We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Business Hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Business Hotel, great location”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

An excellent location for exploring Auckland and reaching any business or tourist locations. Breakfast is better than expected with a wide variety of options. Rooms and interior are a tiny bit dated, but this is nit-picking. Only real fault is wi-fi is ridiculously expensive. When will this crazy pricing of wi-fi ever end?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    822
    201
    42
    19
See reviews for
303
652
121
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is an old girl that has been tastefully upgraded. The 'older' parts of the hotel mean that any activity in the corridors can be heard from inside your room. If you can handle hearing every hotel door close - you'll love this place. The location is very central, close to many restaurants, bars and the casino. The hotel itself has very good facilities and extremely friendly staff. There are great views of the city in the glass lifts on one side of the lift banks and good access to shops and other facilities to keep anyone amused. Aside from the corridor noise, I thought the hotel was very good value for money and a very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Many thanks for your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and great downtown location. In addition, I am happy to share your feedback regarding the noisy corridors with our Maintenance Department who will investigate the matter further. The team and I look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Auckland. Thank you again for your great comments!

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel offers truly a straight forward not over the top experience. I felt it was quite expensive for what it has to offer.

The hotel entrance seems to be part of the shopping mall to which the hotel is attached. There is a bit of an open invitation to walk in and to get to guest elevators easily. Although you need to use a room key to get up there is nothing to stop anyone to do so together with guests; which in my view is disturbing in this time and age.

The rooms are OK, clean and somewhat spacious but I stayed at the higher more expensive floors, the room decor is a mix of modern to classic; not disturbing but noticeable.
The bathroom is straight forward; it is all good but not luxury all over the place, which actually fits the style of the country.

There are two things under par at this hotel; breakfast in the club is very minimalistic, the views from the 28th floor club room are absolutely magnificent, but there are no hot items to order or available at the buffet at all; better enjoy the breakfast at ground floor, do not book yourself a clubroom and save the money. Club staff is not very visible at all times either.

The other issue I experienced is that internet access was quite a significant part of the hotel bill although I had an executive room; it added up to around and about 10% of the total bill and even worse, it had very average performance if not bad and that's for the wireless part of it; very old school this. At check in I was assured that the club would offer free access but that was on a hotel desk top and not my private computer; this did not work for me.
My complaint over this which I did post through the priority website was not answered either. This is 3 weeks ago.

The hotel location is a 10 minute walk from the harbor; the area is safe and in the newer area of the city. The large Auckland landmark television tower is opposite the hotel in very close proximity. Good food is close by in every direction. You cannot go wrong from a location perspective if you are able to walk the distance that is.
The taxi from the airport to the hotel is a 20 minute drive and charge is around NZD 75; which is fair.

Recommendation is to go for the standard room package. You will get what you expect no more no less; however I would expect a higher standard at a Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed our fantastic central location and enjoyed all the great attractions and restaurants nearby. I am also happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay and found our rooms to be clean and well maintained, however, I am disappointed that we were not able to exceed your expectations and create a more successful stay for you.

I am disappointed to hear that you were not able to fully utilise the benefits of the Club Lounge. We will discuss your comments internally regarding the Club Lounge breakfast offering. Cooked breakfast is only available at our restaurant on the ground floor and our breakfast buffet is an additional $8 for guests staying in club rooms.

We have introduced 20 minutes free WiFi daily in the lobby area for all guests and Crowne Plaza is looking to make big changes in 2013 with complimentary internet for Priority Club Rewards members later in the year.

I hope you will stay with us again and I would like the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a bit of difficulty getting to this hotel since our itinerary (provided by the travel agency) tried to get us to turn right into it from Albert Street (and we couldn't because of the "No right turn" sign). So we had a bit of a tour around the one-way streets before finally arriving. However, none of that was the fault of the hotel which was really excellent. The reception and concierge staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and well-appointed, and the breakfast was fabulous (including freshly-made omelettes). Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you kindly for your great review of the Crowne Plaza Auckland. The team and I enjoyed hosting you while you were in Auckland. We wish you the best on your travels throughout New Zealand!

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Some of the most important factors in considering a pre or post-cruise hotel are: 1) transfers airport to hotel/hotel to cruise port, 2) hotel features, 3) room size, 4) cleanliness, 5) room comfort, 6) bed & pillow quality, 7) nearby dining, 8) shopping, 9) ease of transfer to site seeing venues, and 10) Staff courtesy/willingness to enhance visit. The Crowne Plaza in Auckland does not only meet these criteria acceptably, they excel in each area. The following comments will briefly describe our experience during a pre-cruise stay in March, 2013. THIS IS THE PERFECT PLACE TO STAY FOR EITHER A PRE OR POST-CRUISE VISIT!
1. We used Super Shuttle from the airport as recommended by the hotel, and it was perfect. Upon exiting Gate 8 at the Terminal, the Shuttle Service was located less than ten meters from the door. Our trip to the hotel made stops at two other hotels before ours, cost us $41.00, and took less than a half hour. We definitely will use them again.
2. This hotel is a complete full service hotel. This is nothing that you need that is not promptly provided with the utmost courtesy. I would suggest opting for the Concierge Lounge at the top of the hotel where a very good continental breakfast is provided along with free drinks and snacks duirng a happy hour from 5:30-7:30 PM. The charge on this is around $30 per day and it is an excellent value. The staff in the Lounge were wonderful, but more about that later. The hotel also hosts and excellent fitness room.
3. The rooms at the CP Auckland are above average in size, and even with our four large suitcases and two carry-ons, we had ample room to move and feel comfortable during our four day stay. The bathroom is large as well and provides a great tub for soaking or a rain bird for a great shower.
4. During our stay, we observed absolute cleanliness throughout both our room and all private areas. After our first night, we entered our room just subsequent to the maid completing a cleaning of our room. When I answered the door, I met a supervisor who was doing a quality control check. Yes, everything was perfect. We observed this on the next to the last day our our stay as well. You could not ask for a higher housekeeping standard.
5. We were very happy to see that we were able to control the temperature of our room without interference from HVAC systems that have monitors on both upper and lower temperatures. Make your room as warm or cold as you desire. The system worked flawlessly, and the operation was very quiet.
6. Sometimes beds look great, but don’t sleep well, and sometimes wimpy pillows make for uncomfortable nights. Neither is the case at the CP Auckland. The beds have a pillow top mattress that feel like grandma’s old feather bed and it was wonderful. The pillows were just the right firmnesss. Our sleep was some of the best experienced at any hotel.
7. The Location of this hotel is perfect for so many things. It is about a fifteen minute walk to the harbor where several nice restaurants are located. Less than five minutes away are several restaurants on the Elliott and Queen street side. Nice restaurants to fast food, it is all handy from the CP. In the lower level of the hotel is a shopping cneter and food court. The Hollywood Bakery there is excellent. The variety of options makes this hotel more than perfect.
8. In addition to the shopping center mentioned in the lower level of the hotel, A five minute walk puts you into several other options. Clothing stores, Glengary Wine Shop (only one half block away), a full service grocery store at the corner of Elliott and Victoria; all are in easy access.
9. Two Hop-on/Hop-Off stops are around a block from the hotel. Walk to stop seven to board and get off at stop eight to return. This will allow down hill walks to and from the hotel. If you do not want to walk to the Ferry terminal, a taxi is about $7. For $.50 you can catch the green bus on Queen street if you do not prefer the taxi. The HO HO busses stop at fourteen different sites and are an excellent value. A two day pass is $65. The hotel is also only about a block from the Sky Tower.
10. If all of the above is not enough, the staff at this hotel are beyond belief. I want to give just one example. Upon arrival, we noticed that a wheel had been broken off of one of our large spinner suitcases. A yong bell staff named Andrea saw this and asked if she could take the suitcase to see if the wheel could be reattached. The rest of our luggage beat us to the room even though our check-in was prompt, and about two minutes later she arrived with the damaged luggage which had been repaired by the hotel maintenance staff. It is very evident that QUALITY GUEST SERVICE IS A PRIORITY AT THIS HOTEL. What impressed me most was that this young staff person wanted to own my problem. I am so thankful for her kindness and consideration. We were beginning a two month trip. I hope you get to meet Andrea, and also you need to make a point to meet Lindsay, the Guest Relations Manager. She is exceptionally special. We made several inquiries with the Concierge staff and found them to always be extremely courteous and helpful. The staff at this hotel want to go above and beyond your expectations. They are fabulous. If we do get to Auckland again, the CP will be our one and only option. Do give them a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHAEL W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed in the Crown Plaza in January the night before our return to Europe.
My boyfriend is a Platinum member with Priority Club Rewards but when we checked in we were not told of the option of having access to the members lounge. Once checked in and in our room we called reception for access to the members lounge and we were told that we need to pay an extra fee for that (around 20 Euros). Once we accepted we were upgraded to the members floor (amazing views) and had access to the lounge.

Wi-fi was not available free of charge (strange) and you only receive a limited time of free wi-fi in the reception area. The lounge did not have wi-fi either but they had some computers you could use free of charge.

The hotel is sharing the building with a mall which comes in very handy for good cheap food. Also, close by you can find a very good variety of restaurants.

As an overall the experience was pleasant, the concierge was very good with advice and we had a very good night sleep before our long flight.

Room Tip: If you have a chance, pay for the members floor. It really has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell the Trip Advisor community about your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Club Lounge and the outstanding views. In addition, I am happy to report that changes to our internet service are happening within the year. The team and I hope that we will be able to show you fantastic changes on your next visit.

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel twice on a 20 day trip around New Zealand on the first occasion I had a chest infection and neeeded a doctor, the receptionist when out of her way to give me the name of her local doctor and directions how to get there.Also one of our cases had gone missing on our Qantas flight and the concierge took all the details and chased up the airline got our case back and made sure it was delivered to our room next morning. The breakfast although expensive was excellent more choices than I found in any orther hotel in NZ. Rooms were of a good size and very comfortable. Pay for car park but was only 10 dollars for 24 hours if staying in the Hotel. Good central location for other attractions in Auckland would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Len T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am happy to hear that you found the reception and concierge teams to be helpful. The team and I certainly hope that you recovered from your chest infection quickly and were able to enjoy the beautiful sights. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Zealand!

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,495 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,087 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#7 of 67 in Auckland
2,287 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing