We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convinient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Convinient location”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

I often stay in this hotel. The hotel is Ideally situated in the city center, right in the middle of main business and shopping area of Auckland. Rooms are dark and not especially comfortable, service is very uneven. Overall – great location(!); convenient business hotel; major disappointment for business traveler is the very expensive Internet access.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kermadek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    811
    200
    41
    19
See reviews for
300
648
120
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

I treated myself to 3 nights at the Crowne Plaza after a long flight across the Pacific as part of a round the world trip. I walked in in my bedraggled backpacking clothes, and the way the look on the receptionist's face changed from one of horror to one of welcome after I said I had a reservation, was priceless! That said, I found all the staff friendly and efficient, and my room was large, modern and comfortable, as you would expect from a business-type hotel. Nice touches include bath robes and a guest laundry. Breakfast was excellent, although it wasn't included in the room rate and is quite expensive. All in all, the hotel is good value for money for such a fancy hotel, expecially one situated in Auckland city centre (it's just round from the Sky Tower, Queen Street, and the airport bus stops nearby). I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Comfortable room
  • Disliked — Expensive breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mirumir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2008

After a 27 hour flight this hotel was just the ticket. It is easy to find and had plenty of car parking. If you are lucky to get a room at the front of the hotel, you will have really good views over Auckland Harbour.

The hotel itself is in a great location just a short walk away from bars, restaurants and the main shopping area.

We arrived too early to checked in, so after leaving our luggage in the hotel and our car in the secure car park we wondered off for a while. When we did get in to our room it was everything you expect, big, spacious and clean, with a well stocked mini bar and the bathroom smelt clean and fresh.

In the morning we had a very filling buffet breakfast. There was plenty of choice laid out, with lots of fresh fruit, hot food and cereals on offer.

We only stayed the one night and on check out were asked where we ere off to, the receptionist gave us really good directions out of the city.

All in all this is just the place to stay to get over your flight to New Zealand and to set up for your onward journey.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — There is nothing to dislike
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandDinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This hotel was our first place to stay on our two week stay in New Zealand for our honeymoon. We stayed at this hotel 3 nights. This hotel is in a great location in downtown Auckland. It is a block away from Sky Tower. 20 minute walk to the water front. A 20 minute walk to the train station (we took the train to see our first rugby match). There are lots of shops and local restaurants within walking distance. The first 2 stories of the base is a mall. We thought the restaurant was as bit pricey so we didn't eat at the hotel restaurant. The room was very contemporary and spacious in styling. High up you get a great view of the city. Upon returning to our room in the afternoon of the first day the hotel had left a nice plate of cake, strawberries, and "happy Honeymoon" in chocolate for us. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean hotel with great location
  • Disliked — Contemporary design is not warm homey feel. We were comfortable there though.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexiCan_Edge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights following our flight from the UK. It has a very central location - just around the corner from the Sky Tower, above an arcade of shops and with an easy walk to the harbour area. Our room was modern, clean and spacious with good views over the city. The reception staff were welcoming and our room was ready before the stated check in time - great after such a long journey. We used the hotel restaurant on both nights - a good choice of menu and friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing, really
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmandjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Auckland for three nights on our arrival at New Zealand.Check in was quick and easy and pleasurable.All the staff were delightful, particularly in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Our room was spacious and the two queen beds were very welcoming and comfortable. The Crowne Plaza is situated within walking distance to the Sky Tower, wharf. shops, restaurants and public transport. A truly pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchfun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Busy Hotel central next to Sky Tower. Short walk from bus station. Rooms clean and comfortable. 15minute walk to harbour.

  • Liked — Walkable distance to bus station
  • Disliked — City traffic
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKILancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,471 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,267 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing