We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Crowne fit for a king"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"A Crowne fit for a king"”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We so enjoyed a right royal over night stay on the 22nd floor of the Crowne Plaza. Hotel staff were all welcoming and accommodated our every need. The Glass lift was a treat! Our room was spacious and clean with gorgeous decor. Love the greeting when you turn on the TV :) The mini bar was well stocked as was the selection of tea/coffee/milo, bikkies and treats. Loved that there was a laundry. Great room service menu and information pack. Highlight was a beautiful buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Theres a chef that makes omelettes or poached eggs on request! Nice touch. Downside? Expensive internet and parking. Although having milo in house made up for that! The place is a gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keo Globalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Deak Keo Globalise,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Auckland on Tripadvisor.

Your kind feedback regarding our staff is greatly appreciated by all the team here at Crowne Plaza Auckland

We are delighted to read that you had a great time and were happy with the services and facilities provided at our hotel. I am also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection at Aria Restaurant. I have passed on your compliment to the entire culinary team and they are equally happy to hear that you had an amazing holiday with us.

Your feedback regarding our internet and parking costs are duly noted and will be discussed internally.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your return to Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    799
    200
    41
    18
See reviews for
295
641
119
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My whole family Had a wonderful and relaxing stay with an excellent room service, meticulously clean and spacious room, warm welcome and hospitable staff especially salve and Gabrielle.. Thumbs up for you guys!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariemanahan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mariemanahan99,

Thank you taking the time to write about your stay with us. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you had such a wonderful experience here at the Crowne Plaza Auckland.

Thanks for sharing your feedback regarding the special service you received from our Front Desk staff, Salve and Gabrielle. Our aim is to provide a quality service with dedication and courtesy, reaffirming our commitment to become "Great Hotels Guests Love".

Feel free to contact us and let us know of your next visit to the City of Sails, and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
143 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Enjoyed our 2 nights in a Club Room with 2 queen beds. Lovely views of Auckland Harbour and city area. Weather not the best windy with showers. Hotel Reception Gabrielle very pleasant and thorough explaining the Club Rooms bonuses with written information provided as well.
Room clean and quite spacious with 2 queen beds in it, bathroom well equipped and the Club Lounge upstairs lovely fresh continental breakfast...fantastic views down Albert St, great to be able to enjoy a complimentary coffee during the day in-between shopping trips. Being on the 27th Floor it was quiet even though the Hotel was full. Concierge helpful organising our day car rental and storing our bags until we left for the Airport. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The side facing Myers Park and City has wonderful views out to the Harbour, the other side looks at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.

I was particularly pleased that you recognised our dedication to providing and maintaining a high level of service throughout your stay.

It is satisfying to know that you were pleased with our close proximity to some of Auckland's famous landmarks like the harbour. We will share you feedback with Gabrielle and the team who I am sure will appreciate your kind words.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
353 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed 3 night over Microsoft TechEd which is held in SkyCity and the Crowne Plaza. I always stay at the CP during person stays due to my IHG membership a work stay was a bonus
Check in was swift and seamless, I was a little early and my room wasn’t quite ready but I was able to leave my luggage at Concierge and head over the road to register for the event and then grab some lunch to which the room was ready (30mins)

I had booked a Club Room and was nicely surprised to get the top floor - this gave me a nice view. Bathroom and room was a very good size and all of the amenities were of good quality.
Breakfast at the Club Lounge was good with some excellent choices and the staff efficient and friendly – Coffee was from a self-service type of machine (made by the staff member on duty) - unfortunately it left a little to be desired (machines fault) – this was rectified by buying a coffee at the bottom of the Hotel.

Crowne Plaza also has an excellent Food Hall three levels underneath it which is good for a quick lunch.

Will be back with the family next time I visit and stay Auckland

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Sebcat14,

Thank you for such a wonderful review, it’s truly appreciated.

We were delighted to read that your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Auckland had been a wonderful experience and thank you for complimenting the exceptional location of our hotel, the amenities provided and for highlighting the service of our colleagues.

Our team take great pride in providing exceptional service and it is always rewarding to be able to share praises from our guests. We have communicated your feedback to the entire team, and they were thrilled to know that their efforts are well appreciated.

Once again thank you for your wonderful remarks and for recommending us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

7/9/13
i and my partner stayed at this hotel
we are very pleased with the service they provided.
especially the resptionist, she was very helpful.
we only stayed for two nights
the room was big and have a city view:)
however the hotel doesnt have a swimming pool and spa thats the only thing me and my partner was disappointted.
the location was very convenient closed to restaurants cafes and skycify "casino"
i wish that the crown plaza wi improve their breakfast to be more varieties not only western foods.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yupmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear yupmjb,

We trust you had a safe and comfortable trip back home. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Crowne Plaza Auckland.

I am pleased that you had a successful stay in Auckland City from our fantastic central location and the team are thrilled that you enjoyed the great service we provide.

Thank you for your helpful suggestions regarding the breakfast selections. Your feedback is duly noted and we will discuss your comments with the Food and Beverage team.

Thank you again for your patronage, and we look forward to the pleasure of being of service to you in the near future.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here in April. There was a good of us so we got a good price

as it was booked as a group you'd think the rooms would be located near to each other - they were floors apart and with those swipe card lifts it makes it hard to visit people. That was not very well thought out and I expected more from a hotel with this reputation

Lovely rooms, nice shampoos etc and razors etc available from reception

Great location.

Didnt have need to try the restaurant

Was impressed with the size of the room
will definitely be back but probably not at full rate

our group is back in December - be interesting to see if we located closer

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Chippie_7

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

We are thrilled that you had a successful stay in Auckland City from our great central location and found our guest rooms to be large and comfortable.

I was disappointed to learn of the oversight with the allocation of your rooms and I would like to offer my most sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Thank you for immediately bringing the matter to our attention so the next time you are here your group would be promptly allocated on the same floor.

We are looking forward to see you back in December

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Crown Plaza continually manages to ruin my business trips. Firstly on a positive note, the hotel in Auckland is well situated and the rooms are large with a great view. The beds are good quality and the hotel facilities are adequate. Housekeeping were excellent.The concierge desk was well staffed and they couldn't have been more helpful. Excellent work from them. Their best concierge employee was leaving to move to Crown Plaza Gold Coast which will be a bonus for them as that is still the worst hotel Ive stayed at. (see earlier review CP Surfers Paradise) The bathrooms are clean but tiny like Holiday Inns with nowhere to put your toiletries on the basin. The business suit on level 14 was very basic. The restaurant served a great variety on the menu but the food was bland and over priced. The waiters were friendly. Breakfast was very good and fresh.
Now the negatives....checkin staff were unhelpful and not very knowledgeable of hotel facilities or the internet options which is a shame since this is a business persons hotel. I asked for the 24 hour 1GB internet option which lasts for as long as you stay or until you use the 24hrs allocated to use. They got this wrong and gave me the 24hour 2GB option which expires after 24hrs. Therefore i had to request another 24hours. When it came to paying the bill i had to dispute this as they hadn't given me what I asked for in the first place. They didn't seem to understand until I explained it inn detail to them. So they knocked $10 whole dollars off the bill. I wasted 20mins debating to save $10. Waste of my time. The room key cancelled itself after 3 days so I had to go back and get another one. They had the bill in the wrong name and charged me twice for dinner. Once when i paid on my card and again on the bill. Front desk staff at a few of the Crown Plaza's I have had to stay at for work have been less than helpful or knowledgeable. It is a shame as they are the face of the hotel and don't leave me with the confidence to choose Crown Plaza for my holidays. There were a few other issues of minor importance but they leave a sour taste.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregH272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear GregH272

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments .

We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay in our well appointed guest rooms and we will certainly share your feedback with our talented concierge team, who I am sure will appreciate the kind words.

We are concerned with several aspects of your stay and your comments will help us improve the quality of the product and services we provide to all our customers.

We do apologise if we missed the opportunity to meet your expectations regarding the information that our staff provide. Your feedback is duly noted and we will be discussing your comments with the front desk team in order to address where we fell short during your stay. We acknowledge that communication was an issue and we will be taking the necessary steps to address this.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Best regards,
Crowne Plaza Auckland Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing