We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SKIN CRAWLING”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Surrey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Surrey Hotel
Ranked #43 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
south
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SKIN CRAWLING”
Reviewed December 11, 2008

This place looked ok on the website but do not be fooled. After travelling from London with my young family we were horrified to find that our 2 room unit was way below our expectations. We were all tired and had just paid out nearly $100 to get to this hotel from the airport. (It is quite a distance) but we realised quite quickly that we would be unable to stay. Whilst it had been cleaned on the surface it was clearly in need of a complete overhaul. It was filthy behind the beds etc and the stench or urine was unbearable. Wallpaper was peeling from the walls and it was generally run down. Even the reception area was covered in cobwebs and needed a thorough clean. There were also safety issues due to the fact that we were unable to secure the door from the inside. Whilst no-one would have been able to open the door from the outside, our children could have easily opened the door from the inside and let themselves out. We would not have slept a wink all night. The hotel advertises a swimming pool however we did not see anyone using it - It didnt look that clean either and it was about the size of a postage stamp. Having said all this if you are backpacker wanting to slum it for a night, this may be ok for you.

Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank sedgiehaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    53
    66
    18
    15
See reviews for
65
45
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay Of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We booked this hotel through a discounted hotels website the day before we arrived and chose it from reading the reviews on this site.

On arrival at the Hotel they did not have any record of our booking (not their fault), so they upgraded us to a superior room at no extra charge. The rooms were a good size with modern bathroom and excellent power shower. The room was also equipped with large plasma TV, iron & board & coffee/tea facilities.

The Hotel has a small indoor pool and gym but we did not use these.

We had the cooked breakfast in the morning which was average but pretty fair for the price of $11 (if you book it the night before)

We only stayed the one night but will return as a good location for the rugby ground.

Nice and friendly staff made this a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Location & Service received
  • Disliked — The irritating loud music at breakfast
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biglobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

This hotel eventhough not central, about 5 mile away from downtown, is nice and was a good start to tour NZ. Check-in was quick and efficient, very nice and friendly staff, very responsive. Room was very basic but clean and comfortable. There is an indoor pool right in the midddle of the building and very close to the rooms, it could be annoying if there are children playing in the pool. If it's the case I would recommend that you request a room away from it.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JayD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2006

The hotel has good sized rooms, good bathrooms, is well decorated and is a reasonable price. It is not central, but it is close to a main bus route to the city centre. We didn't really use the hotel's facilities much as we spent most of the time in the city centre, but the bar seemed popular when we went past once.

All in all a good place for good value sightseeing, but not for you if you want the city centre on your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hywel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 26, 2005

Date: December 28, 2005
Reviewer: A seasoned US traveler

We recently returned from a 5 day stay at the Quality Inn West End at the Ritz Carlton. The hotel is a very pleasant old fashioned hotel. We stayed in a lovely new apartment in the back of the hotel. It had a kitchenette, fully equipped, a living room with TV and couch and a bedroom with small TV. The entire apartment was newly decorated in a very comfortable style. The apartment even had a small private patio with a table and chairs. We used it one warm morning to have our breakfast outside. There is a bus stop right in front of the hotel and it is a short ride into Auckland. The surrounding suburbs were a short ferry ride from Auckland and are quite beautiful. The hotel has a restaurant and the service was quite good. The staff were very accomodating and helpful. The hotel has an interesting indoor pool. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
2.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
651 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
659 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 66 in Auckland
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
2.1 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland
86 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#48 of 66 in Auckland
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Property: The Surrey Hotel
Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing