We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Affordable in the CBD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My wife and I chose this hotel because it afforded convenient access to offices we needed to visit downtown. We found this hotel to be clean and comfortable, and the price to be fairly affordable given its location.

We were fairly impressed with the prompt and thorough attention that was paid to our special requests for extra towels and writing materials. They attended to that immediately and fulfilled all our requests.

The only negative point, and it is not within the hotel’s direct control, is the level of street noise during the night. We were there on Thursday through Saturday nights, making us residents during a part of the week where people would be most likely to visit pubs and such. The level of street noise due to revelers was quite high and lasted for a long time; partying goes on until 5:30 am, then the street cleaners come out to shoo the revelers away but substitute their own kind of noise. Neither my wife or I are particularly bothered by noise such as this; we did not lose any sleep over it. However, travelers should be aware of this point and ask questions of the hotel staff if this is a sore point. We were on the sixth floor, mind you.

We used the Internet facility on the ground floor of the hotel as our Internet access point. The Internet there is slow and a little clunky, but it was adequate to our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaiusJulius29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

865 - 871 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2011

Situated slap-bang in the middle of the CBD, with the entrance hidden nicely among a parade of shops, this is a functional place to stay that's walking distance to the upcoming Britomart area and the train/bus station.

The Good
- seriously, noth I'd call good here

The Bad
- The bed; very soft, very thin pillows, a mere sheet and thin blanket for covering
- the bedroom; not decoration at all (no pictures or paintings on the wall); a whitewased room with a bed, a small 'kitchenette' area, en-suite bathroom and a dek with an old (14inch) TV that could not pick up a single channel clearly.
- The batroom, along witht he bedroom, had no design whatsoever. A small sink with a mirror over it, a toilet and a shower; walls painted white, lino on the floor and a few towels.
- no interconnectin (wired or wireless) at all

I could go on with the bad for ages, but it's not worth it; it's a very old and decrepit hotel that needs new furniture, a paint job and some interior desing. This was not a cheap hotel, but to feel that you've walked into a hostel, is unacceptable

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonnywaheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed at the Best Western for two nights over one weekend for a ladies weekend. We had a 2 bedroom apartment room. We had four adults in the room and we found the room fantastic for our needs. The lounge areaand kitchen were spacious and nicely fitted out. We faced the reverse bungy across the road and had the fun of watching people flying past our 9th floor windows.

There were a few minor issues with our stay. You must take ear plugs because it is a noisy part of town. I did and had no problems at all going to sleep.

If you have a large car you must not stay here. The carpark is unbelieveably tight. Stupidly they have sold a carpark space to a nearby store owner that almost blocks the lower parking area, we bearly squeezed past.

We watched a movie one night and it was $14 and the volume on the tv doesn't really go loud enough for everyone to hear.

Over all, I was really pleased with our stay. If you are planning a weekend away and need a bit more space would recommend the two bedroom apartment room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiChick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

right in the center of town, few steps from sky tower. efficiant and helpful staff. great value for money.
we had some problem finding it. even people who live nearby, couldn't direct us to it.
the sign of Best Western is very modest, we were standing under it not realising it's there.

Room Tip: reserv your car park in advance. it's not free
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morchyshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

I booked this hotel for my parents. Had a special price as they were staying more than 7 days. Also got a 1 bedroom apartment for the price of a studio.
The apartment was spacious, had a TV in the lounge but only one couch.
Room was ok, clean sheet.
Batroom clean with towels.
Location is very good if you are not planning as driving as this is located in the central city, close to everything and the sky tower.
In average good price, staff friendly but NO parking around.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rei88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Afternoon staff were rude, night staff were pleasant.

The rooms had paper thin walls and everything inside and out could be heard, including the dumpsters in the back alley cleaning up, not to mention the "neighbours" next door.

If you are self driving (outside of a mini or motorbike), take another half star off your stay, as parking was fierce and few and far between.

I think Best Western should review this one.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Overall, I had a great experience and would definitely return to the hotel.
Value for money, great location, hot showers and rooms were clean and comfortable.
The bad part was the noise from the street at ungodly hours. My room was on the first floor but I guess this is out of bounds from the hote's end.
Also, I must say that I did not feel welcome at the reception. Service was not up to standard and staffs were unfriendly and not helpful.
Having said this, I would like to compliment the manager on duty, Bruce Macpherson. He’s the only one who is friendly, sincere and helpful with the guests.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#24 of 66 in Auckland Central
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $95 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing