We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, convenient for travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Ranked #10 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Manila
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient for travellers”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in crowne plaza for almost 2 weeks. It was great, although the breakfast options were limited. Their hotel food was ok, nothing out of the ordinary. I like how the lift was quick, coz my room was on the 22nd floor. It had a view of sky city.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrine0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    785
    195
    39
    18
See reviews for
290
625
116
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We elected to stay for an overnight here before the flight back to thw USA. This is typical of other Crowne Plaza hotels we have used in the past. The hotel is within easy walking of the sights and we were able to walk to the cruise ship docks twice and to the Sky Tower. We arrived early so they stored our bags until a room was available. The in-house pricing far exceeded our norms, so we did not partake of in house facilities. WiFi pricing was set at $30 for 24 hours which we did not do. Breakfast was $33 which we did not do. Dinner was even more which we did not do. We opted for a short walk to nearby facilites and were easily able to get what we wanted at reasonable prices. The room was nice and very clean although the hotel is beginning to show some signs of aging for a high priced hotel. This hotel is in a mixed use building including parking garage, several floors of shops and a lower end hotel. The street in front and on the South side are very busy, but noise was not a bother to us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a survey regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am happy to hear that you found our location to be convenient to the cruise ship terminal, shops and restaurants.

Safe travels home to the USA and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to New Zealand.

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Hotel Location is central with everything downtown Auckland in walking distance. The rooms are average, the bathroom aged and in need of renovation, but clean. The breakfast room is trendy and the breakfast quality excellent. There is no free parking but there is a parking in the same building with entrance next to the hotel entrance. You are eligible for a discount in the parking fees. Overall is a value for money short stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a road side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dleliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your great review of the Crowne Plaza Auckland. The Executive Chef is thrilled to hear that you found the food quality in Aria Restaurant excellent. The team and I look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincumber, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked this hotel for a short city stay as we had stayed in Auckland before. We had hoped it was a bit closer to the Britomart as we left the city by train. We had miscalculated though and it was quite a way to drag our bags. It was still walking distance and also easy (without bags to drag) access to the harbour and most of the city area. The room was large and very comfortable with good quality linen and towels. Nearby was a large choice of eateries.

Room Tip: Higher rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the service. There was someone in the lobby who offered to take my bag and checkin was friendly and efficient. When I called Reception to let them know my room had a loud and slightly disturbing hum-rumble the sent someone up to check it out and then moved me without hesitation. If you are after traditional furnishings and food you will be very satisfied here. I'm into something a little more fresh.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nova F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZIHG, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Auckland, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the helpful service the staff provided. We pride ourselves on being ready for you when you need us. The team and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Lindsay Watts
Guest Relations Manager
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked the Crowne Plaza for a 3 day stay prior to taking a cruise. We chose a club room as the difference in cost was minimal and was worth it given the club amenities which included happy hour drinks and munchies, continental breakfast (or discounted $8 full hot breakfast buffet in the restaurant), and two computers with wifi access. You will pay if you want full access, although you can get a half hour free wifi in the lobby.

We arrived late afternoon and were given a room away from the elevators as we requested. It was a corner room with lovely views of Sky Tower and the harbor in the distance. However, it was rather small considering our cruise luggage so we called down to ask about alternatives and within 5 minutes a bellman appeared with a key to our new room in the center of the floor which worked out much better. Our view was into the Sky City Grand hotel across the street but we weren't there for the views, just a comfortable, safe place where we could get a good night's sleep.

The rooms are well appointed, with flat screen TVs, comfortable beds, and in our case two loveseats. There were plenty of amenities in the bathroom too including sewing kit, etc. and everything was kept clean. Service was wonderful too. On our first morning there being under the influence of jet lag we accidentally left our room safe open. Inside was jewelry, money, credit cards, our passports, and a laptop. After touring around, we came back late to the room and were horrified at our mistake, but nothing was touched. We were grateful.

The hotel staff was very friendly too as they quickly gave us a late checkout to accommodate our cruise departure.

The hotel is very close to shopping (1 block away) and the Sky Tower (1 block in the other direction). It is connected to a small mall as well. We easily walked to the ferry terminal where we travelled to Devonport for the day. We also enjoyed the DaVinci Italian restaurant which is kiddy-corner from the Crowne Plaza. The food was good and the prices not extreme which is a plus in expensive Auckland.

If your plans include Auckland, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a club room if you want to stay connected and want complementary continental breakfast and ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azbirdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at Crowne Plaza Auckland for a few nights. No problems. Room was comfortable and had view out to the street, but not too noisy. The breakfast is rather modest compared to the breakfast buffets I'm used to in Asian hotels, but it was acceptable. Hotel is well located to Auckland's central business district and is within walking distance of most city facilities. There's a small convenience store at lobby level and it was open every time I needed to buy snacks etc. Not sure of its exact opening hours, but seemed to be open until late. If I had a gripe, it was that the check-in for Priority Card holders was crowded with airline staff (Singapore Airlines crew, I think). That meant anyone using that queue was held up waiting for the aircrew to be assigned rooms, while those guests in the non-priority queue we processed much faster. I would have thought a hotel of this standard would have arranged a side counter to check in airline crew - after all, their needs are pretty predicable and no doubt they pay a much cheaper rate that "ordinary guests". No doubt the hotel will be considering renovation of its rooms at some stage soon, the bathrooms are outdated and could do with a tidy up. Overall, it ticked more boxes than not and I'd probably stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotel_Inspector_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.0 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,399 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 mi away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Auckland

Property: Crowne Plaza Auckland
Address: 128 Albert St | P.O. Box 6841, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Auckland
#7 Family Hotel in Auckland
#9 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Auckland s business district, above the Atrium on Elliott shopping complex and just a few minutes walk from The Edge Entertainment Centre, Sky City and Queen Street s golden mile, Crowne Plaza Auckland is the ideal base when visiting the city of sails. With 13 floors of accommodation including the Crowne Plaza Club, a choice of 10 meeting rooms offering 14 configurations plus several dining and relaxation options, we can provide for all your business hotel requirements. Crowne Plaza Auckland is truly The Place To Meet . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing