We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“large rooms, central city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
christchurch nz
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“large rooms, central city”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

In a very good location with Sky City Casino a couple of blocks away, a supermarket just along the street, and handy to Queen Street. Walk to every where easily. Large rooms , good bed, even a small kitchen.Soap and shampoo dispensers empty in bathroom. Got breakfast included at a reasonable price. A good plain hotel at a good price.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpro5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    456
    316
    94
    72
See reviews for
246
427
114
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We (group of 3 women) stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment for 3 nights in February. I love the location - everything is very walkable and we were just 3 short blocks from Albert Park when the Festival of Lanterns was on - that was amazing. We were not impressed with the in-suite clothes washer and dryer which was unfortunate because it was a large factor in booking that specific apartment - both the washer and dryer took a very long time. A better option for us would have been to just use the community laundry facilities on a different floor of the hotel. Also, the street noise over the weekend we were there was quite loud (even though we were on the 11th floor) since the hotel is directly across the street from a sit-down bungy ride attraction and it seemed to be most active around midnight. I wasn't as bothered by the noise as my co-travelers were - for me it was just part of the Auckland experience! It was great having a grocery store only a couple of doors down the street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Over the coming months we are undertaking a sound proofing project throughout the entire hotel to better sound proof all our rooms from outside noise. the dryers and washers in all our rooms a standard machines found in most households within New Zealand and are a standard fit out in most hotels as well. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My sisters and I stayed in a 2 bedroom unit for 3 nights and loved it. The location is great - only a few steps away from great eateries plus a Countdown (also known as Woolworths and Safeway in other countries) and a convenience store. The staff were friendly and helpful, the unit was clean and spacious, and the location was, once again, great. We didn't have breakfast in the restaurant downstairs as we had a kitchen in our unit and cooked for ourselves. The kitchen was well stocked and there was a clothes washer and dryer in the bathroom. Plus it's only half a block or so from the Sky Tower. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozziegirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We see from your comments you stayed in one of our well appointed 2 Bedroom Apartments and enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again for taking the time for providing feedback. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights whilst in Auckland.
Great location, round the corner from Queen Street where Airbus drops you off (stop 6).
Hotel is located next to lots of shops, places to eat etc.
Spacious rooms with separate kitchen area with fridge, kettle, microwave, dishes and cutlery etc.
Very clean. Great value for money.
Staff were helpful.
WiFi was an issue for me, the lobby offers 30mins free each day. I paid extra to use wifi in the room, kept dropping connection, contacted the provider to no avail. Manager did refund the payment though.
At check in, i was given a $4 off breakfast buffet each day (normal price $20). Good selection; Croissants, muffins, tinned fruits, cereals, yogurt, fruit juices, cheese slices (wrapped). Hot selection included tomato, baked beans, hash browns, fried eggs (bit crispy), bacon (really fatty and poor looking cuts), chicken sausages (not for me). I think the quality of the hot selection could be better. I did see couples complaining about the breakfast not being warm enough but mines was ok. Next morning, i went to one of the local restaurants.
Had a good stay though but wifi and breakfast let it down for me.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daren777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us,
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

We are aware of the WIFI issues and our supplier is currently resolving this, we had the entire hotel refitted with a new network, unfortunately there are some minor issues with the network needing to be fine tuned and this is currently being done by the manufacturer of the equipment. In regards to your comment of the breakfast we apologize if it was not to your liking however we pride ourselves for providing a full buffet breakfast at a very competitive rate in comparison to other inner city hotels who charge around double what we do.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

Yours sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked our 2 bedroom family unit via Expedia which showed the hotel had parking for $20 per night. We arrived at the hotel only to be told we hadn't booked a carpark and there were none available. When I queried the fact that we were not aware we had to book the carpark the receptionist told us "your travel agent should have told you that" - aahh hold on a minute - I am the travel agent !!! and nowhere on the expedia website does it tell me I have to pre-book the carpark - perhaps you need to correct that rather than dis the travel agent ! I did check the hotel's actual website on our return and noticed it was stated on there - but why would I need to check the hotels website if I'm booking on Expedia. The whole parking experience was a pain in the backside to be honest - we were give one carpark number (after having to park in a nearby parking building for our first night) only to arrive and someone else was in it. It seemed that the whole weekend people had to leave their keys at reception and the cars were constantly being shifted around. Not good when it's a rental car and we're responsible for any possible damage!

The 2 bedroom family apartment we booked was extremely stuffy. The second bedroom had no windows, no air-conditioning and only a fan to cool the room - not really adequate. Also the lock on one of the bedroom doors didn't work - it could only be opened from the inside.

The hotel is clean and tidy,in a good location and also very good value for money but the parking issue, the receptionist bagging my travel agent for not telling me about the parking and the cell with no windows and no air-conditioning really put me off.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DITZYDORIS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us at BEST WESTERN President Hotel, Auckland. I wish to again apologize in regards to the issue with parking and seeing that you had made your reservation on EXPEDIA. I have checked our listing and it does mention that parking is subject to availability ultimately this unfortunately does make it necessary to pre book a car park. Unfortunately our car park does have some restrictions and with some slots we do require to keep the keys in case vehicles have to be moved, and I wish to assure you that as per our policy only senior managers are allowed to move vehicles. We do hope that we will be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely


Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband purchased a grabone deal for $110 and this included breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised with the space in room 409. A separate bedroom with king bed, wardrobe, drawers and safe. Large lounge with a pullout sofa bed, TV, writing desk. The room is dated but clean and has all the necessities, ironing board & iron, microwave and cups & plates and jug. I am impressed that they use dispensers for soap and shampoo (I always find the small wrapped soaps a waste). No outlook from the windows but wasn't required. Our full breakfast was great and plenty of choice. Parking can be pre booked for $20 as limited. This hotel is one if the most central in the CBD. Staff were very friendly. Well done Best Western.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us, we see you had purchased one of the Grabone deals we had running it is pleasing to read that you had enjoyed your stay, with regards to soap and shampoo dispensers it always pleases us to read that our guests realize the benefits of these as the small bottles don't usually contain much shampoo but also the dispensers are much better the environment. We are progressively upgrading our rooms and have recently fitted them out with brand new Smart LED TV's. Over the coming year we will be making further improvements to our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice, clean hotel in a great central location to explore the city. Kitchenette was quite handy for preparing packed lunches etc and room had all amenities you would expect from a city center hotel. Would recommend for anyone looking for a reasonably priced, clean, basic hotel within walking distance of Auckland's sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embarpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, all feedback is welcome and we value this in assisting us to better our services and facilities. Over the coming 12 months we will be undertaking many projects to improve our offering and we hope to welcome you back in the near future so you may have the opportunity to enjoy these new benefits of staying with us.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 67 in Auckland
950 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing