We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - and fabulous room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 9, 2006

Only stayed one night at the Crown Plaza - selected based on positive reviews and was not disappointed.

Hotel was fairly full so was happy to have a free upgrade from an exec room to a duplex suite on the 28th floor.

Room was pretty stunning - entrance level had spacious lounge and lots of cubby holes to park cases - best was a glorious balcony with views across Auckland. Upstairs large bedroom, dressing room and huge bathroom with spa bath, shower and the usual robes etc.

Had cocktails in the exec lounge looking over sky tower and bay - very friendly staff and more than happy for you to sample the very good NZ wine on offer. Few canapes - but what was there was very good. Did not eat in hotel - took ferry to Devonport for the evening - good excursion to avoid hustle and bussle of city.

Breakfast again good in lounge - though we were offered the chance to have a full breakfast in the main dining room for just a few extra dollars - plenty in lounge so no need. Also free internet access a bonus (although only one terminal which did tend to get hogged by lonely businessmen!).

All in all - highly recomended as great place to stay - well worth upgrading to exec floor.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,569 - 1,575 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2006

I just had to add my kudos to the great reviews already posted here. I booked the Crowne Plaza literally hours before flying out from San Francisco to Auckland. The AirBus (shuttle from airport) stops conveniently right outside the hotel entrance (so you don't have to struggle with your luggage for blocks). The staff were gracious from the start, and the porters took our luggage right away while we checked in at reception. Although we arrived very early at 10am, they whisked us right away to our room so we could take a much-appreciated shower before exploring the city.

The room was spotless, the bathroom was large and well-lit, and the bed was comfortable. The location can't be beat! Right underneath the hotel is the Atrium (large food court and shopping center). Viaduct Harbor, shopping, etc. are all easily within walking distance. Upon checkout, we left our luggage with the porters until the late afternoon without a problem. We were very pleased with this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank peditron9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

Stayed 2 nights at the Crowne Plaza and had high expectations thanks to its no.2 ranking on trip advisor. Unfortunately it was a bit of a let down.

There were a number of good features, nice lobby, good food in restaurant and decent service, nice view over the city and harbour and in a good location.

On the downside, the rooms are pretty unexciting and it really is a trek to get to your car. Overall, the hotel is acceptable but I don't think it deserves it's high rating. It's really just a standard city hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

Was not at all happy with my stay here. It is quite a haul from the parking garage to the front desk, you are dragged through a minimall. We get to our room, seems fine, the bathroom a little old and not all updated, but acceptable.

Then we look at the internet service, in room. Not wireless, and it is charged PER MINUTE. That is totally outrageous. And in addition to that it isn't unlimited data transfer, it was only 50 megabytes. Which would wouldn't even last for transfering some files. Had to call technical support to get the Internet to work, and they couldn't do that, it was a big run around. Complained to the front desk manager and they were unable and unwilling to do anything to help the situation or make it right.

The property was quite disappointing for the crown plaza name. I'd stay away from this place.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank prepaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We arrived from a long airplane ride from Los Angeles. We took the airbus from the airport and the 6th stop is right in front of Crowne Plaza. We arrived at around 8am and didn't expect to check in until 2pm, but the front desk was so kind and immediately showed us to our room. It was great. We asked for day tours and were given choices and the hotel booked it for us. Everyone working there was SUPER nice. I couldn't believe the service! They even recommended restaurants and gave us discount coupons for them. They really went out of their way.
The location was fantasic, close walk to everything. Around the corner from sky tower. I can't imagine staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
16  Thank theallens04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2006

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews here. We were not disappointed. We arrived early, well before check in time and asked if there was any chance we could check in or at least store our luggage. The receptionist apologised and said our allocated adjoining rooms were not ready but if we would accept 2 neighbouring rooms we could get them immediately. Got to say we were very impressed.
Rooms were clean and comfortable with good views of the city.
Staff were friendly and efficient.
Location is excellent for visiting the Sky Tower and harbour area and shops.
Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank amrscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for our first and last nights in New Zealand. While the location of the hotel is ideal for exploring Auckland, I'm amazed that this is the 2nd ranked hotel out of 176 there. The Crowne Plaza Hotel is comfortable, and the staff were friendly and helpful, but the rooms were nothing special. The mattresses were a bit thin, the radio antiquated and the TV small.

I'm wondering who the lucky folks were who got the great views. I asked for a view our second night there and was told that our 18th floor room would offer 'city light views.' Well, if you peered though the space between two large buildings outside the window, you might have seen some neon at night (pretty comparable to the first room we had)!

We didn't want to lug a laptop with us during our trip, so I relied on business centers to check our e-mail and access the Web. Of the four business centers I used in NZ, this was my favorite. It was spacious, had four computers with two printers and only cost NZ $10 for two hours of access - the best price I paid anywhere.

Overall, I would stay there again because of the convenience of the location. Perhaps the folks at Crowne Plaza will see to it to upgrade their rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank trinaunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,883 reviews
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,166 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Address: 128 Albert street | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland Central
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland Central
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $155 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing