We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, average room”
Reviewed November 6, 2008

There is no doubt the BWNP has been around for some time just looking at the furnishings.
We stayed in a 2room unit which had good kitchenette facilities and 2kingsize beds.
Location was excellent and surprisingly quiet the 2 nights we spent there.
However certain furniture looked slightly dated and the door needed to be pulled to ensure it shut compared to others which automatically slam shut.
Our SkyTv reception was terrible but the other room's TV was good.
Reasonably happy for the price we paid.

  • Liked — location, location, location
  • Disliked — TV reception
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    451
    314
    94
    69
See reviews for
245
424
111
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2008

We stayed in a 2 bed 'deluxe' apartment. Our bedroom was so small I couldn't walk around to my side of the bed I had to climb over the bed to get in. The apartment had an awful damp smell with paint peeling off the wall. The shower fitting fell off the wall in the bath whilst trying to adjust the shower head! The furniture was old and there was only one two seater sofa between a family of 4. The Sky TV was extremely limited. We were only staying a few nights thank goodness and the weather was good so we didn't need to spend too much time in the room. The only positive thing I can think of is it is a good location. It's a hotel in need of renovation. We definitely will never stay at a Best Western Hotel anywhere again. If this was their definition of deluxe I would hate to stay in a standard room!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The damp smelling two bed DELUXE apartment
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy6163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

northeast england
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

Downtown location makes a great base for exploring the city. This is smack bang in the middle of town so expect a little noise, but I found this hotel to be reasonable value for money over my 4-night stay.

Rooms are a bit dated but functional, good kitchen area, spacious bathroom. Decor is pretty dull and the beds were average, but for the money I thought this hotel represented a good value way to explore Auckland for a few days.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank markismith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

WE stayed at the Best Western President for 5 nights and stayed on the 13th floor in a one bedroom unit. Although the unit was "tired", everything was clean and it had the best bed and pillows I have ever used before. The hotel is so close to everything, tour buses collect you from the door and the casino is only a 2 minute walk away. We would be happy to stay there again just for the location.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — needed sprucing up a bit
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork lass
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Dingey, yeuchy, cigarette smelling, dive that i would never recommend to anyone! Fantastic location but plenty of other hotels on the same street that we could have chosen!
Peeling paint, battered cheap furniture that was possibly donated, doors that jammed, lukewarm water and outside noise and rubbish smell. Greasy breakfast but pleasant staff!
Just arrived off the plane and travelled the two islands of NZ with stops in Aussie and Kuala Lumpar en route. Not a great start to wot turned out to be the best holiday ever....

  • Liked — The exit!
  • Disliked — The entry!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsJoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We stayed at the President during March 08. The hotel was quite run down, the photo's on the website must be from one of the best rooms in the hotel as our room was nothing like that! Limited tv channels on the TV, certainly no SKY TV. The underground car parking is arkward to find the first time as it is accessed from a side road. The gym was a joke, a small room that could hold a maximum of three gym users at any one time. On the plus side the hotel is very close to the SKY Tower and also Queen Street for the shopping.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — condition of the rooms/general hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank surfboyNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2008

We stayed in a family unit. We had planned to stay a couple of nights, but after one night we had to leave. The customer service was absolutely appauling. For example, we were required to pay for a parking spot in the under ground parking. When we tried to park, our Land Cruiser would not fit. When we asked for a refund, we were told that we should have told them that we had a large vehicle. Eventually a refund was offered, but it was like pulling teeth. We got this attitude from more than one of the front desk staff. The room was also no great shakes. The place is in desperate need of a renovation. The sink plug was missing and it just did not have a sense of cleanliness.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,025 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing