We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in Tudor style”
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Surrey Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent two nights in this quaint hotel. They have tried to keep true to style and manage this pretty well. The downstairs lounge has olde world furniture and high ceilings with heavy dark beams. The large old mantelpiece sits above an endless electric 'fire' and is guarded by two old Ejnglish bulldogs- a nice touch. Our room was clean and the bathroom modern. Although there's only an electric jug and tea/coffee making facilities in the room, these were replenished daily. The staff we extremely friendly and helpful, always with a smile on their faces. Breakfast in the dining room was buffet style and delicious. Only the coffee could have been better. The chef is an excellent baker as well, evidenced by melt-in-the-mouth cheese scones and a variety of muffins freshly baked each morning. Our room was upstairs and was very quiet and peaceful. There is a lift but only to the first floor and we had a second floor room. However the stairs are not difficult.
Handy to shops and a supermarket is a minute away. It's a pleasant stroll through to Ponsonby with its boutique shops and many eating places. Best of all it's very close to the zoo and Motat. We got an hour's free Wifi each day which was an unexpected bonus not advertised. The hotel provides free newspapers daily and the lady on the front desk kindly printed off walking plans on the computer for us. One day there two conferences were taking place in two different areas - and although the hotel was full, there was no feeling of being crowded or the staff being too busy to attend to our needs. There is a small indoor swimming pool and a gymnasium though the latter was closed for refurbishment when we were there late November 2013. We didn't want for anything and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

The glasses in the cupboard were unwashed, the detergent under the sink was in a 'Pump' drink bottle., which was discovered by my Grandson, who was about to open it when I turned around!!!
The toilet flush button kept sticking down and ran continually, the 2nd bed was not made up although it was booked. Not enough cutlery for one item each.
Reception girl was very pleasant and helpful, the only saving grace.
This hotel is tired and not worth $100.00 a night let alone $189.00 a night !!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We never knew this Hotel existed until be saw it on Grabone and bought a 2 night stay voucher.
The voucher was for 2 adults and 2 children, including full breakfast and 2 drinks each night. We didn't have children --- but this was still an excellent deal.
The Hotel is set out like an Old English pub -- lots of room for conference and groups.
We wanted a Hotel handy to Motat and the Zoo - and this Hotel was ideal.
Some of the fittings may not be up to date -- but everything was clean,well presented and comfortable, and we had everything we needed.Wi-Fi was available in our room, and the first hour was free.We ate in the restaurant on the second night, and the food was very good.
The breakfast buffet was very generous, everything fresh and replenished.Parking was plentiful. Would certainly recommend, and we intend to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morecambegirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed here on a number of occassions with our three kids, they love the pool and spa. The rooms are a generous size and the pub is child friendly. Ideal for the zoo and MOTAT and close to town. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fionn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on wotif.com and spent a couple of nights here as part of our trip to Auckland. The exterior of the hotel could do with a repaint and a little more attention to home furnishings in the room. However the bathroom was very modern with a decent shower. The hotel was in an ideal location for jumping on the bus to get into the city centre. It was also easy to get to the zoo and Motat. The city was busy so the quiet location was good. There was also free car parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crooksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Very attractive appearance both inside and out. Off street parking included. Great rate for so close to Auckland CBD. Excellent breakfast, lovely rooms, friendly and professional staff. There is nothing not to like.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Alex Polizi, the hotel inspector would have a field-day in this hotel with its unkempt grounds, dubious cleaning in parts, outdated furniture, threadbare sheets and what appeared to be low-occupancy. However, for $125 for a night over the weekend which included a bottle of wine, complimentary breakfast and a movie pass plus its central location, it is still very good value and we would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.8 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
308 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
2.1 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
339 reviews
1.6 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland Central, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $131 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing