We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #31 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We arrived very late (close to midnight, when the reception was due to close). However, the staff took their time to explain everything and we were given a room with a beautiful view of the Skytower. The rooms hve been refurbished but are clean and tidy.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank davvygravvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent feedback on our establishment, I have personally passed on your comments to the concerned departments. We always strive to ensure we offer the highest standard of service to all our guests to ensure a memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

739 - 745 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night to carry out our Auckland city tour before we drove down to Hamilton. We got one bedroom suite. It was adequate for our stay. Right in the middle of downtown and next to the Sky tower. All tours stop at this hotel . We didn't try the breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank bearbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent review of BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland, it was a pleasure having you as our guests and from your comments I see you have enjoyed your stay. On your next visit do try our buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed one night at the Best Western in Auckland. The best thing about the hotel is the location, it is very close to all of the major attractions. The room is basic and clean. The staff is courteous. Good value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleyville_TXAngjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay at the BEST WESTERN President Hotel Auckland. It is always a joy to be reading positive comments from our guests and it encourages our team every time to satisfy our guests in every way.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

The top floor room I was given could use massive updating but it was clean. The elevator did not engender confidence but it worked to get me where I needed to go. The location was convenient but avoid arriving at rush hour if you have a car as it took 45 minutes to get to front door from a couple of blocks away. The car park is as tight as I have ever experienced so be comfortable squeezing in should you use it for the $20 fee charged. While not effusive, the staff were efficient. If the price is right, there is nothing offensive about the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VinceTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

My apology Thank you for your comments in your review, it will assist us in constantly improving our facilities and services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. I booked a triple share room (as that was all I could get as I booked it the night before we arrived) however, upon check in we were given a 2 bedroom suite on the 6th floor.

The hotel itself is basic, but clean. The room had a small kitchenette which had a microwave and small fridge and some crockery/cups/utensils. One bedroom had 2 single beds and the main bedroom had a queen size bed. Both bedrooms were very spacious and the windows in the main bedroom opened so you could get fresh air.

The air conditioning unit is an older style, it was a little noisy but it did the job and kept the room nice and cool.

You do get free wifi daily, but only available for about an hour and in the reception area.

Parking is available, you have to check in first and they will give you directions. It is $20/day and is in a secure carpark beneath the hotel.

*Just note that you can't park right out the front of the hotel as it is a bus stop. There is a loading zone just before the bus stop but beware of the parking rangers.

Location..................
Well, really, you couldn't ask for a more central location. Right downstairs in the hotel lobby you have a 7 Eleven (which is a little more expensive than a supermarket) but to the left of the hotel about 20 metres away is a Countdown (like a Woolworths) supermarket.
To walk down to the harbour is a nice and easy 10 mins max (its about 900metres walk) along Queen Street.
Sky Tower is 1 block away (it is an uphill walk) and transport is available right out the front of the hotel.

If you want a casual but nice place for dinner, just to the right of the hotel is an Italian Restaurant called A Little Italy. Lovely restaurant and the pizzas were great. Even better that the owner came around to all the tables while they were eating to ask if the food was ok!

So a great hotel for the money - would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barina80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your splendid review, it is much appreciated to see such an extensive review from one of our guests. It clearly shows that you had enjoyed your stay and that you had found our services and facilities adequately suiting your needs during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This hotel brand is not one I would normally stay at, but due to most other hotels being booked for the weekend that I was in Auckland I was left with little choice. The location is excellent, just down from the Skytower and metres away from Queen Street, so very central to attractions. It was also one of few hotels that could accommode 3 x singles, not many hotels within Auckland offered this type of setup without having to book several rooms. I think the price was a bit steep for what we got, however it was very central, was clean and tidy. The beds are not comfortable however and it is a very noisy hotel - both from within and outside. They can't control the noise outside but it did feel like the walls must have been made from paper they were so thin!!! Overall it met our needs for one night, but I probably wouldn't consider staying here again if for longer due to the noise.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rt_zooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us, in regards to city noise, we are rolling out sound proofing for the entire hotel in 2014. In terms of our room rates, we wish to advise that they are very competitive and are based on our location and product offering. We have replaced our mattresses recently to more firm ones. In general we are delighted about your comments and hope to welcome you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is nothing flash but is very clean and serviceable. The location is very central to the main street and walking distance to the Quay. The only thing i will complain about is the tv. The had the volume set very low so that you could hardly hear it,my husband has hearing problems so couldn't hear it at all. when we asked about the volume they said it was set from sony that way. Don't really believe this but they weren't willing to help.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana1205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you very much for your review, it is always a pleasure to be reading positive feedback from any of our guests. Again I wish to however apologize about the television, unfortunately as we had mentioned, Sony have set up these TV's for hotel use and that means they have adjusted the volume to a average setting of 30 for the volume which we feel is appropriate and ensures that guests in other rooms are not disturbed by loud volumes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Desk Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
746 reviews
0.4 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#41 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $96 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing