We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
SoCal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2006

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in February at the start of our NZ adventure. Great location close to most everything, very nice rooms, but the best part was to share the hotel with both a professional rugby team and a pro basketball team on the same night! The concierge was extremely helpful in getting us tix to the match and in helping us arrange a rental car. The hotel bar also attracts a nice crowd.

  • Liked — Location
  • Tips/Secrets — They have a self service laundry room
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank K2K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    786
    195
    39
    18
See reviews for
290
625
117
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for three nights on a business trip. We found it to be well-appointed, comfortable, has a nice restaurant and the staff were very accommodating.
It has an excellent gym, great guest laundry and our room had a separate shower and bath.
It is a five minute walk to the Viaduct restaurant district and ferry wharves. The main shopping district is a short stroll.
It had the feeling of being well-managed and we enjoyed our time there.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank ozgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stawell, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2006

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Auckland on our arrival to New Zealand before heading on a Campervan Holiday. Check in staff were excellent and helpful. Room was large with 2 double beds. Hotel was close to all city highlights. Great view of the Sky Tower from our room. Rooms were clean and welcoming. Would definetely stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2006

Stayed here for 2 nights while on business in Auckland in a room with a King bed.

Hotel is very well located, right in the middle of the CBD, with excellent shopping only minutes away down on Queen St.

Room was clean, comfortable and roomy.

Only beef is the $NZ30 plus dollars a day for internet, thought it was a bit steep.

I took breakfast the first day in the hotel, but the second day I found a nice cafe with great breakfast for about a 1/3 of the cost.

I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2006

We enjoyed our 2 night stay here. At the time of booking we requested a room with a good view of the city, which is what we got (Club room on the 28th floor). The room was large with a lounge area, and the bathroom was also large, with big shower and seperate bath. There was also a big flat-screen TV in the room. We had everything we needed and the room was very clean. Room service was prompt and of good quality, perhaps trying too hard with some dishes by adding too many ingredients! The Club lounge was a bit of a disappointment after staying at the Crowne Plaza in Christchurch; the breakfast was only average in quality and there was a relatively limited choice.

The concierge was very knowledgable about Auckland, and had our taxi waiting for us on check out.

The location of the hotel was very convenient, a 15 minute walk from the harbour front, and just one block from the Sky Tower which made it easy to go back for the views at night (a tip; if you visit the Sky Tower in the day you can buy a "Sun and Stars" ticket which, for a extra few dollars, allows you to return on any night you choose. They don't advertise this on their prices list, but sell it to you if you ask!).

We highly recommend this hotel as an excellent base for exploring Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Mel_S_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2006

Check in was easy...staff were helpful and friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable. I had a nice bath and just relaxed my last night in Auckland. (Had been driving all evening back from Rotorua.) Got a drink voucher, but didn't use it....got in a bit late. I was able to put my bottle of wine in the refridgerator....and there was coffee and tea for the morning, but I went out for breakfast. Parking was NZ$15 I think...or something close. I also didn't have time to check out the gym like I thought I would. They gave me a late check out with no problem. Also, my phone wouldn't dial direct local calls, and the pay phone in the lobby didn't work either. (No phone card....used the hotel operator to help me make final arrangements for help back to the airport.) I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank companero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2006

Stayed here for a night on two separate stays during my time in NZ.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and check-in was swift. There are some great glass elevators! The rooms are clean and spacious, and the bathroom was of a very good size with all the toiletries you would expect present. The room included a sofa and coffee table, would suggest asking for a non-joining room as the noise occasionally filters through, but not really noticeable. Beds are comfortable and they offer a choice of several pillow types should you want to change.

The location is excellent and a big plus to this hotel, just a couple of blocks from the harbour and also Queen St and Sky City.

A tip is to join the Priority Club (free hotel reward scheme) prior to checking in as they provide a free drinks voucher at check-in to those who are members.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thechinesecockney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,403 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing