I'd go there anytime they offer a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinz-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

It was our first visit to New Zealand and we arrived at 5am local time in Auckland following a flight on Air New Zealand from LAX. I had written the hotel the week before mentioning that we'd likely show up early and wondered if an early check-in might be possible. I received a nice reply from Travis stating that they would try to accomodate us. On arrival at around 6:30am, we were immediately checked into our room, a very welcome relief after spending about 24 hours traveling from the US east coast.

The room was spacious and had a harbor view. As others have pointed out, this can be the one negative at this hotel. Cruise ships dock around 20 meters from your window, so you can easily see (and wave to) passengers embarking and disembarking. I checked the Auckland cruise schedule on the Web beforehand and we knew that there would be a ship in port for much of the first day of our stay. It was indeed just arriving at port as we checked in. The view from our balcony was obstructed by the ship, but it wasn't particularly problemmatic. We didn't hear any loudspeaker announcements as other reviewers have noted. And the ship left by about 4:30pm that day, yielding a wonderful view of Auckland harbor.

We tried to eat lunch at the hotel's White restaurant, but there was a private function involving the Auckland Orchestra that afternoon. Instead, we ate at Bellinis, the bar on the hotel's ground floor and had excellent meal. The bartender was professional and friendly. In fact, all of the staff - the front desk, concierge, and housekeeping - were helpful and always pleasant. We had breakfast at the White restauarant each morning, as a full buffet was included as a result of my Diamond status. Breakfast was excellent, the buffet was huge, and staff again were pleasant and engaging.

We found the hotel's location to be excellent. It's an easy walk to the central business district and a large array of shops, should one be so inclined. The ferry terminal was minutes away and we took a ferry to Devonport one day for a pleasant visit.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view, but check cruise schedule first
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefftiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

We have recently stayed in this hotel for a few days. It a nice city hotel. Here are a few positives and negatives. Positives first:
1. Rooms are good size and it's very pleasant to be on water's edge.
2. Breakfast is lovely (no high end options but very pleasant).
3. Staff is very friendly
4. Great central location
Negatives:
1. Service is very slow
2. We ordered some room service meals and food quality wasn't acceptable and had to be sent back.
3. Even though decor of the rooms is lovely it is showing age (I believe hotel was built 10 years or so ago and hasn't been touched since then. The floors / shower in the bathroom look a little dirty / aged.
4. Concierge wasn't very knowledgable about the restaurants in Auckland.

Tips: If you are a foodie - try out 'The Grove' - we had a most amazing degustation meal there. Beautiful food and a Very pleasant high end restaurant. On par with the top restaurants around the world.
If you have children - Auckland Zoo is lovely and you'll have a great day taking your children there for a day.

Overall, Hilton Auckland is a very well priced, friendly, pleasant hotel. If we come back to Auckland we won't hesitate to stay there. But possibly newer options like Westin could be good to try out too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank styleandfashion888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,967 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Auckland

Property: Hilton Auckland
Address: 147 Quay Street | Princes Wharf, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#7 Business Hotel in Auckland
#8 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Auckland 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Auckland sits on the iconic Princes Wharf 300 meters out into the Waitemata Harbour. Enjoy views over the city or past the harbour to the Hauraki Gulf. Take a trip from the nearby Ferry terminal or enjoy the fun at the nearby Viaduct or Britomart precincts. Whether for business or leisure, Hilton Auckland is ideally located on the vibrant Auckland waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Hilton
Hilton Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing