We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What more could you expect?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What more could you expect?”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

What do you look for in a hotel convenient location

Its got it., less then 5 minutes walk to the Sky tower and a slow leisurely 10 minute wander down to the harbour front, right in the centre of town. However, be warmned Auckland is a bit hilly so if you have limited mobility it might be the easiest city to get round on foot!

Clean bedroom with crips sheets and nice bath room

It's got in spades.

Comfy bed for a good nights sleep, as with the "Intercontinental chain" the beds have a lovely deep and welcoming topper on them which you just sink into but you get firm support underneath from the mattrass, wonderful top marks!

Good food, well I did not eat dinner in the hotel but the there was a excellent buffet breakfast with everything that you would expect, hot and cold for "first and second breakfasts" to quote the hobbits!!

Friendly and helpfull staff: They all exceeded here except they did tried to send me to the wrong museum but put it done to my unusual "English" accent!!

Cost, well as it was a weekend the rate so it was very good too.

So I could not recommend a better situtated and friendly hotel. Would I go back in a flash, well after over 24 hrs in the plane that is!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pair211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear pair211,

Thank-you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are so pleased that you had a successful stay from our central location.

We look forward to passing on your warm comments to all of our teams. We are pleased that you enjoy staying at IHG hotels across the globe and we trust that you have already signed up to IHG Rewards Club so you can earn points on your stays at any IHG hotel.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    785
    195
    39
    18
See reviews for
290
625
116
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had an outstanding stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. The room was lovely, albeit not much of a view (but who goes to Auckland for a view!) The staff were extremely helpful and I had a superb dinner meal.

The buffet breakfast is always exceptional, and this stay was no different.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Tim,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for providing us with valuable insights from your recent stay.

The team were delighted to read that you enjoyed your last visit. We strive to provide a comfortable stay for our guests and we are happy that we exceeded your expectations with our hotel amenities, location and the breakfast service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Crowne Plaza Auckland in the near future.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Located right next to the SkyCity and the main street, Queen St. It is just a short 10 mins walk to the waterfront. If you are driving, parking is only $10 on the weekend, $24 on other days. Not much of a view if you are staying in the west facing room. Great view if you are score a east facing room, not much of a view on the western room - except the the Sky tower as a consolation.

Situated above a shopping mall with a food court and its central location, there are plenty of options when it comes to meal time. Hotel staff was friendly, rooms are clean and well maintained. The Lounge on level 28 was a great place to grab a quick bite and drink before dinner. Hot breakfast at the hotel is good value if you can get it as part of a promotional package.

Will definitely stay here again on our next Auckland trip.

Room Tip: Get an east facing room if you want a view and do not mind the morning sun/ sunlight do leak into th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear cl_sydney,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are glad that you enjoyed our convenient location close to Sky City as well as shops and restaurants.


I am pleased that you also enjoyed your guestroom as well as the breakfast buffet at Aria Restaurant. We are grateful for your appreciation towards our effort in providing excellent service and facilities. The team at Crowne Plaza Auckland look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable hotel experience when you next return to Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were in Auckland on Holiday and had to find a place for three nights on short notice. From beginning to end the facility and staff were great. Early check-in was facilitated (lots of bags!!). Took advantage of the lounge and bar. Room was comfy and more than reasonable $$. Breakfast was outstanding. The location was a short walk to anywhere in the CBD. Will definitely come back next time we're in Auckland. We also had a great view of the 3 AM thunder, lighting and rain show on 22 September!!! 1,000 + lighting strikes a Rarity for the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDexterD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear GDexterD

Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland.

We are pleased to read that we left you with so many wonderful memories and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. We are looking forward to see you soon.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed the central location of this hotel. It is within walking distance to the waterfront, shops, restaurants and the Sky Tower. The value for money was very good and we had an excellent rate including breakfast.

The breakfast is nothing special and pretty normal. I would not recommend to pay extra for breakfast if you don't have it included in the room rate as it is too expensive in this case and you can enjoy a lovely breakfast at a number of coffee shops close by.

Ordering a cappuccino or espresso takes way too long. We always received our coffee when we were about to leave. Also the bar service was very poor. It took ages until the drinks arrived, a number of drinks were wrong and the bills were always incorrect.

It seems that the restaurant manager doesn't have his staff organized as he was on duty from earl morning till late at night. He then made the cappuccino and fixed the bills as his staff seemingly were not capable of this.

Overall we had a good stay and the staff at reception were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are on the top floors and were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cape-town-best
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear cape-town-best,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you had a successful stay in Auckland City from our fantastic central location and enjoyed all the great local attractions.

We are very sorry to hear that the service you received was less than satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you may have experienced. We will discuss your feedback internally with our Food and Beverage Services Manager in order to address the issues you have highlighted.

We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I chose the Crowne Plaza for a whistle stop visit to Auckland based on its central location, close proximity to the waterfront, and reasonable price. In addition being my first visit to Auckland and having had good experiences with Crowne Plaza hotels elsewhere around the world I was expecting modern facilities and a decent standard of facilities and customer service. True to form this hotel did not disappoint and I was very satisfied with my stay with no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Sanjaya_Wijeyekoon,

Thank you for your great review!

We are glad to hear our staff provided a high level of service that Crowne Plaza is renowned for. We are pleased that our central location was ideal for a successful first visit to Auckland City with everything you need close by including great restaurants, attractions, close proximity to public transportation and most of all, only a 10 minute walk to the waterfront.

We look forward having you with us in the near future!

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Having come over to NZ on business for the week, I had never stayed at the Crowne Plaza before. From the check in at reception right through to checking out, not one slight disappointment in anything! Every single staff member was so helpful and friendly. I was lucky enough to get a room on the 27th floor which was a Club room. What an amazing room, with a very comfortable bed with all the added amenities. The view out my window down to the harbour was to die for.

The buffet breakfast had a wide variety of hot and cold offerings. Very reasonably priced also. Walking distance to all the shops and restaurants close by. No problems getting a taxi. Most times they were in the hotel driveway. If not the concierge would ring one for you. 10/10 for everything! Cannot wait to come back again! Thank you to all the staff of Crowne for a fantastic stay!

Room Tip: Club rooms were amazing! Room 2701 was brilliant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noelene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Noelene N,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Auckland on Tripadvisor.

Guest feedback is very important for us to ensure that we continually deliver the level of service Crowne Plaza Auckland is renowned for.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues. Its great to hear that you enjoyed staying on our club floor and enjoyed the spectacular views over Auckland.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to Auckland.

Best Regards.
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing