We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK in Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading UK
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“OK in Auckland”
Reviewed January 18, 2007

We received a friendly welcome at the hotel and the concierge staff were pleasant and helpful throughout our stay. I was a little disappointed with the quality of the rooms we had. They were a little tired looking. There were unsavoury stains on the bedsheets and the carpet looked worn. When we arrived there was a towel on the floor underneath the sink, because it was leaking. However, when
we reported this it was quickly fixed. The breakfast was nice and my children liked the lift!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JewlzReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    821
    201
    42
    19
See reviews for
303
651
121
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

Pretty much what you’d expect from a Crowne Plaza – not over the top, but a very solid hotel. Very clean and modern, with everything in good working order. A large and well-equipped bathroom. Two individually controlled ceiling-mounted reading lights over the bed were a nice touch. One minor nuisance (and my only complaint) -- the only ice available is a small cube tray in the freezer of the minibar fridge. Ours looked like it had collected about a week’s worth of frost on top of the cubes without anyone noticing. The only alternative was to call room service, which wasn’t an appealing option. That's a minor complaint, though. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TorontoTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2007

During my last trip to Auckland I stayed at a variety of hotels. The Crowne Plaza definitely had the best value and location (stayed here, Skycity and Rendezsvous).

The decor of the common areas was beautifully done. The rooms were of decent size albeit slightly outdated.

The hotel restaurant was excellent. We ended up eating all of our meals there except one. If you are looking for good low key food in the area, take a walk to K road and visit Verona (verona.co.nz). They have a mean selection of organic beer!!

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Queen Bed
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beans and Cornbread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We couldn't have been happier with the Crowne Plaza. We flew in very early to be able to check in right away (on a Sunday). The staff was ALWAYS very friendly. Their concierge helped us utilize our one day in Auckland to its fullest. The room (on the top floor) was spacious, clean, nice view, and we loved the flat screen TV. Its central location was very close to the sky tower and a quick walk to the wharf area (where there are many great restaurants and pubs). The bed was very comfortable. Best of all was the club room with great breakfasts and really nice afternoon happy hour (including drinks and food). I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Scoobytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2006

Stayed here for 3 nights from 11.11.06. Room was on the 28 floor. Excellent sized bedroom and bathroom, large LCD TV, nice sitting area, all very spacious. The Club Lounge was great for breakfast, afternoon cakes and evening canapes and drinks with very friendly and polite staff. Did not eat in the Restaurant but the place looked very nice. The bar was good. The Hotel is next to the shopping areas and the Sky Tower, view of Sky Tower from the Club Lounge, and within easy walking distance to the harbour. I used the laundry room whilst here, very easy to use no problems. I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you are looking to stay in a large hotel and would return here if I happened to find myself in Auckland again.

  • Liked — Close to shops, harbour, sky tower etc
  • Disliked — cannot think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — book here
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2006

Spent 2 nights here in December, this was my 2nd stay at this hotel and have never had any problems. It's very clean, the rooms were big and it's close to all the shops and a few minutes walk to the marina area.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_sg0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2006

Only stayed one night at the Crown Plaza - selected based on positive reviews and was not disappointed.

Hotel was fairly full so was happy to have a free upgrade from an exec room to a duplex suite on the 28th floor.

Room was pretty stunning - entrance level had spacious lounge and lots of cubby holes to park cases - best was a glorious balcony with views across Auckland. Upstairs large bedroom, dressing room and huge bathroom with spa bath, shower and the usual robes etc.

Had cocktails in the exec lounge looking over sky tower and bay - very friendly staff and more than happy for you to sample the very good NZ wine on offer. Few canapes - but what was there was very good. Did not eat in hotel - took ferry to Devonport for the evening - good excursion to avoid hustle and bussle of city.

Breakfast again good in lounge - though we were offered the chance to have a full breakfast in the main dining room for just a few extra dollars - plenty in lounge so no need. Also free internet access a bonus (although only one terminal which did tend to get hogged by lonely businessmen!).

All in all - highly recomended as great place to stay - well worth upgrading to exec floor.

  • Liked — Great views, spacious, best location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,303 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing