We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Surrey Hotel
Nearby Hotels
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
$200
$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$170
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$114
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$122
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$128
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$145
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Quality Hotel Parnell(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$110
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveler rating
28
58
70
20
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
58
70
20
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor styleindoor poolprivate courtyardauckland zooeden parkbit dateddecent hotelponsonby roadgood nights sleeptop floorfull kitchencitydeficienciessupermarketcheckincafes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 194 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The room i stayed in was very clean - suited our needs (4 adults and 2 children). Close to the Zoo and The City. Indoor pool was handy to room - very secure. Staff was friendly, helpful, and nothing was a bother.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

The service was friendly and helpful
The room was fresh clean and perfectly sized for us and our three children
Close to the city and the museum & zoo which was where we wanted to go
We liked the service the best, lovely friendly people!!!
What we didnt like was trying to get our kids out of the indoor pool!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoDave_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

this could be the best place to stay in AK, however the rooms need a good makeover/modernising. more thorough cleaning needed. we needed ear plugs due to noise from great north rd. there was a nest of mice behind our fridge and mouse poop all through the cupboards, i caught four after staff brought me some traps. cupboards and fittings are all falling apart, the kingside bed had two single mattresses meaning the area in the middle was un-sleepable. i would not recommend this place to anyone unless they lift their game. it is a shame, because there is a supermarket/chemist/post office/and many food places all within a few hundred meters.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynchienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QIWE, Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2010

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay. We apologise that your expectations were not met on this occasion and can only hope that the issues were brought to our attention and that they were dealt with in a friendly and efficient manner. The room type referred to above is a Budget 2 Bedroom Apartment priced from $139 a night. There is only one of this room type in our hotel and we sell this to those that need to accommodate large groups on a budget. This is not a reflection of our overall property as 57 of 77 have been completely refurbished.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I booked a one bedroom apartment but after check in, I asked to be moved to an Executive Studio. The latter appeared to have been renovated, the others were very dated with old furnitures.

The staffs were very friendly and helpful. I got the impression that they really wanted you to have a pleasant stay.

I found the housekeeping had used the room deodourant much too liberally and the cheap perfume permeated everywhere in the premises and irritated my nose somewhat. I had to leave a note to the room attendant not to spray any more in my room.

The breakfast was good, I had a mixed grill almost every morning.

The DVD player could not be linked to the TV, and the hotel couldn't do anything about it.

On the whole it was a pleasant and comfortable stay, not to mention good value for money.

Will certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank engam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

We arrived here late at night after a flight from Singapore and were initially disappointed by the appearance of our rooms - we are a family of 5 and had a two bedroom family room. The wallpaper was peeling and some was missing entirely. However, the bedding and towels were clean and as we paid around £45 we considered it to be good value for money. The staff were extremely helpful and the hotel was well positioned for a supermarket and catching the bus into Auckland. We actually did make use of the swimming pool and the children found it most enjoyable. It was certainly not the highlight of our holiday however it was certainly acceptable.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelbunnyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews