We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just fantastic at the Crowne Plaza Auckland.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just fantastic at the Crowne Plaza Auckland.”
Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Auckland for three nights on our arrival at New Zealand.Check in was quick and easy and pleasurable.All the staff were delightful, particularly in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Our room was spacious and the two queen beds were very welcoming and comfortable. The Crowne Plaza is situated within walking distance to the Sky Tower, wharf. shops, restaurants and public transport. A truly pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable beds and cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchfun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    673
    800
    200
    41
    18
See reviews for
295
642
119
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

Busy Hotel central next to Sky Tower. Short walk from bus station. Rooms clean and comfortable. 15minute walk to harbour.

  • Liked — Walkable distance to bus station
  • Disliked — City traffic
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKILancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

The hotel itself is very good - clean, light and so centrally located - you can't go wrong.

Also overnight parking is only NZD 18.00 (about £7 sterling) - bargain!

My only problem was; when we checked in we were given a breakfast voucher. We used this in the morning for a small breakfast as we were't that hungry and subsequently got charged about £40 for the pleasure.

This stay was part of a month away for us so keeping track of what hotels included breakfast wasn't easy but this place, I feel, ripped us off. They should have at least explained that this 'breakfast voucher' wasn't included in the price of the nights stay.

Why the hell would you need a breakfast voucher anyway? We could have walked into the restaurant and got breakfast if we'd have wanted it. I think this is a cunning ploy... that obviosuly works.

I did have a moan about it but it must happen all the time as the guy on reception just shrugged and wasn't interested in listening to me.

Nice hotel, shame about the breakfast.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Being mislead into buying breakfast....
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

What you would expect from the Crowne Plaza or similar hotel; an excellent hotel all around.

We found a rate which included breakfast, which was a plus since nothing seemed to be open on a Saturday morning. Food was excellent. Good choices for a buffet.

Room was clean; bed comfortable; view was nice; walking distance to almost everything in Auckland. The room was air-conditioned. It was the only hotel on our trip of NZ that had air conditioning in rooms. Elevators quick and reliable. Staff friendly. Safe parking which was reasonably priced for a city.

I would return without a second thought.

Shopping mall on lower level accessible through parking elevators, including food court, which offered every imaginable type of Asian food. Very good for fast food!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Hello_It's_Me_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Auckland on the 7th March in room 2410. The room is typical of big style hotels, very bland. But it was very comfortable and very clean, well stocked and with two queen beds, great pillows. Some ocean view from room. Good position for walking to sky city, shops and marina. The staff were very friendly, helpfull, sent a fax no charge immediately upon request, easy book in and out. What makes this hotel stand out from many others around New Zealand were the excellent staff! Wish all were as nice, makes the stay so much nicer. I would stay again and definately recommend.

  • Liked — The wonderfull staff and size of the rooms
  • Disliked — Bland colours
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cheddyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This hotel is centrally located and beautifully maintained. The bed was fantastic. The hotel staff was helpful, minus a little slip up at check out. The buffet breakfast was very good with many choices. The room was modern and very comfortable. Would stay here again.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — confusion at check out with staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enzfrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

A weekend getaway from Melbourne saw myself and friends stay at the Crowne Plaza, Auckland in March 2008.

This hotel has a fantastic 3 bedroom 'whole floor' apartment/suite on level 15. It is truly like a scene out of Being John Malkovich - Only one of the 4 lifts provides access to the 15th floor, and you have the whole floor to yourself - a rare affordable experience at any hotel.

We stayed 3 nights, brilliant service, fantastic room (although be careful not to lock yourself in the master bedroom - I did!). Perfect for families who want to avoid the normal hotel room syndrome but have all the luxuries of room service etc...

The hotel is perfectly located for business and pleasure. 100m stroll down the street to Queen Street (main business street, good for shopping too!)... 5min walk to the viaduct where dozens of bars and clubs provide great fun most nights of the week.

I say that the best hotel is the one that leaves you to yourself, but is available to help when needed. Crowne Plaza has this balance right... You literally never here from the hotel staff, they leave you to enjoy your stay, but are very friendly, prompt and available when you do.

The Malkovich Suite (not it's real name - just our nickname for it) also provides access to the Crowne Plaza Club level which has a PC for internet use, food, drinks and a TV bigger than most art-house theatres...

Perfect for a family or group of friends all at affordable prices.

  • Liked — Not being hassled by hotel staff wanting to be 'overly helpful'
  • Disliked — Getting stuck in the master bedroom when it locked on me ;-)
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 67 in Auckland
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#13 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing