We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great breakfast, very nice bed, quiet room, no bathrobes, easy walk to waterfront cafes etc.
Didn't have time to use the club lounge but have used it before, it's very good. The underground car park is very accessible. Small gym but has the basics.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor. We greatly appreciate all of the positive comments you provided, and are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. Please accept our apologies for not having bathrobes available for you. This was an oversight on our behalf and we will address it internally to make sure this does not occur again. We hope to welcome you back again soon so that you can enjoy the fabulous service and amenities of our club lounge.

Best regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    786
    195
    39
    18
See reviews for
290
625
117
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Overall my stay was good. The room is clean and spacious. The club lounge is good. I was disappointed with my room service order. The staff were friendly, although the concierge did not have current information about restaurants.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the street side. Dispute being on the top floor I was forced to wear ear plugs due t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you had a successful stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland and our spacious rooms met your expectations. I am sorry that our room service did not meet your expectation and that you did not receive the expert advice that our dedicated concierge team are known for. I hope you did mention the specific room service issues during your stay so we can address them. I will also review the restaurant information available to the concierge team and update this as required.

Thank you again for leaving your review and I hope we can welcome you back the next time you travel to Auckland.

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a great stay here - as a female on my own I felt very safe. The rooms were quiet and had everything I needed. It was only a short walk away from everything Central Auckland had to offer and the breakfast in the morning was exceptional - just as good as a top hotel I stayed in in Munich. I would certainly return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drargonstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you kindly for leaving your feedback on Trip Advisor on your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am delighted that you are happy with your stay and the convenient location and exceptional breakfast at Aria Restaurant.

As a frequent traveller I do hope you have joined our free Priority Club Rewards program and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good central location. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. Room was comfortable, with everything you would expect. Had to request bathrobes as although states that they are provided, none were in the room. Housekeeping were very slow in answering the phone when we wanted Room service, but food was excellent when it arrived. We would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you had a successful stay and would choose to stay with us again. I will forward your compliments on to the restaurant team who I am sure will appreciate your positive feedback.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not provided with bathrobes and with the response from our housekeeping team. This is certainly not up to our usual standards and I will address our processes with our housekeeping team to make sure this does not occur again going forward.

Did you know that we guarantee the best room rate when you book with us direct using our website crowneplaza.com? Something you may consider the next time you book with us.

Best regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Sonia. The smile was genuine and the friendliness and professionalism outstanding. But, what was even better - Sonia remembered our names. Which was exceptional, especially as it has been a few months since we last stayed. A greeting such as the one we received made a great start to a very enjoyable stay. We had access to the Club Lounge, which is always lovely - attentive staff, but not intrusive. Our room was spacious, as was the rather lovely bathroom - with a separate bath. Everything was exceptionally clean and tidy. The evening turn down service, with bottled water and chocolates - is a very nice touch.

All in all, our stay could not be faulted. However, the real standout was Sonia- who made us feel so very welcome, right from the start. Sonia is a real credit to Crowne Plaza. Thank you Sonia :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mckenzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am thrilled that you received such friendly and attentive service during your stay from Sonia and our dedicated team. Thank you very much for taking the time to write these positive comments, they are great to share with the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back and if you haven’t already, please sign up for Priority Club Rewards, it’s free to join and you can earn points or miles towards great rewards.

Best regards,

Wim Ruepert
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The room on level 24 was large and light with contemporary decor. Annoyingly the Wi-Fi wasn't working when I arrived (which was at 1am, to be fair) and there was an uncollected feedback form on the desk with less than complimentary comments in it. The Wi-Fi was back on by morning and worked well for the week I was at the hotel. Unlike my predecessors in the room, I had no problems with room service.

Pluses:
Large, light room
Full sized desk
Four power points next to desk
Biscuits as well as tea and coffee
Good amount of hanging space in wardrobe for longer items
Light in wardrobe
Wi-Fi in room
Central location

Minuses:
Shower over bath
Some rooms overlook Sky City Grand
Only one comfy chair in a twin room
Some noise from next room's TV and corridor
Bed a little on the soft side
Only English breakfast and green tea
No coffee table

I had stayed in the Sky City Grand in a room overlooking the Crowne Plaza, which is why I chose the Crowne Plaza. Of the two, I preferred the Sky City Grand, mainly because the rooms have a really comfy sofa, a coffee table and a slightly more comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Fantastic experience
Staff are great beds are great ,food is yummy
The hotel is reasonably priced
Central location
Very clean and everyone is very helpfull
Will Def recommend to friends and Family ,all ready booked for next year woohoo

Room Tip: Ask for harbour views rooms ending in. "1"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agile62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,835 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing