We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOOK YOUR PARKING !!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BOOK YOUR PARKING !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

I booked our 2 bedroom family unit via Expedia which showed the hotel had parking for $20 per night. We arrived at the hotel only to be told we hadn't booked a carpark and there were none available. When I queried the fact that we were not aware we had to book the carpark the receptionist told us "your travel agent should have told you that" - aahh hold on a minute - I am the travel agent !!! and nowhere on the expedia website does it tell me I have to pre-book the carpark - perhaps you need to correct that rather than dis the travel agent ! I did check the hotel's actual website on our return and noticed it was stated on there - but why would I need to check the hotels website if I'm booking on Expedia. The whole parking experience was a pain in the backside to be honest - we were give one carpark number (after having to park in a nearby parking building for our first night) only to arrive and someone else was in it. It seemed that the whole weekend people had to leave their keys at reception and the cars were constantly being shifted around. Not good when it's a rental car and we're responsible for any possible damage!

The 2 bedroom family apartment we booked was extremely stuffy. The second bedroom had no windows, no air-conditioning and only a fan to cool the room - not really adequate. Also the lock on one of the bedroom doors didn't work - it could only be opened from the inside.

The hotel is clean and tidy,in a good location and also very good value for money but the parking issue, the receptionist bagging my travel agent for not telling me about the parking and the cell with no windows and no air-conditioning really put me off.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DITZYDORIS1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us at BEST WESTERN President Hotel, Auckland. I wish to again apologize in regards to the issue with parking and seeing that you had made your reservation on EXPEDIA. I have checked our listing and it does mention that parking is subject to availability ultimately this unfortunately does make it necessary to pre book a car park. Unfortunately our car park does have some restrictions and with some slots we do require to keep the keys in case vehicles have to be moved, and I wish to assure you that as per our policy only senior managers are allowed to move vehicles. We do hope that we will be able to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely


Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    432
    298
    89
    62
See reviews for
240
402
104
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband purchased a grabone deal for $110 and this included breakfast. I was pleasantly surprised with the space in room 409. A separate bedroom with king bed, wardrobe, drawers and safe. Large lounge with a pullout sofa bed, TV, writing desk. The room is dated but clean and has all the necessities, ironing board & iron, microwave and cups & plates and jug. I am impressed that they use dispensers for soap and shampoo (I always find the small wrapped soaps a waste). No outlook from the windows but wasn't required. Our full breakfast was great and plenty of choice. Parking can be pre booked for $20 as limited. This hotel is one if the most central in the CBD. Staff were very friendly. Well done Best Western.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBarrsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us, we see you had purchased one of the Grabone deals we had running it is pleasing to read that you had enjoyed your stay, with regards to soap and shampoo dispensers it always pleases us to read that our guests realize the benefits of these as the small bottles don't usually contain much shampoo but also the dispensers are much better the environment. We are progressively upgrading our rooms and have recently fitted them out with brand new Smart LED TV's. Over the coming year we will be making further improvements to our offerings. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longford, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Nice, clean hotel in a great central location to explore the city. Kitchenette was quite handy for preparing packed lunches etc and room had all amenities you would expect from a city center hotel. Would recommend for anyone looking for a reasonably priced, clean, basic hotel within walking distance of Auckland's sights.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embarpearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, all feedback is welcome and we value this in assisting us to better our services and facilities. Over the coming 12 months we will be undertaking many projects to improve our offering and we hope to welcome you back in the near future so you may have the opportunity to enjoy these new benefits of staying with us.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel's foyer initially gives a poor impression, but the reception staff were very helpful and our room was comfortable and well-equipped, with the bonus of a kitchenette, which was surprising for a City Centre hotel. The hotel was well-positioned for all the Auckland attractions and was very clean, with reliable elevators, and we found the room quiet. It was easy to locate the hotel as it was next to the Sky Tower.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_n_Fair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed here recently when we went to the Bruce Springsteen concert. It's clean, comfortable and the buffet breakfast is pretty good. I would recommend this place if you wanted to stay somewhere local in Auckland, and not pay too much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyC70_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
151 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The perfect place to recover from our travels, at a reasonable enough cost so booking an extra night (for morning check-in) was not an issue. Our suite was well-equipped, including kitchen facilities and attractive (basic) furnishings; the bed was comfortable. We were a bit disappointed to pay for WiFi, especially when it was slow, but the tech help person was very responsive when we expressed concerns. Location was optimal for walking to many city sights, and for catching the Link bus when we wanted to go further. Couldn't ask for more for the money.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night with partner, mum in law and adult niece. Booked. 2 bed room which Suited us perfectly for one night. Excellent location, friendly staff and clean. The room wasn't fancy but was clean, and spacious enough. Staff were helpful and we arrived a bit early, so they let us check in as room was ready. Easy walk down to waterfront and awesome central spot. Would stay here again if we needed a well priced bed in the city with no frills

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank FinchyNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time in providing feedback regarding your recent stay at our property.
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.


Sincerely,

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
Rydges
Rydges
#15 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 68 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing