We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, fantastic customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #27 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location, fantastic customer service”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We arrived at the Best Western Auckland off a 5am flight into the country, exhausted but excited to be in New Zealand. Raj provided amazing customer service from the moment we arrived. He was there at the front desk with a smile and offered great suggestions for activities in the area. He also went out of his way to find a room for us even though check-in is usually much later. Raj and the rest of the Best Western staff were really wonderful. Thank you for making our stay so pleasant. We found the room to be very comfortable, decent-sized, equipped with small kitchenette, and in a perfect location in city center. We couldn't have asked for more! Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive comments, especially about, I have passed on your feedback to him which is highly encouraging. We always strive to go that extra mile for our all our guests and assist wherever possible. We thank you for staying with us and are looking forward to your return in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    446
    309
    92
    66
See reviews for
242
418
110
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late (close to midnight, when the reception was due to close). However, the staff took their time to explain everything and we were given a room with a beautiful view of the Skytower. The rooms hve been refurbished but are clean and tidy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank davvygravvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on our establishment, I have personally passed on your comments to the concerned departments. We always strive to ensure we offer the highest standard of service to all our guests to ensure a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night to carry out our Auckland city tour before we drove down to Hamilton. We got one bedroom suite. It was adequate for our stay. Right in the middle of downtown and next to the Sky tower. All tours stop at this hotel . We didn't try the breakfast.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bearbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and from your comments I see you have enjoyed your stay. On your next visit do try our buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Best Western in Auckland. The best thing about the hotel is the location, it is very close to all of the major attractions. The room is basic and clean. The staff is courteous. Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleyville_TXAngjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. It is always a joy to be reading positive comments from our guests and it encourages our team every time to satisfy our guests in every way.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The top floor room I was given could use massive updating but it was clean. The elevator did not engender confidence but it worked to get me where I needed to go. The location was convenient but avoid arriving at rush hour if you have a car as it took 45 minutes to get to front door from a couple of blocks away. The car park is as tight as I have ever experienced so be comfortable squeezing in should you use it for the $20 fee charged. While not effusive, the staff were efficient. If the price is right, there is nothing offensive about the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VinceTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

My apology Thank you for your comments in your review, it will assist us in constantly improving our facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. I booked a triple share room (as that was all I could get as I booked it the night before we arrived) however, upon check in we were given a 2 bedroom suite on the 6th floor.

The hotel itself is basic, but clean. The room had a small kitchenette which had a microwave and small fridge and some crockery/cups/utensils. One bedroom had 2 single beds and the main bedroom had a queen size bed. Both bedrooms were very spacious and the windows in the main bedroom opened so you could get fresh air.

The air conditioning unit is an older style, it was a little noisy but it did the job and kept the room nice and cool.

You do get free wifi daily, but only available for about an hour and in the reception area.

Parking is available, you have to check in first and they will give you directions. It is $20/day and is in a secure carpark beneath the hotel.

*Just note that you can't park right out the front of the hotel as it is a bus stop. There is a loading zone just before the bus stop but beware of the parking rangers.

Location..................
Well, really, you couldn't ask for a more central location. Right downstairs in the hotel lobby you have a 7 Eleven (which is a little more expensive than a supermarket) but to the left of the hotel about 20 metres away is a Countdown (like a Woolworths) supermarket.
To walk down to the harbour is a nice and easy 10 mins max (its about 900metres walk) along Queen Street.
Sky Tower is 1 block away (it is an uphill walk) and transport is available right out the front of the hotel.

If you want a casual but nice place for dinner, just to the right of the hotel is an Italian Restaurant called A Little Italy. Lovely restaurant and the pizzas were great. Even better that the owner came around to all the tables while they were eating to ask if the food was ok!

So a great hotel for the money - would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your splendid review, it is much appreciated to see such an extensive review from one of our guests. It clearly shows that you had enjoyed your stay and that you had found our services and facilities adequately suiting your needs during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel brand is not one I would normally stay at, but due to most other hotels being booked for the weekend that I was in Auckland I was left with little choice. The location is excellent, just down from the Skytower and metres away from Queen Street, so very central to attractions. It was also one of few hotels that could accommode 3 x singles, not many hotels within Auckland offered this type of setup without having to book several rooms. I think the price was a bit steep for what we got, however it was very central, was clean and tidy. The beds are not comfortable however and it is a very noisy hotel - both from within and outside. They can't control the noise outside but it did feel like the walls must have been made from paper they were so thin!!! Overall it met our needs for one night, but I probably wouldn't consider staying here again if for longer due to the noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rt_zooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, in regards to city noise, we are rolling out sound proofing for the entire hotel in 2014. In terms of our room rates, we wish to advise that they are very competitive and are based on our location and product offering. We have replaced our mattresses recently to more firm ones. In general we are delighted about your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#50 of 67 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#14 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,999 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Property: Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing